Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Clawson, MI
Students enrolled: 85
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Japhet School 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent of two alumni from Japhet and they both entered public high school with a solid foundation of character -- so necessary at that age when their decision-making is independent. Academically both my children have done very well, taking advanced classes and getting involved. They made great choices in their friends. Something I really appreciate about Japhet is its unique emphasis on public speaking. My kids have been presenting to a large audience since they were 6 -- it's a real confidence builder. But I think the greatest gift that Japhet gave my children is the gift of community, especially the relationship-building with their teachers. My daughter, now in college, says she credits Japhet for the ease she feels when approaching a professor for help during office hours. She knows that teachers are there to help. Thank you, Japhet. I strongly recommend this school!!
2 people found this helpful

Japhet School 5

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
My child is attending preschool here & will move up to kindergarten in the fall. I was shocked to read two of the negative reviews on the preschool program as our experience has been better than what we expected. Japhet truly nurtures the whole child, I see each child given respect and every opportunity to grow. I was concerned that my child was behind in letter recognition but of no account to the school. He is very creative & showed no interest in letters. This only changed the way the teachers worked with him, helping him in more creative ways that suited his learning style. The small class sizes & individualized instruction (for everyone) allowed for this. He has completely blossomed! I'm almost tired of always talking about letters and sounds ; ) he is also reading which is such a relief & joy to experience. The preschool room is filled with extremely creative activities all which teach not only the basics such as letters, counting, reading, math...etc, but also about our world and peaceful conflict resolution. My family and I are very proud to be apart of this community.


Japhet School 2

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
We were so excited to enroll our child in preschool at Japhet, but it turned out to be a huge disappointment. They do not prepare the preschoolers for kindergarten. The teacher does not focus on fundamentals enough and I will have to supplement this summer to make sure my son is prepared for kindergarten. I also felt the teacher was not personable and would brush my questions off regarding my child's experience there and say things like "your child is doing fine, he's happy." Nothing specific. The class was not that big so certainly she knew the students a little better than that? Also they did not handle a few situations properly and I feel there is a lot of obvious favoritism. The parent involvement they emphasize is for donations to the school and occasional special events, no emphasis on parental involvement in the classroom. Unfortunately I would not recommend this school.

Japhet School 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
We had a wonderful early childhood experience at Japhet. I must say that I noticed only one average review and it couldn't be further from what we experienced. Our children both attended Pre- School (and are still at the school in first and sixth). The Pre-School and Kindergarten preparation were both tailored to our children's needs and skill level. The program is play based but the foundation of the Kindergarten is rooted in the Montessori method. Both my children were completely prepared for their next steps (in fact they have been at every level) and Japhet provides additional support as well as a comfortable environment for advanced work when necessary. I was so pleased with the nurturing environment and the early childhood teachers at Japhet. We feel this school is a gem and are so grateful we found it. Where else can you have your Preschooler come home and start helping with the dishes saying "look mom, I'm showing initiative today!" The Character Education program is the real deal!
1 person found this helpful

Japhet School 2

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attended preschool here and we were not very impressed. While many of the activities were very creative they did not do a very good job preparing the kids academically for kindergarten. I spent the summer working with my daughter to ensure she would be ready for kindergarten. I was also disappointed when I realized that the head teacher did not have a teaching nor child development degree of any kind. I would rate the preschool as average but not worth the tuition.


Japhet School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
The focus on character education is what initially captured my interest. The excellent academics, small classroom sizes, and remarkable teachers is what has kept my family at Japhet for more than 7 years. I cannot stress how wonderful it has been to have my children in an environment that stresses such things as industry, honesty, initiative and courage AND the way that they weave the character qualities into everything (from math to cooking to science) is amazing. Highly recommend the school to anyone looking for a better situation.
1 person found this helpful

Japhet School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a community member
The Japhet School provides a wonderful foundation for students' academic lives and beyond. I am so grateful that I had the opportunity to attended Japhet from Daycare - 8th grade. I currently serve on the Board of Trustees, and can tell that Japhet still has the sense of community and strong academics that it did when I was student. I can't recommend this school enough!
1 person found this helpful

Japhet School 2

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
This school has poor preparation for high school, especially with math and socialization. The school student population is very unstable, with very few students staying through eighth grade. We had an ongoing issue with our son's teacher that continued for more than one year due to the structure of two years with the same teacher. We were much happier this year after switching him to another private school in the area. Also, the staff diversity is minimal. We did like the large field for recess, but have heard that the school is moving to a facility without a playground.


Japhet School 5

Posted June 08, 2013
- a parent
Japhet is a warm, inviting school with emphasis on public speaking and teaching character. I'm very glad my student goes there, and I see the difference that a quality education can make.
1 person found this helpful

Japhet School 5

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
Japhet is a great value for the type of environment and education they provide. The staff there is caring and supportive and allow kids to be themselves. The character education piece is great and has lead to many good discussions with our kids. The class sizes are small and have allowed for a great deal of one-on-one time with teachers. The staff is creative and make the most out of their facilities. Field trip choices are good. The people at Japhet really care about it and take pride in their school. If there is something that we didn't love about Japhet it is the strong emphasis on fund raising. That being said, the tuition is significantly less than comparable schools , and this may be a trade off that is well worth it, depending on your situation. I highly recommend Japhet.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Japhet School
839 S. Crooks Rd., Clawson, MI  48017
(248) 585-9150
Last modified Japhet School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Japhet School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top