Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
5-6
Public district
Meridian Charter Township, MI
Students enrolled: 616
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kinawa School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a community member
My school kinawa middle school is the best school ever the teachers are really nice and so are the students!!!!

Kinawa School 5

Posted May 19, 2012
- a community member
Great school and curriculum! Extra help is ALWAYS provided. Fun after school activities. Just wonderful.


Kinawa School 2

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
Test scores are good, but that's due as much to demographics and parental education as anything happening in the classroom. The administrators are lazy and "too busy" to meet with parents. Interpersonal issues between kids (e.g., bullying) are not addressed without significant parental follow-up. The teachers teach to the bottom of the class, presumably for test-score purposes, and blame "administrative requirements" for their unwillingness to step things up for more accelerated students. We've had children as students in the district for over a decade, and have noted a marked deterioration in the quality and leadership capabilities of the administrators in the last several years.

Kinawa School 1

Posted March 20, 2012
- a parent
I being a parent HATE this school, teachers are horrible, principal does nothing all day and lots of homework

Kinawa School 5

Posted December 23, 2011
- a parent
I have a well behaved, intelligent child. I find the curriculum to be appropriate and the teachers, for the most part, to be highly motivated and caring. I do not think the homework is excessive or problematic. My child is safe and comfortable in the Kinawa setting. There is always room for improvement, but I do not see any major flaws with this school.


Kinawa School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Bullying is not addressed by the principal or the staff.

Kinawa School 1

Posted February 12, 2010
- a parent
The homework piled upon the children is extreme. The children leave the school looking exhausted. I would not recommend this school if you are concerned with your child's psychological well-being.

Kinawa School 5

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
School has a Montessori Middle School. Challenges students. Friendly atmosphere


Kinawa School 5

Posted April 11, 2008
- a parent
Kinawa is an amazing middle school. The teachers are kind, the course work challenging, high end science with daily labs work, computer centers, and a wonderful music program. The school is fun with social events, tons of school spirit, and a challenging but fun gym class daily. The gym teachers are motivational and kind. One of my children has been ill and all of her teachers were concerned with the gym teacher modifying their program for her, both of my girls went through a family tragedy but gym, the compassionate teachers, and their friends carried them through it. The middle school offers two periods during the day to take different elective classes from giving to those in our community to video production. I love their school but most importantly my two girls love it and want to be there even when things are tough. What more could a parent ask for?!

Kinawa School 5

Posted March 05, 2008
- a student
Kinawa is an amazing school. Even though it's not in the best of shape, it has a great atheletic program and an outstanding music program. This school also houses one of the most advanced video production labs in the state (for middle schools that is). Although this school has a reputation of having rich kids that are mean and snobby, most of the kids are nice, friendly, and easy to get along with, even if you're a new student (I was one). The teachers are fenomenal, they do a fantastic job of teaching and making things easy to understand for the students and stil manage to maintain a sense of humor. If you ever have had some interest of sending your child to this school you should definitly look into it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kinawa School
1900 Kinawa Drive, Meridian Charter Township, MI  48864
(517) 706-4700
Last modified Kinawa School is a Public school that serves grades 5-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kinawa School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top