Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kelly Middle School 1

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
There are way to many fights. The staff has little to no control over the students. Students are barely learning because of other unruly kids. The staff deals poorly with conflict and communication is terrible. I don't recommend this school for any child. The state and police need to step in. It's just a matter of time before this school appears on the news. Somebody is bond to get hurt there. They need police on staff.

Kelly Middle School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
I'm really not sure. It's a very dysfunctional atmosphere that is in need of some help from outside resources.


Kelly Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
I believe respect is taught at home and should be enforced in school. The staff would also have to be willing and up for the challenge.

Kelly Middle School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
I disagree because the staff is very frustrated and tired of dealing with students and the fighting. All I ever heard was complaints about retiring, staff being scared and injured and the list goes on.

Kelly Middle School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 10, 2016
- a parent
There is definitely room for improvements. The staff seem to be burnt out. They are tired of dealing with the drama. I think the parents should be given tickets if their child is at fault for any altercation their child has. Then maybe there be a change.


Kelly Middle School 2

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
I understand why the enrollment & overall quality of East Detroit School District is failing. I have seen advertisement on the side of DDOT buses as well as signs in some of the worst Detroit neighborhoods. It clearly reflects the overall district attitude. Many teacher in this District don't care; it's just about the check to them; there is a lack professionalism and censorship on the kind things to say in front school age children regarding their classmates. Furthermore, student safety isn't clearly enforced so the anti-bullying policy are a joke. The parent involvement is generally low but most teachers seem thankful that parents aren't active. The student body would probably cause a culture shock to the average incoming sixth grade student; that's not use of dealing with violent attitudes and gestures on the regular basis. Bullying is everyday life for many children with very little help from administration. The expectation is the annual anti-bullying rally; great picture opt for the school. Overall, I'm in the process of removing my child from District. I suggest you carefully examine your options before enrolling your child.

Kelly Middle School 1

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
My daughter went to this skl for 8th grade. I would not recommend this school to anyone. The main focus is on behavior, not on academics. (Behavior is important) The schools has little to no extracurricular activities. There is no 8th grade graduation and there was only one parent/teacher conference. In my opinion that is absurd. In order for me to meet teachers I wld have to make appts with each individual teacher. My daughter also complained about the social studies teacher who mostly showed movies opposed to teaching the children different lessons each day. She also says he refused to do a Black History Project because he did not believe in Black History Month. While Eastpointe is a great neighborhood, the school district sucks as a whole. I have no intention on sending my child to the High school. Kelly ranked in the 6 percentile of statewide schools, while EDHS was in the 3 percent range. (https://www.mischooldata.org) Kelly needs better leadership and new plans on how to run the school successfully.

Kelly Middle School 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a community member
I am a former student at kelly middle schooI. I think kelly middle school is a excellent school. The fighting part is actually true but on the other hand most teachers are very helpful and caring they do teach you the things you need for highschool. And all allegations about bugs and other things i think are really untrue.


Kelly Middle School 5

Posted July 05, 2013
- a community member
I really love that school but threre is a lot of fighthing so before u go there learn how to fight.

Kelly Middle School 1

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
they charge u for books and then you never get money back when you leave the school and not in that area anymore. teachers seem to not care or help with my son.

Nearby schools

Kelly Middle School
24701 Kelly Road, Eastpointe, MI  48021
(586) 533-3600
Last modified Kelly Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top