Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Flushing High School

Public | 9-12 | 1307 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

I graduated in 1984, and the education I received at FHS lead me to be extremely successful and that is because I had an amazing foundation for my education .


Posted September 11, 2012

I graduated from FHS in 2001 and I can say that my educaction was top notch. They prepared me well for college!


Posted October 26, 2006

I graduated from FHS in 2005 and I can honestly say my 4 years of High School here gave me the preparedness I needed for college. I go to MSU and I use the skills that were taught to me at FHS every minute that I'm in class. The teachers are caring, understanding, and want to help each student do the best they can. They also have a great sports program offering a wide variety of seasonal sports. The choir and band programs are the best in Genesee county. The art program is top notch too. FHS does an exceptional job of including the parents to work towards a better learning environment. I wasn't the most popular kid in school but everyone was polite and respectful to one another. I got what I needed for my future and then some.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 25, 2005

FHS is a mediocre school. The biggest joke on campus were the drug free school zone signs. I moved to the flushing area from Charlotte NC and I was blown away by the amount and availability of the drugs on campus. I would give this school a better review if they addressed this problem in earnest.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 18, 2005

When we moved to Flushing 14 years ago from the Grand Rapids area I didn't know anyone. My daughter was in 3rd grade at Elms elementary and my son was 1 1/2 years old. I am so happy that we chose the Flushing area because I meet many of my friends through the school, volunteering at parties and field trips. They also offer Advanced Placement classes for high school student in many different subjects . Now My daughter is a graduate of Michigan State University with a degree in Chemical Engineering and my son is a Jr. and in the Marching Band Program that is known for being one of the best in the State we have wonderful parent involvement at our Marching Band Compititions and Sporting events. We think very highly of Flushing Community Schools and hope that you will consider being part of our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2004

This has been an incredible educational experience for our child, now a senior at FHS. Academically, we compete with top high schools in the state in the areas of curriculum choices, MEAP test results, and college preparation. Socially, staff and students alike set high priorities on learning and forming a strong school bond. I am so glad we chose Flushing when we relocated from the Detroit area twenty years ago. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2004

This high school seems to cater to the wealthy. They don't provide an atmosphere of equality for students who may come from middle income students.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

360 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
29%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

93%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

80%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 69%
African-American 8% 18%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jason Melynchek
Fax number
  • (810) 591-0693

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5039 Deland Rd
Flushing, MI 48433
Website: Click here
Phone: (810) 591-3770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Genesee Academy
Swartz Creek, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT