Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Burton Glen Charter Academy

Charter | K-8 | 679 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Burton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $75,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2014

My daughter started this year and she loves the school and the staff. Her teacher is nice and the administrators have been very accessible. The principal stands at the front door every morning saying hello and they had a coffee with her last week for the parents. I love the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2014

Participated in the car show at this school. Was very impressed with the staff and community involvement. Student enrollment and school tours were taking place during the event and everything was well organized. Have referred families and they are very pleased.


Posted September 15, 2014

This school is great! I know a few of the staff members and I know that they strive for academic success for all their students. Considering the influx of students coming from public schools that have closed in this area I believe this school has become a pillar in a somewhat hopeless area. The principal spends countless hours trying to make sure the school and it's students reach their full potential. I support them 1,000%!!!!


Posted September 15, 2014

Burton Glen Charter Academy the staff that I have met has been excited about teaching and working in the area. The principal and staff gives motivation to the students. The students are important they are being motivated to succeed.


Posted August 18, 2014

They dont teach the things that kids need to know. You will find out that your child is at a 4th grade level when they was on the honor roll at Burton glen all year for 7th grade. The principle will tell you different things in the same day if she dont know you that it was you she talked to earlier. And when she finds out she tries to say it was your mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2014

Burton Glen used to be a fabulous school. Our children attended for many years, but last year will be our last. Frequent leadership changes over the past years however, have led Burton Glen into a situation where the school has become a haven for dysfunction, and gross misbehavior of students and some staff members. The school has suffered under a string of principals that do not possess the necessary skills to keep the school running as it should. The principal should realize that parents talk, so if she tells one parent one thing, and another parent another, that she is looked at as being not credible to put it nicely. I do feel that many of the teachers really care, but are limited in what they can do because of the principal and other misbehaving students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2014

Watch this school closely! Burton Glenn tries very hard to "keep up appearances", and to look good on paper, but in reality your student will probably leave this school hopelessly behind when trying to transition to another school. Report cards look great, but the school tries to teach only what is projected to be on state standardized tests in an attempt to raise its scores. Administratively, Burton Glen lacks in the leadership that it takes to build a strong and successful school. I believe for Burton Glen to be successful, a seasoned and qualified administrative team needs to be put into place, an actual emphasis on moral focus principles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

The teachers are a little more attentive to the students. My oldest like to draw when he's bored and his teacher has implemented drawing in his classwork to keep him on track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

my 5 year old hasn't come home once with anything bad to say. Love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

My son started kindergarten and this is his first week. He has got lost or/and left behind twice. I dont feel my son is safe at this school. When i asked the teacher about it she couldnt remember what happened or where they were. It was only one day ago. This really concerns and worries me. I am looking for another school to enroll my son. My
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

this is going to be a wonderful year the teachers involvement and communication with parents as well as students is wonderful as well as the academics taught, my son was fascinated with the music room and can not wait to attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2013

It's sad to see what Burton Glen has become. Two years ago I posted a positive review for Burton Glen, thanking them for the school's handling of my children. Today, I find myself scrambling to find a decent school to transfer my children to.


Posted September 5, 2012

Pay attention to this site!!! I wish I had. My son started Burton Glen two days ago, and I cannot believe the amount of disorganization and unprofessionalism exhibited by this charter. Leadership is nonexistent, and job titles/ responsibilities seem to be undefined among administration and staff members. Hallways and the common area in front of the building is complete bedlam, with students swearing, yelling, pushing, and throwing objects. I will likely have to be making a change for my child before the end of this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2012

Oh my goodness, the August 1st parent review sounds a lot like an advertisement! I definitely agree with the pervious comment. Talk to parents who have been associated with Burton Glen to get your information. I find it hard to believe that such well spoken, and obviously educated family (August 1st) would find Burton Glen to be a satisfactory choice, let alone an exceptional one for their children. In my experience, well behaved, hardworking students are abused by the bad ones and ignored by the teachers trying to keep the classroom under control. If you were a parent writing a review, would you use the format and wording used by the parent reviewer in the August 1st comment? Sounds like an advertisement to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

Be leary, and very very careful what you believe concerning Burton Glen and National Heritage Academies! The best way to evaluate this school is to talk to parents who have actual expierience with this place face to face. Be active in researching a school for your children. Burton Glen has turnover rate for teachers and administrators that is most troubling to say the least. The "interm" principal has just been replaced by another "interm" principal this week. Many teachers at the middle school have been driven to tears on a regular basis by undisciplined students. Many have quit over these problems. State test scores are atrocious (MEAP), and bullying is frequent. Burton Glen is also frequently unwilling to acknowlege or deal with serious problems within the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2012

I have so many things to say that I don't know where to start! I am a VERY protective mom who was nervous and worried about sending my son to school after the death of his older brother for the first time. However, Burton Glen Charter won me over very quickly and allayed all my fears! This kindergarten/ middle school is the perfect blend of academics, culture appreciation, and socialization. They promote independence, creativity, and a genuine pride in learning in all of their students. The entire staff is devoted to guiding each child in discovering and maximizing their strengths while encouraging them to tackle new tasks/learning experiences they may not be familiar with. The staff also provides a very nurturing environment which I was very drawn to and one I had not observed with other schools when I was choosing a school for my other children and believe me, I looked!. I see the progress my son has made in the 3 year he has been there and my husband and I are amazed! He has become a confident, independent, and respectful little man who loves to learn. He is excited to come home each day and share all he has learned and accomplished!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2012

This place has many major problems. The focus of this school does not appear to be on education, but rather covering up and denying shortcomings within the school. Every person you talk to at this place will tell you something different. It is hard many times to know if they are being untruthful, or just unaware of what is going on in this building. Administrators lack professionalism, and many teachers are substandard. The major concern of the administration at this point is not correcting problems in the school, but rather implementing a "weird" and difficult manditory uniform policy for next year. The uniforms that have been choosen include odd colors that have to be ordered from the school, and cannot be purchased elsewhere,and ties for boys and girls. This school is difficult to deal with, and does not provide a good education to students. Burton Glen is a poor choice for your childrens educational needs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

Prospective Parents- ACT WITH CAUTION!!! I don't even know what to say about his place. The school itself is abso;ute chaos on a regular basis. Principles refuse to recognize problems even when they unfold directly in front of them. Many students that make up the student body are discipline nightmares who are not delt with at all. The leadership at this place is a joke to say the least. Avoid at all costs. Do not be fooled by anyone who works at Burton Glen telling you that this is a good safe school for your child!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

Some of us find Burton Glen to be a great place. Those parents that have experienced such negativity, GO! STop tearing down the school with your foolish comments. Pack you and your kids up and find somewhere where you are happy. There are plenty of schools. My children love Burton Glen and they are doing well, why would I move them because I don't like what procedure is in place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

I'm glad you have had a good expierience! What you describe is what the entire school used to be like. There are still a few good teachers, but not near enough to make up for the current administrators. A parent told me the other day that NHA has replaced the school DSQ and school board president. This is a positive change considering a month ago they were unwilling to admit BG even had a problem. What I was told is the new DSQ seems genuinely concerned about BG but I am bothered that apparently he said one of his goals is to improve or rebuild the current principle's atrocious reputation. (WHY) NHA has acted WAY to slowly to problems and does not yet seem fully ready to recognize the real problem. Maybe they can turn it around, but it will likely take a lot of time considering how bad this school has become. These folks are definetly not good at service after the sale. Be cautious, we are still pulling our son out.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
12%

2011

 
 
12%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
3%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
26%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
41%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
9%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
30%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
3%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
24%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 59% 18%
White 27% 69%
Multiracial 9% 2%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian N/A 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 191%N/A48%
Female 251%N/A48%
Male 249%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Denesha Rawls-Smith
Fax number
  • (810) 744-2400

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4171 East Atherton Road
Burton, MI 48519
Website: Click here
Phone: (810) 744-2300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Scott School
Flint, MI


Freeman School
Flint, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT