Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 64 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Canton Charter Academy 3

Posted November 10, 2015
- a student
Average school. Standard has gone down over the years. Hopefully the new principal can turn things around. The curriculum is ok. Unorganized testing methods and grading system. I noticed the other comments about bullying and I agree that kids are really mean to each other. I am not sure if teachers or administration gets involved at all.

Canton Charter Academy
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
The school turns a blind eye to verbal bullying which is worse that physical bullying and can have long lasting adverse effects on young children


Canton Charter Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
There isn't enough focus on bullying prevention and kids that can lie and talk their way out of situations often get away with things. Depends on the teacher that the child has

Canton Charter Academy 2

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
We are happy with the curriculum and the management. There is an increased focus in trying to get more money from families. The main problem with the school in there is no consistency in teacher standards. If your child gets a good teacher then he or she will excel. They prefer cookie cutter kids and do not have much tolerance for other kids. Some teachers have the patience and the willingness to help all kids while others could care less . Some families know who the good teachers are and request those teachers for their kids. You may be stuck with a bad teacher if you do not have inside information. Bullying is a major problem starting in kindergarten. Teachers and administration do turn a blind eye to most cases. No action is taken for verbal bullying. My child also picked up derogatory words from the playground from other kids as early as 1st grade which was a bit of a shock for me. My satisfaction with the school has decreased over the years.

Canton Charter Academy 5

Posted February 20, 2015
- a parent
CCA is the best K-8 school in Michigan. We love it. Great academic standards, great moral focus, great staff.


Canton Charter Academy 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school, with good management and an excellent focus on education. This school gives me everything that I had wished for my kids education.

Canton Charter Academy 1

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
Principle and teachers rude. Families are numbers. They will do anything to get a dollar from their students!

Canton Charter Academy 5

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
CCA has such a positive and caring environment. I like that they have a moral focus curriculum that helps students persevere and make good choices. The teachers challenge students and have high expectations, but the kids have a lot of fun too. Both of my students have grown socially and academically at CCA.


Canton Charter Academy 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school for children education. My son studying from K. Teaching staff having well experience in teaching and preparing students for higher grades.

Canton Charter Academy 3

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
I have two children who have attended CCA since kindergarten. The oldest is in 5th grade. While I cannot speak to teacher turnover in middle school, the elementary school teachers seem to move around within the NHA system pretty regularly (i.e. promotions). The curriculum overall seems to be okay. My children have definitely learned a lot. The biggest problem that I have is the subjective grading. There is NO real or universal academic standard for all students to strive to. Wherever your kids are academically, they base their goals on that rather than challenging them to do more. Therefore, if they hit their goal EVERYBODY is seen as a winner even though you can have a huge disparity in learning levels and gaps in educational achievement all within the same classroom. This is not real-world. The inconsistency and hypocrisy in discipline is a problem too. They stress a non-bully environment, yet do not deal with disciplining bullies to the extent of learning REAL consequences of their actions. They do not encourage kids to stand up for themselves. In fact, kids are instructed not to do so! Teachers tend to be dismissive if your kid has a problem and needs to come to them for help.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Canton Charter Academy
49100 Ford Road, Canton, MI  48187
(734) 453-9517
Last modified Canton Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Canton Charter Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. Top