Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
5-6
Public
Meridian Charter Township, MI

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kinawa School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a community member
My school kinawa middle school is the best school ever the teachers are really nice and so are the students!!!!

Kinawa School 5

Posted May 19, 2012
- a community member
Great school and curriculum! Extra help is ALWAYS provided. Fun after school activities. Just wonderful.


Kinawa School 2

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
Test scores are good, but that's due as much to demographics and parental education as anything happening in the classroom. The administrators are lazy and "too busy" to meet with parents. Interpersonal issues between kids (e.g., bullying) are not addressed without significant parental follow-up. The teachers teach to the bottom of the class, presumably for test-score purposes, and blame "administrative requirements" for their unwillingness to step things up for more accelerated students. We've had children as students in the district for over a decade, and have noted a marked deterioration in the quality and leadership capabilities of the administrators in the last several years.

Kinawa School 1

Posted March 20, 2012
- a parent
I being a parent HATE this school, teachers are horrible, principal does nothing all day and lots of homework

Kinawa School 5

Posted December 23, 2011
- a parent
I have a well behaved, intelligent child. I find the curriculum to be appropriate and the teachers, for the most part, to be highly motivated and caring. I do not think the homework is excessive or problematic. My child is safe and comfortable in the Kinawa setting. There is always room for improvement, but I do not see any major flaws with this school.


Kinawa School 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Kinawa School 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Bullying is not addressed by the principal or the staff.

Kinawa School 1

Posted February 12, 2010
- a parent
The homework piled upon the children is extreme. The children leave the school looking exhausted. I would not recommend this school if you are concerned with your child's psychological well-being.


Kinawa School 5

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
School has a Montessori Middle School. Challenges students. Friendly atmosphere

Kinawa School 1

Posted April 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kinawa School
1900 Kinawa Drive, Meridian Charter Township, MI  48864
(517) 706-4700
Last modified Kinawa School is a Public school that serves grades 5-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kinawa School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top