Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fraser High School

Public | 9-12 | 1696 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2013

I am disappointed only in the poor reviews written by others. I am a Fraser graduate who is now attending one of the best engineering schools out there. I went through the Fraser Public Schooling system since the first grade, and it was a great school in every aspect. I graduated well prepared for college. The teachers at this school all care about the success of their students, whether they want to believe it or not. I used to doubt Fraser, but know that I have graduated I can see how lucky I really was to get to attend a school that cares so much for there students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2013

The entire district is unprofessional. I agree with the below post. As a community of parents we have raised great kids who are not in a supportive environment. The district has a fabulous public relations team (award winning) who want to keep the advertisements saying they are great to fill the seats of students from neighboring communities (school of choice) because the kids who live in Fraser are choosing to NOT attend and go to a better school elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2013

This school is managed unprofessionally. The only reason this school does well is because the students are good..not because of the teachers. The Teachers and faculty do not work well with children that have a disabilities or any kind of health management routine. Teachers and staff are unwilling to work with parents on anything. It is there way or high way. There are no teachers plan or syllabus created with the classes. They do not have regular recess hours and suddenly decide when kids go on Recess. There is no routine or structure in this school which is very detrimental to a preschooler learning routine. They will not be prepared for kindergarten from this school. If you are only looking for a babysitter that is close to where you live, then this is right for you. If you are looking for a structured environment - for your kids to learn what it is like to be in school , this is NOT the school for you. If the student has a medial routine, they will not follow though with any care or management of the child's well being. There is NO first aide person on staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

I am a graduating senior of the class of 2012, and I have went to Fraser schools for all of my education. This school--academically-- can be a very great choice; however, it does vary by teacher, as well as the choice of class and a student's effort. The biggest issue I have come across is the lack of consequences or the unfitting consequences given to children who disobey the rules; the issues I have personally been involved with that receive the most unjust punishments include sexual orientation and sexual harassment. This is mostly do to the school's ineffectiveness (even after having been approached several times) to enforce strict policies. The way to solve an issue is to have a parent contact the the child's principle and to have the student write an incident report and turn it into the office. The school rarely will address the issue unless contacted by a parent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2011

Amazing Staff, amazing students and a great facility. Yes you will hear about drugs cause they address it rather than hide it or sweep it under the rug. The staff cares about each student, and the education you recieve prepares you for the future. Great Arts Program that has left others in the dust. New football coach will only help them acheive their goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

I am currently a senior here at Fraser and I enjoy the school. Yes I have heard of the school have "drug problems", however I myself have never once seen drugs, seen anyone using drugs, or been asked to use drugs in my 4 years here. So I believe that the students of the parents that say there is a problem, are choosing to hang out with the people that are involved with drugs. The staff here is wonderful! Everyone is nice, friendly, and helpful. There are so many activities to get involved in and it is super easy to make friends. Our performing arts department is one of the best. We have recently added a Performing Arts Career Academy which is designed to further a students education in the performing arts through any subject that they are passionate about. Or are considering a career in. This school and school district are wonderful and I would reccommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2011

This school has the best of both worlds. It has great academic and after school activities. The students are able to participate in many things from sports to band, flag, and many many other things. The marching band has 225 members and participated in the Thankgiving Day parade in Detroit this year. My daughter is involved in many things and is on the A honor role. This school is a great school for children and for parents also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

This High School has to be one of the best schools in the area. Has great teachers, friendly staff, and just about every sport or extra curricular activites you can think of available. Lastly on the last comment about drugs. Every school has some drug use. It is up to the teachers and peers to put pressure on the young men and women who openly use drugs. Drugs kill.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2010

I am a sophomore at Fraser High. If you want to send your kid(s) to a school where they will be treated fairly and make friends easily, Fraser is your school. Some of the negative comments on this page say how drug use is a major issue at fraser, it's not as much as it's broadcasted. Every high school is going to have issues with drugs, it's up to the student to make the right choice. Every teacher I've had so far has helped me out a great deal. And I really like going to Fraser.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2010

I cant wait until my child leaves the school. The principle is very ineffective, big drug problems,and fights occur daily. I think the people are not getting the quality education that they paying for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

I graduated from Fraser and I moved back to fraser in 2005. We transferred from Warren Con and my one daughter graduated last year. Her grades improved when she came to Fraser and that is a result of their curriculum. My youngest daughter now attends Fraser High School and is all honor roll. The school has a great teaching staff and great program with seminar days. I think Fraser is a great place to have your child attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

Fraser High School is whatever you make it. If you wish to prepare for college they are more than capable of preparing you, but if you wish to blow off high school they'll only try with you for your freshman and sophomore years. After this point they'll try, but only if you allow your teachers to teach you. Everyone says drug use is a problem at Fraser, but that makes it sound like the whole school takes part in it. This is not the case; small groups of people at our school participate in using drugs, but most of the school does not. The environment within Fraser is great and diverse, it's not a bad school in any way. My only complaint is that too many of the students here don't appreciate Fraser enough.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2008

i got to fraser high school im a saphmore an its a great spirt school and we have fun but still learn at the same time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2008

a great community and close nit school, the teachers really care and the extra curricular activities they do (student trips to state championships, movie nights, ect.) are among the best i've seen or heard of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

You know i went to fraser high school. i loved it . the athletic programs are very good. and i think that the classes were great having kids at all different ages and grades in one class its just a chance to meet new people. high school would be boring being with the same people all the time. i think the teachers are great at fraser. the only really really bad thing is, is that fraser is a big drug school now.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2007

Great school, excellent staff, outstanding athletic programs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

Fraser High School has outstanding teacher and staff but the student body has always been very clicky.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2006

I must say this school is a terrible disapointment. Teachers have no control over the kids what so ever. When going to classes grades are mixed. Ninth graders are with twelth and elevnth graders. This school has alot of drug use to. Parent involement is horrible as well. The teachers don't care enough and the principal doesn't do anything about it. I would never send my kids here again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

I have one child who has attended the grade school,middle school and now is in high school,and one who has gone through middle school and graduated from high school last year. Both children loved the alternating class schedule.The teachers have been well informed in teaching methods,and rest of the staff has been very helpful in all areas. There is more than enough extra activities,the music program is one of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2005

So far, two of our children have graduated from FHS with excellent skills for their future endeavors. Most of the teachers were friendly, fair, and informative. Many teachers exhibited an amazing rapport with students and command of the Art of Teaching - too many to name here but they know who there are. The counseling staff was quite helpful and showed an amazing about of care and concern when situations warranted their help. The counseling services for graduating seniors (re: scholarships, further schooling opportunities, etc) were much appreciated. The current and prior principals both brought a good sense of fairness, understanding of adolscence, openness, and a wonderful sense of humor! The high school felt 'like family'. Go Ramblers! Go Fraser Pride!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

455 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
20%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

91%

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

"86"%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 69%
African-American 11% 18%
Multiracial 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 6%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Michael Lonze

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

34270 Garfield Rd
Fraser, MI 48026
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 439-7200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Parkway Christian School
Sterling Heights, MI


Parkway Christian School
Sterling Heights, MI


Clintondale High School
Clinton Township, MI



Roseville High School
Roseville, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT