Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ferry Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2013
- a parent
Ferry has done sooo much more for my child than did her previous school, Richard. She was FINALLY placed in the Magnet program with wonderful Mr. Fisher. She is now HAPPY, is no longer getting bullied and loves school. She has a whole classroom full of friends instead of 3-4. The old school was not able to challenge her, just give her extra on top of the usual. One exception: Mr. Swansey- excellent teacher, understood her capabilities and really challenged her!

Ferry Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2013
- a parent
Ferry is a wonderful school! Excellent Magnet program for 4/5, just a great place to send your child!


Ferry Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
The school is very good and would be great with new leadership. Ferry houses several special educations classes and services; as well as a magnet program. Academic and behavior curriculum is best practices and systematic. Parent power at Ferry is strong. Its PTO is active and parent room helpers are prevalent. The PTO holds plenty of fund raisers and supports many after school celebrations. The PTO will provide a list of tangible outcomes for the funds earned. The principal is nice but lacks true leadership (a new principal would be nice). The teachers are positive, involved and accessible. The kids are typically respectful and playful.

Ferry Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2012
- a teacher
It takes the talents of many dedicated professionals to create the quality learning environment that exists at Ferry School. The teachers, prinicipal, office staff, support staff,and custodial staff take pride in serving the students and parents of Ferry School. The building is maticulously maintained, the teachers are continuosly reflecting on the instruction they provide to meet the individual needs of their students. The principal is the instructional leader of the building and sets high expectations for the instruction our students recieve. There are clear behavior expectations set for the students and a conscious effort is made to acknowledge the behaviors that demonstrate those expectations. When necessary, discipline issues are handled in a manner that supports the District Code of Conduct. It is the dedication of our PTO and the willingness of our staff to go above and beyond that brings the Ferry Family environment to life.

Ferry Elementary School 4

Posted September 10, 2012
- a parent
Oh my, I must disagree a bit with the previous (Feb 2012) post! Ferry is a wonderful school with very dedicated teachers! This is my oldest's last year there and she has had a great experience thus far. No, I am not happy with the Spanish program (I disagree that the kids should lose library time/instruction for it), however, that is a district issue, not just our school. In the September packets, PTO information is included that DOES tell you what the fundraising monies are used for. There are great events for the kids every year- such as the Fall Festival, Santa Dinner, family fun nights, and the Ice Cream Social. Money is used to enhance classroom libraries, the school library, and other great (and often necessary) things. I feel that my kids are receiving an excellent education and elementary experience at Ferry! Both daughter and son have had no problems with any of the teachers or any other students. I haven't noticed many rude or disrespectful students, although I am sure there are some out there, as are everywhere. However, good behavior begins at home! The district did implement a "Keys to Success" program last year that rewards students for doing the right thing.


Ferry Elementary School 3

Posted February 01, 2012
- a parent
The kindergarten teachers seem excellent and they get kids excited about school with lots of fun activities on and off-curriculum. The principal seems to lack organization but is friendly and helpful. The students are learning a little bit of Spanish now, but they are not graded, so they are not very motivated to retain anything. The parents, often fickle and self-centered, seem to have run of the place. If a new teacher doesn't seem wonderful right away, they are gone in a few weeks. Kindness and respect are apparently not taught here from observing kids at the after-school program and on the playground.The teachers do seem happy, with no lack of resources. I would prefer they use proper English more often when speaking and in written homework sheets. The school is constantly doing fundraisers without telling us what the funds will be for, and I have yet to see anything tangible from all that money. Not a bad place. With a good manager, it could turn out more motivated students and better citizens. But I think the parents would protest that, unfortunately.

Ferry Elementary School 1

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
Teachers are older, no young exciting teachers. Teachers are not well equipped to handle boys or any They do not offer differentiated instructions. Poor quality instructional personal. No foreign language offered.

Ferry Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
Our school has a fabulous combination of teachers, administration, and parent involvement. There is a high level of comunication and participation among all. The children have a great set of values from home which leads to a safe, friendly environment. The children learn at their level: grade level, cluster, or magnet programs are available.


Ferry Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 12, 2008
- a parent
Pleasantly surprised with the teaching staff. Talk with the teachers they are great!

Ferry Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2007
- a parent
Ferry's a great school. Attentive faculty and administration. Outstanding parent involvement. Good kids that work hard at academics and extra curr.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ferry Elementary School
748 Roslyn Road, Grosse Pointe Woods, MI  48236
(313) 432-4100
Last modified Ferry Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ferry Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top