Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Stepping Stones

Private | K-5 | 117 students

Our school is best known as the purest Montessori and for our music programs.
 
 

 
 

Living in Mount Clemens

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $53,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2013

Montessori Stepping Stones is the epitome of a great school. Inspired leadership overseas every detail, from a beautiful facility to a rich curriculum to a teaching team that motivates excellence. Our experience with this school spans 7 years and two children. Our oldest continues to reap the rewards of self-discipline and motivation that are so integral to this school s program. He is an avid reader and excellent student overall. We credit his public speaking ability to his many positive experiences on stage participating in the school s exceptional arts curriculum. Our youngest child is also currently enjoying an experience at this school as unique as herself. Academics are customized and paced for individual needs always with an eye toward personal bests. Both of our very different children have done so well at this one-of-a-kind school thank you Montessori Stepping Stones!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

By visiting MSS, you will find an authentic Montessori school! The environment is designed to meet the needs, interests, abilities, and development of the children in the class. The teachers design and adapt the environment with this community of children in mind, rapidly modifying the selection of educational materials available, the physical layout, and the tone of the class to best fit the ever-changing needs of the children. Within this Montessori program, children progress at their own pace, moving on to the next step in each area of learning as they are ready. Each student is viewed as a universe of one. That is (among so many other reasons) why we love this school and believe that this is the perfect place for our 4th grader son to become a competent and independent human being who will have the potential to achieve all his goals in life with the greatest support and encouragement from the program as well as from the teachers. The curriculum is international in its heritage and focus, and consciously seeks to promote a global perspective. I highly recommend this school for everyone who would like to enroll a child (from infant through elementary) to an excellent program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

Montessori Stepping Stones has a staff of excellent teachers who follow the unique needs of each individual child. All of the programs are run with true Montessori philosophy. Both of my children have attended this school since they were infants. The academics, leadership, philosophy, staff, campus, and atmosphere are truly superior!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

Great school! Certified, highly qualified, caring, loving teachers and safe and prepared environment! My son attends the school, we absolutely love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

I am a former student of this school and am now sending my 3 children there. I beleive that this is the best choice I could make for my children academically. The staff is highly qualified and teach the children a challenging curriculum in a true Montessori environment. I beleive a good education is really important and I would highly reccomend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

This school is amazing and has the best teachers/staff. My daughter has attended two Montessori schools and this one surpasses them all. The teachers really care about my daughter and have taken their personal time to help her. They focus on the whole child and are developmentally on target and hold realistic goals for each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

I researched and visited many Montessori Schools in the area before selecting one. I found Montessori Stepping Stones to have the best teaching staff (they don't have assistants, most of their teachers are Montessori trained) and they actually teach the Montessori Curriculum that I learned when I was in school. I am so happy with our son's progress and his development. I know I made the right decision to send him here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

my son went here for 2 years of preschool. The education is not great. He was behind by the time he went to Kindergarten. He was not taught sounds or writing. They seem to focus on the children AFTER they complete preschool. Probably because after preschool the tuition skyrockets. I wasted a lot of money and time sending my son here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2005

Great, intelligent staff. Positive atmosphere but you pay generously for this privilege. Prices have been on a steady increase. But overall great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2004

The student to teacher ratio is correct, in Kindergarten mine had 13 to 2! Great school! teachers are wonderful, true Montessori environment. My children love school, love their teachers and are very intelligent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 69%
African-American 19% 19%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Performing arts
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Opera
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Sewing/knitting club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Diane Aitken
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (586) 783-9412

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Performing arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Opera
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • First Aid
  • Gardening
  • Girls Growing Up
  • Hiking
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$2000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
DHS

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
International Academy
Parkway Christian School
Public
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

174 Cass Ave
Mount Clemens, MI 48043
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 465-4260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Mary School
Mount Clemens, MI



Prevail Academy
Mount Clemens, MI



St Mary Catholic School
Mount Clemens, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT