Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridge Park Charter Academy

Charter | K-8 | 686 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Grand Rapids

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $164,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 28, 2012

I love the direction the school keep heading with Mr Brillhart at the helm. My eldest attended here from k-8 and now attends City High. My youngest will do the same. I believe the great teachers at this school have allowed my kids to soar and be able to get into the best high school in the area. Way to go Ridge Park! Proud Ranger mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

My son has attended Ridge Park for 2 years now (4th & 5th grade). He transferred there after attending Grand Rapids Christian (tuition based). I was pleasantly surprised to hear him complaining the curriculum was "so much harder & challenging than at GR Christian". As a parent, it brings me great joy to know that my son is getting a top notch education where he is consistently being challenged, while enjoying tuition free schooling!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

At first I was skeptical about RPCA. I looked/toured into different school districts like Forest Hills and have found that all the curriculum is the same if not better at RPCA. The only difference at RPCA is the parent involvement. From what I've seen, there's very few parents that care about volunteering or their child's education all together and that is the ONLY reason tests scores aren't the best here, period. It saddens when I hear parents blame the teachers for what their kid is/isn't doing in the clasroom. For parents who are reading this, it's not the staff job to raise our children. We are responsible and play the major role in our children's lives. The staff is outstanding and the principal is always thinking of new and better things for the school. Everyone genuinely cares about the kids and they go above and beyond the call of duty! The staff works diligently to teach and prepare the children and I know we made the right choice by sending our girls here. :-D
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

We have been extremely happy with grades K and 1. My children are above average for accademics and continue to be pushed by their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2007

Ridge Park has been a great fit for our family with the caring/responsive staff, true diversity, college bound curriculum. My daughter's have all gone from average students in public schools to honors classes and higher GPA's since the close of their former elementary school. The athletics program is very inclusive in that all students are encouraged and allowed to participate. I also appreciate the middle school being in the same building, but separate in operation. I have enjoyed my children's time at Ridge Park and always recommend other parents to consider sending their children to the best in the area! Parent of Ridge Park Students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

We have been at RPCA for 4 years now. We've been very impressed with the ass't principal (who was there during the previous principal) and how he dealt with some discipline problems we'd had in the past. Having the new principal really has improved the morale of the teachers. The quality of teachers has been OUTSTANDING. We have also been impressed with the staff as well. RPCA has extracurricular classes periodically which are just fun once-a-week for 4 weeks classes after school. We've chosen not to participate in sports yet, so I can't speak to that. We're pleased with the level of academics expected from the children. There is homework every night, but in 3rd grade, it's 2 or 3 pages. We appreciate the racial diversity and haven't so far seen racism. Also pleased that now there is a Moms in Touch prayer group for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

I am very impressed with Ridge Park. My daughter went to another charter school for her Kindergarten year, and it was a real struggle for her. The teachers were wanting to hold her back another year. Fortunately we moved to G.R. and she enter first grade at Ridge Park. Her improvement was amazing, she really did very, very well. She is now in the second grade and again doing awesome. The staff and facility are all very professional and the all genuinely care for all the students. It is very apparent that they encourage lots of parental involvement, and that is so important to achieve success. They are always keeping parents informed of school happenings and progress. I would like to see more extracurricular activities, but we can always enroll of children in community activities, so it is really not that big of a deal. Great Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2007

I read the above review and noticed the dates corresponded with past poor leadership. The principal prior to the current one was an absolute nightmare. The atmosphere at Ridge Park is very relaxed for the students but still has structure. The curriculum is appropriate and very college prep. The teachers are proactive with their students. They listen to their students-that comes from my 6th grader. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

For the past two years Mr. King has been principal and has done a great job with the school. My child is in third grade and has only attended this school and we have been very pleased with her education so far. She has learned so much from her teachers and being a very diverse school has and will help her in the future. The kids do have rules to keep their hands to themselves but that is fine with me. My only real concerns are the limited amount of extra curricular activities and having homework most nights. I feel my child is ahead of her peers and is facing the future with the best I can give her. My son will start Kindergarten in the fall too. All day everyday and we can't wait.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

The school has all the academics and morals in place. Please tell me when my children have time to be kids! My son is in first grade and must fold his arms when walking in the hallway. There are strict rules on no talking in the middle school. My fourth grader has the most stressful math! After five years at this school, I must say we are leaving. And yes, the racism is very much alive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

Ridge Park has alot going for it, but the Principal destroys all of that. She is an overall lousy leader. She makes her staff unhappy and they in turn take their frustrations out on the students. I would choose these school only as a last result. My kids hated it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

The staff is impeccable and always friendly! The curriculum is progressive, challenging, yet the children have fun learning. The environment this school provides sends forth outstanding well-round students. My daughter & I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2004

My son is wrapping up his kindergarten year at Ridge Park, and I must say I am very pleased with his academic progress. His teacher looks for ways to challenge students to perform to the best of their abilities. What's more, she spends her time teaching, not disciplining the class. With a uniform policy beginning fall 2004, I think that will only increase.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

I wouldn't have my daughter anywhere else. I love Ridge Park! The staff is exellent, the curriculum non-comparable. My daughter is laerning more than I could ever imagine and is making tons of friends. Thank you Ridge Park!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
0%

2013

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 60% 18%
White 23% 69%
Hispanic 11% 6%
Asian 3% 3%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 178%N/A48%
Female 253%N/A48%
Male 247%N/A52%
Source: 1 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 3:15
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Bob Morgenstein
Fax number
  • (616) 222-0138

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4120 Camelot Ridge Drive Southeast
Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Website: Click here
Phone: (616) 222-0093

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lighthouse Academy
Grand Rapids, MI


Lake Michigan Academy
Grand Rapids, MI


Breton Downs School
Grand Rapids, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT