Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Salem, MA
Students enrolled: 232
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carlton Elementary School 1

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
Carlton School is currently being run by a principal who, in the name of high-stakes testing, gives up on quality teaching in order to teach to the test. Open responses all day before the ELA MCAS? You betcha. Extra hour of math leading up to the Math MCAS? Yep. I have watched my child change drastically this year, and not for the better.
2 people found this helpful

Carlton Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2013
- a parent
Carlton Innovation School - what can I say, but "WOW!" The Carlton teachers and staff really pulled-together this year and had an amazing impact with the kids. Teachers are instructing students at their level, recognizing their individual learning abilities and fostering their potential. Arts, music, student assemblies, projects, enrichment program, community circles and just plain "having fun" while learning--it's all happening there at Carlton. Highly engaged teachers, staff and leadership, active PTO, and growing parent involvement--Carlton Innovation School in Salem, MA is a hidden treasure!


Carlton Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 22, 2009
- a parent
What's not to love about the city's only green school? From healthy snacks grown in our garden to the recycling program and biodegradable straws in the cafeteria to energy efficient lights throughout the building to the tide pool in the science room. This school is doing it's part and setting a great example for generations to come. Plus the teachers are awesome.

Carlton Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
Friendly supportive staff, everyone I have had the pleasure to meet. More of a family atmosphere than a school community. the smallness adds to the family feel of the school. Carlton is also a green school where they try to teach the children reduce, reuse, recycle! the school's golden rule is to treat others as you would like to be treated! Great School!

Carlton Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 13, 2009
- a parent
My older child went through this school and I was very happy with the quality of teaching and atmosphere. However, The recent staff changes and cuts have really directly affected all this and I no longer feel this is a quality school.I have transfered my child to another Salem school


Carlton Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2009
- a parent
I give this school a 5 star, my child attended this school from first grade until she graduated from 5th grade. The teachers including the principle were the most dedicate educational professionals I have experience for a small school. Each child was known by their names not by their class number or by their teachers name. They were taught so well that, when my child along with a few others went to the Collins Middle School, every single child in the 6th grade that came from Carlton were the only ones that were on the honor list each quarter and were awarded certificates of recognition. The only children on the honor list were all from Carlton Elementary School. That should speak for itself. Keep up the good job Carlton.

Carlton Elementary School 1

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
A plus for a small school but that's where it falls short. Most of the staff is supportive but a large majority is not. The school atmosphere is very negative. They put children in lower grades for punishment which is humiliating and lowers the Childs self esteem. Schools supposed to be a positive experience not a negative one. I would not recommend this school.There is more I could say but go ahead and ask other parents.

Carlton Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 06, 2008
- a parent
Terrific newly constructed green school with small community school feeling. Some teachers have been there for over 20 years!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carlton Elementary School
10 Skerry Street, Salem, MA  01970
(978) 740-1280
Last modified Carlton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carlton Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top