Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bach Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 391 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2012

What a great school! We moved our child to Bach from a local private school and we couldn't be happier with the Bach teachers & administrators (and students and parents). There is a great community spirit at Bach, and the classroom teacher has worked hard to generate an atmosphere of kindness, respect and inclusiveness (the school does this well too). Our daughter has had the opportunity to develop new leadership skills (as a playground monitor and rotating through the school performing various jobs on the "service squad," and she (someone who has excelled academically) has been challenged in her school work. There have been wonderful educational class trips too! (to correct an earlier post, Bach does now participate in the Science Olympiad)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2011

We've been at Bach for 6 years and couldn't be happier. My wife, children and I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place. The faculty is first rate, the facility is very good, and the community outstanding. Parents are extremely committed. We'll be heartbroken when our kids graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

School has everything you want/need. We've had kids in this school going on ten years now. BACH (pronounced 'baaaa', not like composer Bach) is one of the oldest elementry schools in A2. Very cool school if you're interested in character over the bells-and-whistles'. Teachers for the most part are top-notch. And school is VERY safe. My comments here mostly are in response to the negative comments that were made. As a community, Ann Arbor is VERY liberal. And the Bach community is the liberalist of the liberals. (I'm not, but 'live-and-let live is my motto). The neg. comments noted most likely are from a very small minority of self-consumed parents who insist on letting their kids make ALL their own choices (be it right or wrong). Example... wearing a batman costume to school all the time becasue 'their childern are expressing themselves'. BACH is a wonderful, safe and excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

We love this school. The teachers are first rate, the curriculum is tough and challenging and the parents are eager to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

I have two children who have gone through Bach School. Our experience has been wonderful. The teachers, with very few exceptions. are responsive to the many different needs/styles of the students. The teachers work with the curriculum to make it engaging. My kids have always marched to a different drummer but they have been universally accepted for who they are by both the staff and the other students. It's a very warm and supportive community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2008

My son went to K, first and second grades at Bach. Although I really felt at home with the community of other parents, some of the teachers were really poor. They ranged from just uninspiring to cold and affect-less. Unfortunately, the principal was defensive about the teachers and was not receptive to constructive criticism. As a result, my son changed schools. It was a big disappointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

This school has been a big disappointment. Diversity in ethnicity doesn't translate into appreciating diversity for students of differing levels of academic achievement. Because it's an ESL school, much of the focus is on meeting No Child and raising MEAP scores. Children who already excel are expected to sit and be quiet while time is spent to help others catch up. The school does not participate in many outside activities with other AAPS schools (e.g., Science Olympiad). There are many better elementary schools in Ann Arbor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

My child has attended Bach Elementary for 5 years. We have had an outstanding experience with the school, it's staff, and administration. The Bach community is very welcoming and parent/child friendly. Bach is an ESL magnet school, so another great feature of the school is its diversity which has enhanced my child's eduation. Overall a very good school with excellent teachers and supportive principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

My child attended Bach School for two years. We found it to be a place without much respect for children and parents. Our dealings with the principal were disturbing, at best. It never occured to me that adults could be bullies, but at Bach many are, and that mindset comes through in its students' interactions. Many of the staff are great -- gym, music, library, office reading -- but overall it is a cruel place where any child outside the norm in any way is unwelcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 69%
Asian 9% 3%
Hispanic 9% 6%
Multiracial 8% 2%
African-American 6% 18%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 West Jefferson St
Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 994-1949

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ann Arbor Academy
Ann Arbor, MI


Eberwhite School
Ann Arbor, MI





Angell School
Ann Arbor, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT