Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 86 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Canton Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
Teacher turn over is high, Teachers do not know how to challenge kids academically. The kindergarten teachers are very good. Some first grade teachers are good. Its down hill from there. If your child needs a higher level education this is not he place for you.

Canton Charter Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
There isn't enough focus on bullying prevention and kids that can lie and talk their way out of situations often get away with things. Depends on the teacher that the child has


Canton Charter Academy 1

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
I am unhappy with the curriculum and management. There is an increased focus in trying to get more money from families. The main problem with the school in there is no consistency in teacher standards. If your child gets a good teacher then he or she will excel. They prefer cookie cutter kids and do not have much tolerance for other kids. Some teachers have the patience and the willingness to help all kids while others could care less . Some families know who the good teachers are and request those teachers for their kids. You may be stuck with a bad teacher if you do not have inside information. Bullying is a major problem starting in kindergarten. Teachers and administration do turn a blind eye to most cases. No action is taken for verbal bullying. My child also picked up derogatory words from the playground from other kids as early as 1st grade which was a bit of a shock for me. My satisfaction with the school has decreased over the years.

Canton Charter Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
Teachers are not fair to students.My child's teacher only focused on a handful of students. Disciplinary actions are not taken when needed.

Canton Charter Academy 1

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
Incompetent teachers. Bullying is a huge problem both verbal and physical. Verbal bullying is ignored. Kids use all kinds of bad words and no body checks them on it. Physical bullying is addressed if the student complains. But actions are not taken to prevent it from happening again. Poor teachers. They only care about a few students. If you complain to the Dean or principal they will tell you what you want to hear while you are there but then teachers actions do not change. the main reason for me to send my child to this school is for discipline but this school is terrible at both academics and moral focus.This school has had 3 principals in the last 6 years. I am taking my child to Workman elementary.


Canton Charter Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 07, 2016
- a community member
Thanks Mr. Linquist, Odeh, Bowers, and K-D! You tried your hardest and helped my succeed.

Canton Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 07, 2016
- a community member
Teachers at this school try there hardest to bring he best in their students. They just get tired of disrespectful students over time.

Canton Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 07, 2016
- a community member
Very fair amounts of homework. Not too much too stress out middle school students like myself.


Canton Charter Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 07, 2016
- a community member
They definitely push their students to their fullest ability. I can say because I am a student.

Canton Charter Academy
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 07, 2016
- a community member
Seriously depends on the teacher if this will happen or not. I am a student.

Nearby schools

Canton Charter Academy
49100 Ford Road, Canton, MI  48187
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 86 reviews. (734) 453-9517
Last modified Canton Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top