Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grand Haven High School

Public | 9-12 | 1833 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2014

I have had three children graduate from Grand Haven High School. All of them loved their school and their teachers. As a parent, I am thankful for the wonderful education that all three of them received. Our youngest has just finished her Master's degree. She has always loved to learn and that is because she has had wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

My experience has been difficult. I suspected my daughter being dyslexic since she was in first grade. She received the help of a reading specialist and we did a ton of work at home. I was consistently told she was "fine" and there was no worry through elementary and middle school, because although it was a struggle, "her grades were good". In her freshman year of high school, she hit a brick wall and it was apparent that whatever her troubles with reading and math were that it could no longer be brushed aside. In my opinion C's are NOT good grades anyway. I submitted in writing my desire to have her tested at the high school. I was asked to meet with the school psychologist, an SE teacher and her counselor and left the first two meetings in tears because of how I was treated and the negative outcome of the meetings. In one meeting I was told by the psychologist that "if she had to test every student who was doing as well as her" it would be impossible. I received financial help from my employer and had her tested. The results were a diagnosis of Reading Disorder, Development Dyslexia and Learning Disorder, NOS with difficulty in math. She received a 504, but it needs improved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2013

A very highly supported high school and educational system by the community and parents etc and the various school rating venues notice and reflect it. GHHS is a very fine top ranking school of learning and adult development academically for college and/or the student's adult life. Also has been awarded nearly every year for being the best in "sportsmanship" in the state in their athletic programs and that also says something. The team's in the entire school district are coached as being "a Family" and that's just how the teams act from grade school thru high school. GHHS is a quite large public high school with an enrollment of between 1800 and 2000 yearly for grades 9 thru 12 on it's more than 100 acre huge campus. Yet has a very good teacher/student ratio as that's important. GHHS has a very rich history of state and national championships and honors in both academics and sports programs now and over it's close to 150 year existence. I'm also extremely proud to be a graduate of Grand Haven High School many many years ago. What a great foundation was learned there which set the tone for a very happy and productive adult life! Winning in life starts early!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

When considering school districts, check to see how many tutoring centers ( ie. Sylvan, Kumon, etc) are located within the city/district. We recently moved from an equally high test-score district that does not compare. Here the teachers do the teaching. In our previous district, parents supplemented their child's education. Some districts are fine with mediocre teaching, because they know the parents will do whatever it takes for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

Looking back as a college student, I am so glad I went to Grand Haven! I'm thankful for the safe learning environment it provided, and for all the passion and wonderful teachers I had during my four years there! They helped me become a more confident person with my professors here at MSU, and I feel prepared with all my assignments. In fact, I find I'm ahead of many other freshman here, in terms of work ethic and the quality of work because of the level I was held to at Grand Haven! Go Bucs, and Go Green! -A former alum, class of 2010
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Great students, teacher, administration, coaches, etc. Just like family. Save & fun. Great opportunities. Bucaneer pride!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

I absolutely love Grand Haven High school. I had to transfer schools until the rest of the year. I was very bummed out and now I miss that school more than ever. The teachers are great and the atmosphere is very welcoming. To me, no other high school measures up to Grand Haven High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2008

Personally i think that this school is too small for the amount of students it has. However it is a fantastic school for the classes that it offers, sports, choirs, and bands. So i guess that it being a little small is just something you deal with to have great classes and great teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2007

The new athletic facilities are now open and the Grand Haven community can be proud to host visitors from around the area. Anyone who attended soccer or football matches over the last few weeks would agree that the investments were needed for all students. The public school system must keep pace with other communities in order to compete for new residents and business development. Like or not, the school's reputation rests on athletic and academic tradition. Grand Haven High School has a beautiful campus and excellent academic and enrichment programs. Our school should aspire for excellence in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

Grand Haven High School does offer a great diversity of classes. The security has improved over the last three years. However, having said that ...there is still room for more improvements. Also, there needs to be more equity amongst the athletic program and other programs of the school. There does not need to be a new football stadium built when the existing one is working fine. When the economy improves and a higher ratio of student's academic scores are above state standards, then let's consider spending money in nonacademic areas. The current bond addresses luxury items ...I am disappointed that our community is trying to pass this while taking 1 million dollars out of our operating budget. This makes no sense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2004

My oldest has just graduated with highest honors - I feel the teachers and the education provided are excellent. I do have concerns regarding the safety and disciplinary issues. Rules seem not to be enforced or appear to be enforced sporadically. Whether the fault of the school system or the voting public, the new high school has been in operation for over 5 years now and they still do not have a football stadium or track for the athletes and are using the antiquated facilities at the former high school which is one of the middle schools currently. Significant dollars are spent transporting students and equipment which could and should be spent elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

477 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

93%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

"95"%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
African-American 1% 18%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Tracy Wilson
Fax number
  • (616) 850-6010

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17001 Ferris St
Grand Haven, MI 49417
Website: Click here
Phone: (616) 850-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Grand Haven Cyber School
Grand Haven, MI


Central High School
Grand Haven, MI



Spring Lake High School
Spring Lake, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT