Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Academy Of Notre Dame

Private | PK-12 | 34 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Tyngsborough

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $219,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

The 'new' leadership at the elementary school is detrimental to the school community and is driving families and staff away. There are many other schools in the area that should be considered before NDA Tyngsboro.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2014

My son went to NDA for grades K-8. He had a great experience, and the curriculum and teachers particularly at the Middle School level were exceptional. He was very well prepared to go onto a private Catholic High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2012

This is great if you are a white female but if you are a colored male or just a male in general the Nuns will shun you. I speak from expierence of going here from K-8 and This school does not accept males into its high school program so why toture your male kid through 8 years just so he can go to a different highschool to adjust and make new friends. Not to mention this school is overpriced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

My son is in his second year, and I am amazed at what he learned already. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2012

Well I beg to differ. The teachers I have met and had have been there for 32 years, 20+ years....I only wished boys could attend High School there too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2012

I entered my son 4 months into Kindergarten. He was in the public school for the first 3 complete months. This was the best choice. He has learned so much and the teachers are wonderful. They are detailed and structured, which the public school he attended had the open concept and if your child was quiet he was missed. I love that everyone is treated with respect and misbehavior is not tolerated. I only wished boys could attend high school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2012

I went to NDA for high school. The challenging curriculum really prepares you for college. The teachers are understanding and flexible, yet know how to push studentes. I really learned a lot there, especially compared to kids in nearby public schools. The sports had a good emphasis on individual progress, not winning. The girls there are amazing. I haven't encountered any problems with things like bullying. The friends I made there I am sure I will keep for life. I would recommend any girl to go there!


Posted October 24, 2011

Not inferior to public schools, but it's certainly NOT superior. Short teacher career span with constant turn over. This school isn't a good school at any level or in any subject. There are better private schools AND public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

I started my son here in 6th grade. He had attended the best public elementary school in Nashua. His experience has been great. He was also behind in reading and writing when he started. He never had to write in cursive in the public school. It was a difficult adjustment to do homework. My guess is that the student who gave it one star does not like homework. There is plenty of it here and hardly any in the public school. The athletic department fosters a great sense of inclusion. I have volunteered for the ski program and in classroom activities. The teachers are energetic and detail oriented. My only disappointment has been the music department. They only offer percussion and there is no band. I pay for private lessons outside the school and will need to put him in band camp to get that exposure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

honestly just do not send your child here. as a student for less than 2 years....it was the worst experience of my life.


Posted January 24, 2011

This is a great school. Like any school you will find a parent who isnt happy for whatever reason but I have quite a few kids and have run the course of cheaper private schools to public schools and they do not compare to NDA education. The prek program is awesome and my children were reading by Dec. in Kindergarten. The kids are happy there and so are we!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Have been a parent at NDA for 10 years now. I also went to NDA (elementary through high school). Have been some positives, but have noticed a decline in leadership and some teacher apathy over the past 4 years. Bullying has become an increasingly visible problem and some teachers and administration do not want to get involved. Not good for a Catholic school that claims to teach and develop the whole person. Academics through grade 6 are quite good. Math program needs to be stepped up to a more competitive level. Outstanding English/grammar/creative writing curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

I strongly discourage anyone from sending a child of theirs to this institution. As a parent who has sent two children of my own to this school, I have come to regret spending my hard-earned salary on their tuition at the school, when they could have gotten a superior education at a public school. The teachers lack understanding of students and parents, principal is a follower rather than a leader. Racial iscrimination is also a key problem at the school. This is unnacceptable, especially for a school that preaches a Catholic education based on reverence, respect, and responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My daughter is in 2nd grade, she has been at the school since kindergarten. She loves it there, as do I. There are some wonderful and caring teachers who want the best for their students. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

NDA has been a great start for my children. I have a son entering 1st grade and a daughter starting K1 in the fall. The teachers are caring and knowledgeable in their fields. The curriculum is challenging but not overwhelming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

My kid goes to Kindergarten in NDA, Tyngsboro.Its a great school with excellent curriculum.Teachers are wonderful and friendly .The kids are send home with the work they did at school everyday which is a great thing.Kids are taught phonics and math in a very detailed manner early on in the kindergarten.They have seperate workbooks on both the subjects.They are complex , sometimes challenging to the kids.But once they get used to it, it makes it all easy for them.Also they do science and Religion.Besides studies, kids also enjoy their time in the Gym, music, computer lab and the library.My kid enjoys the scool so do I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

Great school, good extra-curricular activities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2007

Beautiful facility. Kg-2nd grade program is excellent with a strong curriculum in the 3 R's and great teachers. After second grade the curriculum is not cohesive from one grade to another, weak in writing, science and math and it is 'hit or miss' with the quality of teachers. The new principal is not open to parental concerns. They are better schools in the area and for much less!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2006

Academy of Notre Dame, Tyngsboro, MA has a high standard of overall education quality. The curriculum is tough/advanced, teachers' dedication is unquestionable, and yet, students' social skills are equally important. I personally satisfied with NDA's text books, additional materials from the teachers, as well as the one-on-one attention for each individual students. It's one of the best schools for our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

My daughter attended the school from grade 5 through 8. She had an excellent experience. The school work is challenging but the teachers make it interesting and fun. My daughter came from public school and she transitioned well. The other students welcomed her openly. She will always have good memories of her years there. The school has a friendly atmosphere and the students all seem to enjoy it. The students are well disciplined but can have fun too. The teachers and administration do not put up with misbehavior which is disruptive to the school. Which doesn't mean that the children couldn't have fun and be relaxed - just that if a child got out of hand the behavior was addressed before it became disruptive. However, we rarely heard of children who misbehaved to the extent that may daughter experienced in public school. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 6%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 3% 8%
Hispanic 3% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

180 Middlesex Road
Tyngsborough, MA 01879
Phone: (976) 649-7611

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Tyngsborough High School
Tyngsborough, MA



Lighthouse School
Chelmsford, MA


Riverside School
Lowell, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT