Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Atherton Middle School

Public | 4-8 & ungraded | 284 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2010

What a wonderful school!! It is a warm, a family-focused environment and I know my children are well taken care of when they are there. The teachers go above and beyond and the principal is always so caring . I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

Both of my sons went to Atherton Middle School. It was and is a school that encouraged all kids to be their best and do their best. I feel my kids learned many positive things there, and that it was the best environment for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

I went to atherton and i loved most of the teachers. i really loved the music teacher. she was always there for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Atherton High and Middle school band is awesome especially with the great teacher that they have...hes full of patience and determination!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I love Atherton Middle School because, that's where I went to middle school and where I learned to read and play music!!


Posted April 21, 2010

It is a great program for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

The teachers at Atherton are the reason my kids go to school here! Many people do not realize how much a teacher sacrifices to help the kids and the extra time taken away from his/her own family to give the students the best opportunity to learn and to grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

AMS is a great school! It has small class sizes so the kids get one on one time with the teachers to learn! The staff is always finding new ways to help the students learn and grow. I went to Van Y, AMS, & AHS and I would highly recommend Atherton Schools to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Atherton is great. The staff and students are all wonderful and the band deserves this money. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

My parents attended Atherton and all of my children and nieces and nephews attend Atherton. By keeping the class sizes small it allows more one on one with the students. Smaller schools have a more family/hometown feel to them and Atherton is no exception. I love that although it is small the teachers are highly motivated and always use innovative ideas to teach the students. At Atherton, the teachers and staff truly care about the students and work with the parent and student to ensure student success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

I attended Atherton Middle School. The class sizes were small and the teachers were awesome. I was a member of the band from the 5th grade all the way until my junior year of highschool. That school provided me with all the tools to do great in high school. Atherton High School did an awesome job at preparing us for college and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

the school and teachers are great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

this school is perfect for 4th-8th grade that are looking for higher schooling and i just happen to go to that school.there is great food and the best teachers
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
12%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
10%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

39 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
6%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
11%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 69%
African-American 13% 18%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Multiracial 4% 2%
American Indian 2% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Susanne Carpenter
Fax number
  • (810) 591-9456

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3444 South Genesee Rd
Burton, MI 48519
Website: Click here
Phone: (810) 591-0604

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Grand Blanc Academy
Grand Blanc, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT