Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hillsdale High School

Public | 9-12 | 400 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2013

I attended these schools and now have/had children in Hillsdale Community Schools. Once my children changed schools, it was apparent how little they were learning at Hillsdale. Academically speaking, Hillsdale is very behind and the graduates aren't at the same level as their peers in other states which makes it difficult for them to catch up once transferred. Personally speaking, there are some small minded and shady people in authority there that would never get away with what they do if they were in the "real world" like a larger city or another state. It's a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

As a parent, I am very displeased with the overall atmosphere and learning environment here. Due to their extreme overcrowding, the safety of the school has declined tremendously. A child of mine was robbed right out in front of the school. The administrators have no idea how to operate a school effectively and the counselors are utterly impossible to contact. Since, my children have begun attending Hillsdale High School, their academics have declined and their behaviors have been influenced and compromised. The only positive aspect about Hillsdale is their teachers. I commend the teachers for their hardwork and dedication but I am sorry that I cannot say the same for the administrators that run the school. This will be our last year at this school and our children will be attending the Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

Great Principle Leadership from Mr. Willard and Mr. Beck in Academics and Athletics. School was able to handle my son, an above average student, and make learning a priority, while keeping things 'fun'. Able to create a 'balance' amongst athletics and academics...one of the best orchestra's in the state for jr high and high school students...Not too many palces like Hillsdale where you could play violin one hour, quadractic equations the next, and step onto the field with the state championship baseball team that afternoon. School board and superintendent are hypocrites in many ways...small town, you'll have that. otherwise pretty good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

Both of my daughters graduated from HHS and were well prepared for college. I felt that the staff was caring and the curriculum was challenging. My oldest daughter now has a full scholarship for graduate school due to her academic achievement. I appreciate this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

From an outside view I was very impressed by not only the internal and external appearance of HHS, but just as impressed by the conduct of the students during basketball games in their gym. Hillsdale High School cosmetically looks terrific, clean, freshly painted, the gym shows the pride they have as well as the rest of their sports facilities (school colors everywhere). It is clearly evident that the administration has control of the school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 7, 2006

High graduation rate - low disciplinary problems - students earn millions of dollars is scholarships yearly - great coaches and teachers - best school in the county
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 7, 2006

Hillsdale High school in my opinion is not safe and won't be until the Administration and the School Board begin to follow their own handbook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

Hi, I graduated from HHS several years ago. I felt that the aim of HHS was on ATHLETICS, not education or exposure to cultured activites. HHS did not prepare me for college at all, and I feel as though my time at HHS was like jail. Luckily, I have since moved from Hillsdale to a more cultured area where I get to experience a variety of activities and learn about other things than small-town bumpkinism and 3rd grade general education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 5, 2005

I am very excited to send my child to Hillsdale High School. The staff is highly qualified. Many of the teachers have masters degrees. The facilities have recently been renovated. There is an environment of high expectations for academic excellence including AP programs, a highly developed fine arts program and a thriving after school sports program for boys and girls that includes a state-champion girls cross-country team and several league and district champion teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

We are pleased with Hillsdale High School. Our daughter is a freshman who participates in athletics and concert choir. The choir programs that she has been involved in have been more successful than the athletic teams she has been a part of. As for academics, we have always thought that our daughter has been challenged by the teaching staff in both the middle school and the high school. Her qualification to take the ACT test in both 7th and 8th grade, along with her subsequent scores, reflect the quality of education she has received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

I am a former student of Hillsdale High and I can tell you that athletics was an emphasis for boys. They changed athletic leagues to accomodate the boys. Can't name names. I can say I was not prepared to enter college after their AP classes, with the exception of one class. They have too many 'old school' teachers that need to retire. They were tenured and are so old, I'm quite sure thay have not taken a refresher course in many many years. Administratively they are wishy washy and have no structure. The rules and polcies vary from school to school. The language on the elementary playgroud is unacceptable. Mostly it's a school od who's who in the community. Higher status community members have to much power and adminstration does not take a stand and tell them where their place truly is.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 8, 2004

The best thing I have ever done was to pull my child out of Hillsdale Schools. The emphasis in this school is on athletics--not academics. My child was in numerous AP and talented courses prior to moving from a larger school district to Hillsdale. The administrators and teachers were clueless as what to do with a brilliant student. My child wasn't challenged and went from straight A's to a C/D student. The teachers had no concern for my child and the communication between home and the school was non-existant. I was extremely disappointed in the quality of education provided at this school. After much desperation, I have now placed my child in another school. My child is now an 'A' student again and looking at top-notch colleges to attend. Please consider sending you kids to Jonesville, Reading, or some private school; even homeschool. These are much better options than Hillsdale Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
23%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

92%

Average ACT score

21

Graduation rate

"80"%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 69%
Hispanic 3% 6%
African-American 2% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jeff Terpenning
Fax number
  • (517) 437-0377

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30 South Norwood Ave
Hillsdale, MI 49242
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 439-4320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hillsdale Academy
Hillsdale, MI


Jonesville High School
Jonesville, MI




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT