Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dixon Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Students need a challenge I didnt see enough homework from beginning too end of the school year.

Dixon Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Showing respect helps these children build confidence to show it back being that some staff handle it by bullying.


Dixon Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and some counselors do but the rest of the staff do not like the Lunch and Office staff is horrible and they are awful to your children and they check see them through their time there.

Dixon Elementary School 3

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Office staff is horrible and they are awful to your children. I really hope the school gets order and structured because these children need it. Since Dr Bread retired only a few still care at the school. Some changes need to be made and loving staff should be present at all times dont nobody care about these kids but theTeachers and some counselors and thats not fair its sad.

Dixon Elementary School 4

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
Dixon is a great school they have good days and bad days like every school in America but the teachers do care and they doing they best at Dixon.


Dixon Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a teacher
Dixon Educational Learning Academy who have dedicated teachers that are focused on the students educational achievements.

Dixon Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a teacher
This is my third year at Dixon. We have an awesome staff. There are some of the brightest teachers that I have ever worked with. They work hard both when the students are there and when they are preparing their lessons. Everyone goes to many professional developments to learn and understand the best practices for teaching. I am proud to be part of the Dixon staff.

Dixon Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a teacher
Dixon Educational Learning Academy is a jewel in the city of Detroit. All staff members, from the top down, work hard to form positive relationships with students and their families. Our teachers are dedicated and willing to go above and beyond the call of duty to help students learn. Moreover, all staff members genuinely care about our students. We provide a wide network of adults who are wiling to listen, give advice, or just offer a hug when necessary. At Dixon, we are out students' biggest cheerleaders.


Dixon Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
My granddaughter attends Dixon and had a wonderful learning experience with Ms. Cooks and Ms. Priebe in the first grade. The extra effort and time they put into my grandchild definitely assisted in her learning process in the area of math. The principal goes beyond her duty in making sure the children have different cultural activities. I am very impressed with the concern of Dr. Beard and her social work staff when it came to the students being in uniform and the fact they even supplied new uniforms for students I rate this school as excellent!!!

Dixon Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a teacher
Dixon has excellent dedicated teachers and a very supportive principal...teachers care about not only the education of the students but for their overall well being...parents, students and staff are always welcome by the principal whether it is for advice...a pat on the back...reassurance or a shoulder to cry on. Dixon provides a warm, secure... yet challenging environment for students and parents as well. The well being of all students is first and foremost at Dixon. I am very fortunate to be a teacher at Dixon.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dixon Elementary School
8401 Trinity Street, Detroit, MI  48228
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (313) 947-1330
Last modified Dixon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top