Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Summit Academy North High School

Charter | 10-12 & ungraded | 698 students

Our school is best known for preparing students for college!

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

I am happy to say that I LOVE Summit! They prepare kids for college, have extremely high standards, and are an extraordinarily safe school! There is no other school I would send my children to!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2014

Summit Academy North High School has been awarded the status of being a "Top 5% Reward School" by the State of Michigan for showing the greatest gains in student achievement. If you want to hold your children to high standards and have them be prepared for college, then Summit if right for you! If you prefer to make excuses for your child, than Summit is not the best place for your child. Have high standards, choose Summit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

Summit Academy High School is the worse environment to place your child especially African American males. There are fears within some leadership and staff that lend itself to personal bias, lack of due process and or unfair/unequal treatment. We have experience as a parents that leadership at this school uses intimidation and discouragement based on their lack of experience outside of the high school environment. We believe that the High School Leadership has a mission which is culturally disastrous for Black males (If you allow it). This "School Environment" de-grates and diminishes hope, and the ability to become outstanding citizens. We have removed our child from Summit Academy North High School and he is on track to attend college this year despite the attempt to demoralize his character and culture. We believe that this experience alone has prepared our son for what the world of hatred and personal bias has to offer. We would never send a child to such an environment in which decisions about the livelihood of students are based solely on personal beliefs and false facts or accusations. This high school does not allow students to respectfully speak up about injustice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I have heard good things about Summit Academy North High School. My son is now in the 8th grade and Summit is our top 5 schools we are considering. In fact a friend of mine, her son is starting Summit this September and she is impress with with the structure.


Posted March 31, 2013

This school is excellent!. The teachers communicate their expectations to the student and keep parents updated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

In the past, Summit was a great school. I've been with Summit from Kindergarten until this year, my senior year. I feel as if Summit is making some choices that are not really based upon parent's and student's wishes. There's still a great group of students and several excellent teachers, but I would evaluate all options before choosing to attend here again (mostly due to bad teacher hiring choices).
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2012

You will not find a better high school no matter how hard you look. The teachers all have a real attitude about making sure the students are learning what they need to in order to advance as productive adults in our community. Keep it up Summit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

I have to say as my child transitioned this year to Summit, I wasn't very impressed. Some teachers are not approachable. They use intimidating tactics towards the students especially when parents address concerns directly. Whats also alarming is that there are no academic counselors that monitors the students progression throughout there schooling. On the good side I love the school's No Excuses policy in which they offer before school and after school tutoring for students. Summit seems to be missing something. My wife and I are looking at other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2011

This is my daughters 3rd year at Summit ... I have loved all of her teachers and think they go above and beyond there job to help the kids .. But the class size is WAY to big... The teachers are overwhelmed but this is NOT the teachers fault... This is the administrations fault !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

I decided to pull my kids from Summit Academy schools because the teacher turn over rate in the high school is too high. I chose another school that has experienced teachers for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

Great learning enviroment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

Wonderful teachers, positive structure, athletics & coaches, strong academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2009

I think the academics at this school needs some work. and so does the athletics but the kids are very nice. they really give u something to look forward to everyday
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2009

I am a parent of a Summit 9th grade student. What I like best about Summit is the commitment the teachers show the students. Students are challenged and have every opportunity to get any extra help they need if they are struggling with a subject. Students are expected to show initiative to arrainge to get that help (ask questions, arrainge to meet with the teacher before or after school.) His teachers have always been willing to spend any extra time they need to with him. Parents can track their students progress through power school. District assessments may be a large portion of a students grade, but I have found that almost always my student 1. knows when the test will be, 2. has been provided with a study guide and 2. has the opportunity to retake the test. Caring teachers have made his transition into high school very smooth. Go Dragons!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

I am a parent of a student that attend this of a school. They care more about the dress code and distrcrit test then they do about the students. My son went from an A+ to an F because of these. Please dont send your son/daughter here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

I loved this school at one time. I have had two children in Summit Academy school. About three years ago they started giving district tests that are teacher created to the students. The district tests are worth half of the students grade. They give six test s throughout the school year. My daughter went from a B to a F because of these tests. What the school does not realize is that other schools' district tests are not worth half of the students' grade. When they fail, it puts Summit's students behind in grade point averages when competing for university acceptance. My question is 'What happened to Summit's philosophy that everyone learns at a different pace? What happened to individualized learning? What happened to multiple intelligences?'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

I honestly love this school I am a Summit Middle school Student, but I sure love Summit. I have learned so much and the teachers work with us, I like the dress-code but its not the teachers fault if the children do not get good grades, its their fault if they dont try. If they have their shirt tucked in then they wont have a problem with the teachers reminding them. The only kids that dont get good grades are the ones that dont try, I think Summit Academy is a great school for me, they teach me all the academics I should know, and I am in 7th grade honors, reading a US History book that my brother had in 10th grade at Romulus High. Go Summit Dragons!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2008

Not what I expected at all, I do not recommended this school. my child did not get the education that she should of gotten, they are more worried about if your shirt stay tuck in then teaching kids..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

I am a student at Summit Academy been going there for two years now and i love it. I am now a senior and quite sad to be leaving. I came from Kennedy and i personal think Summit is way better. I like the staff and i just think it's a good quality school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2008

I give only 2 stars based on quality of education only. Unfortunately, the majority of students at Summit are there because of problems in the public school systems, not for educational excellence. Summit seems to accept any student without considering previous diciplinary problems in the student's record. Summit accepts students from any community, including Detroit. This has led to cultural problems as well. While Summit does have a small percentage of high achieving, academic focused students, it has more than it's share of bad apples discarded from their public school system. Summit has a strict uniform policy, which as a parent, I am fully supportive of. I thought that this would give all children an equal opportunity to be judged as who they actually are, not based on what they are wearing. Unfortunately, this is not the case. ---end part 1----
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
9%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
13%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
28%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students21%
Female16%
Male25%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female69%
Male68%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students21%
Female16%
Male25%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities13%
Students without disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students43%
Female40%
Male46%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities13%
Students without disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students58%
Female63%
Male53%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities19%
Students without disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 69%
African-American 37% 18%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Multiracial 3% 2%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 149%N/A48%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 242%N/A48%
Male 151%N/A52%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Summit Academy North Middle School
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 34% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 65% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Eastern Michigan University
U of M- Dearborn
Wayne State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top 5% Reward School for Student Achievement (2013)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Dance club: Varies
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Flag girls
  • Marching band
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • An abundance of online offerings
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Erin M. Avery
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (734) 955-1737

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • An abundance of online offerings
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Bus Hubs at various locations
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Ice hockey
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Competitive Cheer
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Community service
  • Dance club: Varies
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Flag girls
  • Freshman Academy Honor Society
  • Game club
  • Marching band
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Active Arts and Athletics Boosters
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Summit Academy North Middle School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Eastern Michigan University
U of M- Dearborn
Wayne State University
College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Summer college prep programs
SAT/ACT prep classes
Community college courses
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 34%
4 year college - 65%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18601 Middlebelt Rd
Huron Township, MI 48174
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 955-1730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cornerstone Academy
Riverview, MI


Huron High School
New Boston, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT