Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
Detroit, MI
Students enrolled: 649
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dixon Elementary School 4

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
Dixon is a great school they have good days and bad days like every school in America but the teachers do care and they doing they best at Dixon.

Dixon Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a teacher
Dixon Educational Learning Academy who have dedicated teachers that are focused on the students educational achievements.

Dixon Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a teacher
This is my third year at Dixon. We have an awesome staff. There are some of the brightest teachers that I have ever worked with. They work hard both when the students are there and when they are preparing their lessons. Everyone goes to many professional developments to learn and understand the best practices for teaching. I am proud to be part of the Dixon staff.

Dixon Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a teacher
Dixon Educational Learning Academy is a jewel in the city of Detroit. All staff members, from the top down, work hard to form positive relationships with students and their families. Our teachers are dedicated and willing to go above and beyond the call of duty to help students learn. Moreover, all staff members genuinely care about our students. We provide a wide network of adults who are wiling to listen, give advice, or just offer a hug when necessary. At Dixon, we are out students' biggest cheerleaders.

Dixon Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
My granddaughter attends Dixon and had a wonderful learning experience with Ms. Cooks and Ms. Priebe in the first grade. The extra effort and time they put into my grandchild definitely assisted in her learning process in the area of math. The principal goes beyond her duty in making sure the children have different cultural activities. I am very impressed with the concern of Dr. Beard and her social work staff when it came to the students being in uniform and the fact they even supplied new uniforms for students I rate this school as excellent!!!

Dixon Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a teacher
Dixon has excellent dedicated teachers and a very supportive principal...teachers care about not only the education of the students but for their overall well being...parents, students and staff are always welcome by the principal whether it is for advice...a pat on the back...reassurance or a shoulder to cry on. Dixon provides a warm, secure... yet challenging environment for students and parents as well. The well being of all students is first and foremost at Dixon. I am very fortunate to be a teacher at Dixon.

Dixon Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a teacher
You won't find a more dedicated, compassionate, and supportive staff anywhere in the city of Detroit. Dixon is a unique school that encompasses the whole child meeting their academic, social and emotional needs. The principal, teachers, counselors, and support staff go above and beyond to make sure students and families have what they need to feel safe, comfortable, and well cared for while at school. Whether you need advice, a hug, a reassuring pat on the back, a good laugh, or a warm smile you'll find it here at Dixon. I am very proud to be a member of such an awesome school!

Dixon Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 30, 2010
- a community member
My grandchildren attend Dixion School and I must say I am not pleased at all. My granddaughter is a speical ed. student who did not receiving social work services until late March, close to the end of the school year. In addition, she says her teacher takes her papers and throw them away while standing in frnt of her. She calls her names and her school work and self esteem have been damaged since atending this school.

Dixon Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 07, 2008
- a parent
Like most schools, Dixon could use some work. For example, signs posted outside saying that they have more afterschool activities than are actually there. However, for what it lacks, Dixon makes up for it with an excellent teaching staff as well as wonderful social workers. Mr. Merrill, Mrs. Bennett, and Mrs. Thomas are some of the best teachers that Dixon has to offer.

Dixon Elementary School 1

Posted March 18, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dixon Elementary School
8401 Trinity Street, Detroit, MI  48228
(313) 947-1330
Last modified Dixon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dixon Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top