Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Simonds Elementary School 5

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
Teachers and staff love the kids and truly want to help them when they can.

Simonds Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
I am thankful to the teachers of Simonds Elementary who volunteer their personal time to make SOS events so special for the kids. It always brings a smile to the kids faces when they see their favorite teachers working at a fundraiser or running a game at fun night.


Simonds Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 03, 2015
- a community member
Our School Secretary is Amazing! I really can't say enough about her. She is kind and loving and treats our students as if they were her own children. When they are sick or hurt she is the best parent stand in you could ask for. She deals with crazy parents who just don't get most things and take their frustration out on her. She is our front line in a crisis and always has our best interest at heart. Krista Nagy you are the BEST!

Simonds Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
All of the teachers at Simonds Elementary truly care for their students. They attend workshops to further their skills and stay current on the latest teaching advancements. They have the kids best interest in their hearts. Teaching is more than just a job for most of them that I have had the privilege to know in the 13 yrs. our family has been a part of the Simonds "family". Simonds teachers are The Best!

Simonds Elementary School 2

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
Moved my child to a different school. Poor test scores, and no sign of a solid curriculum. Just a reading program that doesnt work (look at the test scores). School has a bullying problem thats not properly addressed. Nice teachers and staff but i was dissapointed.


Simonds Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a community member
This school is amazing.The teachers are kind and teach very well.Most of the kids that attend are responsible and work hard.I should know I went there and it is probably the best school in the district.

Simonds Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a community member
Simonds is a wonderful school with excellent academic programs and support. All the teachers are highly qualified and teach the curriculum wth the Common Core standards in mind. They also have an amazing RTI program that gives quality literacy instruction to early learners. I am amazed at how the school goes above and beyond to meet the needs of each child.

Simonds Elementary School 2

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
This has been my experience. I don't look to bash the school. I just don't think it was a fit for my family. Be sure to do your own research about the school before admitting your child. Pros: The fundraisers are elaborate and a lot of money is raised for the school during the year. The Parent/Teacher organization is very active and really supports the school. When asked to volunteer and donate, the parents are very generous. Most staff are very friendly Cons: The reading and math test scores are really low. The structure of the curriculum did not help foster my child's strengths and did little help for my child's challenges My child's class did not use textbooks. The worked from worksheets and the children did not com home with any daily lessons/notes they learned from school. The support the school provides for children who need help with reading does not seem to help much A parent needs to reach out the teachers for feedback about their children. There does not seem to be any consequences for bad behavior. The leadership of the principal is poor It is not clear how much of fundraiser money goes directly to support academically


Simonds Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2008
- a parent
I love the school its a great school and my son is in the 5th grade there and he is doing so well since we move to the lamphere school district his teacher and good and very warm and nice and i appreciate all that they do for my son.

Simonds Elementary School 4

Posted June 12, 2007
- a parent
I love the schools small class sizes. I wish they had more to offer in the way of gym, art,(They only get art about once a month or less) music, etc. Also wish they had a gifted and talented program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Simonds Elementary School
30000 Rose Street, Madison Heights, MI  48071
(248) 547-5292
Last modified Simonds Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Simonds Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top