Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1764 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 18, 2014

Franklin High School in Livonia Michigan. I support the school and their goals. My child is a freshman so I am still learning about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

I graduated from Franklin in 2010 and am now graduating from the University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) this May with a 3.8, a double major with high honors, and an admirable full time job lined up. Needless to say, I'm doing well. The thing about Franklin is that it is full of academically average and morally misguided kids. The advanced students that rise to the top tend to be tracked together in 4-5 subjects and are largely segregated from the non-advanced population outside of athletics and assorted elective courses (I met some colorful individuals in pleasure reading my senior year...). If you are motivated and intelligent, there is an opportunity for you to meet like minded students and brilliant teachers that will get you where you want to be for the most part. The real challenge is setting the bar high enough for yourself. I came to Michigan way behind my private-school-educated out of state cohorts. Specifically, my analytic reasoning and research design capacities were dismal compared to peers that attended rigorous prep programs. The average kid will be fine at FHS, and the will surely have a shot at state-level college admission. Exceptional kids are on their own.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2013

My first child graduated in 2009, my son-in-law in 2007, and my youngest is now a Junior there. I beleive the school has a strong acedemic prgram and the counselors do a pretty good job in giviing direction, not always but 85% of the time. Teh TEachers are great. there were only a couple that my kids have had that I would say did not do their job. You know the Teachers are making a mark on your children when they come home and talk about them everyday. tehy hace the IB program which is only one of a couple of high schools in Michigan to have this program. Also from what I have heard from my kids, their friends, Teachers, and other paretns from Franklin and other Livonia schools, Franklin has a better focus on enforcing drug policies. I would recommend this high school over the other two in Livnoia any day!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

Franklin has a spirited student council and a large number of students dedicated to the advancement of their class and their school with a disproportionately high number of Advanded Placement students. I have to rate this school as "Excellent"!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

Parents Beware! If your looking for a High School for your child to learn and become a good citizen and be ready for College or the Work Force, Franklin High School isnt the place to send them. Counselors and some Teachers that dont care. They just go thru the motions as if they care, but they dont. Somebody should let them know Teaching is a Career, not a Union Job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

I've been bullied for the past 3 years of my life here at FHS. The kids are bad influences and the principle does not do anything about it. We have fights almost everyday and the hallways are too crowded. They only give you 5 minutes to go to your locker, bathrooms, and get to the other side of the building. The teachers are nice and they are good to talk to, but the students are HORRIBLE!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2011

Not a good school, The teachers are very lazy, The students are just as lazy, This school makes you very depressed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2009

This school is not a very nice school considering that the teachers are too lazy, the student are all too imature and there are too many 'clicks' wich cause lots of critisizm and fights toward other student. by attending this school your self esteem may drop a bit ,but if you are wanting to learn and are driven to being succesfull in school and are not too worried about these situations you will do fairly well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

the staff is great and the Principal is wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

I think Franklin Is Great. Yes there are Fights But what school doesn't have fights. It has an excellent Art Program =D thats my program of choice
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2009

I am an alumni of Franklin and am currently attending the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. The accelerated math and sciences classes do a great job of preparing students for college academics, and the staff at FHS make it a personal endeavor to ensure the success of each student.


Posted March 24, 2009

the scool is great, activitis are amazing, but they charge alot of money to join after school groups that are supposed to be for fun. th school congress has to pay quite a bit. Fight are an issue. atleast a fight a week this year, just a few bad classes. as a student i know alot of people who want to fight and do, and alot of people with drug related activity. it might just have a bad class, but the students are quite immature [70% of them] when it comes to not smoking, drinking or not fighting
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2007

Far and away, this is one of the top high schools in our state! They are the best in Livonia for sure, and rank in the top in all areas of academics, music, sports, rotc, etc. Definately the place you want your child to go to get the best education.


Posted January 25, 2007

My son is a sophomore this year. I love Franklin. I think the teachers are fantastic and his education is on track with the other high schools in the area. I wouldn't even consider changing his school even if we moved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

franklin hschool is a great place to be the staff and students do a great job in making it feel like home. its been the best 4 yrs of my life and i sad to be leaving sighned tiana class of 06
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2006

I am a current studend in FHS. It is a great High School. Most of the teachers are very cool with a lot of fun activitied. I also recommend the excellent NJROTC program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2005

Franklin is a pretty good school, with a solid variety of extracurricular activities that compares with other schools in the district. Although some of its academic classes are less challenging than the other Livonia High Schools, it has fewer kids. On the plus side, Franklin has an excellent art department and its smaller size makes it feel more connected.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2005

I go to Franklin and i love it. Because of the bully program it seems as if we dont have a big bully problem. The teachers really take time to help individuals too. the extracurricular activities are awesome...we have so many to choose from so no matter your intrests there is something for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2005

The art teachers are excellant and very encouraging for the students! I think they are doing a great job! I know they have with my son! He has a great deal of respect for all of them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2004

The second of my three children is now attending Franklin High School. The community and staff is genuinely caring and focused on the success of students. I have found the administration dedicated. One of the reasons we continue to remain in the area is because of the outstanding quality of south Livonia public schools including Franklin High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

446 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
24%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

381 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

89%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

87%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 69%
African-American 7% 18%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Daniel Willenborg
Fax number
  • (734) 744-2657

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

31000 Joy Rd
Livonia, MI 48150
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 744-2655

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mckinley School
Livonia, MI




Cambridge High School
Garden City, MI


Garden City High School
Garden City, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT