Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Detroit International Academy For Young Women 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a student
Tbh i have been at this school since sixth grade and yes its kind of cold some time but this school has good teachers (im in 10th grade ) we dont have to worry about people fighting everyday you can go to any school and its going to have problems but at this school we learn we get a lot of chances to to go to colleges and see nice things the foods not that bad we can buy food here just dont like the secretary guards some just do too much but Ms.edwards them other ppl need to be gone they lazy and always trying to get someone in something Ms.Hib nice she listens to us

Detroit International Academy For Young Women 2

Posted January 28, 2014
- a community member
This school is not handicap accessible for parents or students who are handicap or physically disabled.


Detroit International Academy For Young Women 1

Posted January 08, 2014
- a community member
This School does not have heat. This school does NOT have air conditioning. There are nets in the lunchroom . The ceilings leak and the maintenance is TERRIBLE!! I go to this school, take it from me!

Detroit International Academy For Young Women 1

Posted December 20, 2013
- a community member
This is a really bad school, I got bullied a whole school year. The teachers don't like to teach at all, and the students like to talk all about sex, drugs, ect. Its a bad school. Bullies that don't let you pay attention to school work, also, I left the school because I got bullied so bad. Do NOT send your child here. This is me telling you how bad it is. How they put themselves to be, all lies. Don't trust the school, fights every other day. No good at all, no edu.

Detroit International Academy For Young Women 4

Posted December 01, 2012
- a community member
I left this school and I did a bad job I found out how good this school is after I left it.


Detroit International Academy For Young Women 1

Posted August 17, 2012
- a parent
I have ALOT of things to say about this school.I have spoke to my daughters about it and got their opinions and I will also share mine. First of all, this school has an asesome principal.But she doesn't seem to listen to her students or teachers very often, it's mostly the vice rincipal doing all the work. Secondly, some of the students have brillent ideas that no one seems to appreciate. I've noticed this school is made out of African Americans and Muslims and the Muslim girls arn't participating in most of the things going on at school. I would love to listen to their ideas and see how much the school can change. The envirmont is HORRIBLE. This school needs to get in shape in order for the teachers to teach and the students to learn.(EX. Get this school re-painted over the summer)when I went to the parent-teacher conference I found gum on the railing of the stairs! The lighting is so dull that when I step in the building I feel as if I walked in jail! Also everything is always unorganized. (EX: Multicultural Day)The lockers are dirty, and the teachers are lazy. If I could become the principal, this school would've been in shape in one week! That is my opinions for this school.

Detroit International Academy For Young Women 5

Posted April 12, 2012
- a parent
This is a very nice school for my daughters! Ive noticed that my girls are improving a lot in this school!! I love DIA x

Detroit International Academy For Young Women 1

Posted February 12, 2012
- a parent
This school has Inappropriate language, some teachers are just to lazy, bullying, the teachers don't take their job seriously, and worst of the students do very unladylike like things! But what I like is the strong principle. every school needs a strong principle for the school to be good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Detroit International Academy For Young Women
9026 Woodward Avenue, Detroit, MI  48202
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. (313) 873-3050
Last modified Detroit International Academy For Young Women is a Public school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top