Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Abbott Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 693 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 29, 2013

I am so glad that my son is going to Abbott. They are very education focused and i love the fact that they teach kids to be friendly and cool and not bullies
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2013

Try as they might this school just cannot assimilate the huge influx of kids from the crumbling Pontiac school system. One look at that 6 out of 10 GreatSchool Rating tells the story. That score was 9 out of 10 until this year. Too many incoming students with an academic history that does not include classroom behavior modification. How can a teacher teach the students that want an education when a third of the classroom is comprised of troublemakers? I moved to West Bloomfield from Detroit 6 years ago solely to get my kids into a better school system. Looks like I'll be moving again very soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

This is a good school. I'm glad my kids attended. I was glad they pushed the theater/choir program. It helped my kids improve their self confidence in front of different groups of people. Abbott's diversity is a great asset! I really believe that my kids are well rounded from meeting other kids from other backgrounds. Excellence is expected at Abbott and pushes the kids to believe in themselves. It is evident in the kids that come out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

It used to be a good school, then they changed the princile and layed off many teachers... Unfortunately my child got a lot of negative experience from tired, not caring techers. however the orchestra programm is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2009

This school is indeed in a district that has a reputation for producing good schools. With the addition of the Schools of Choice program, the district has increased diversity within its student population; however, no diversity exists in the teaching staff. The minority population at the school lags behind others in academic performance, and no evidence exists demonstrating an effort to bridge this gap. The SOC program has helped the district gain funding during these times of financial restrictions, but the district needs to do more in training all staff in dealing with students of all ethnicities. Staff is quick to label students with impairments instead of differentiating instruction in a manner that will foster success for each student. Potentially, the school can be excellent, but all staff needs to recognize areas in need of assistance and seek out making those adjustments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

Abbott is a terriffic school with very dedicated teachers. The music and theater programs are top notch. Our family is very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

has alot of bullying and name calling from other students to students. Needs to address the issue of bullying and apply appropriate discipline for children who act out on these issues!


Posted April 16, 2005

My son is currently attending Abbott and I think this was one of the best choices I could of made. The teachers show great concerns. I must say that Mrs. Thrift reading teacher is terrific!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2004

Even though I'm not a parent I'll say some words. Abbott's a great school. We have great teachers that take great responsibility to teach us. I love it! -Maggie-
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2004

The teachers are nice. It is safe. and good performers. good sport system. we are the best. 'Abbot you know Eagles.'
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2004

This is a very good school. Not only do the teachers have a very well-rounded curriculum, but they are very good at handling any situation that students may encounter during the middle school experience. The Administration is effective, as well as the counsling staff. There are excellent teachers, and the overall experience of Abbott Middle School was overwhelmingly outstanding.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 27, 2004

I think this was a great school. The people were very outgoing. THe teachers are terrific.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

215 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

216 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

222 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

220 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

220 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

224 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

227 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 69%
African-American 17% 18%
Asian 6% 3%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Amy Hughes
Fax number
  • (248) 865-3671

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3380 Orchard Lake Rd
Orchard Lake, MI 48324
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 865-3670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Our Lady Of Refuge School
Orchard Lake Village, MI


West Hills Middle School
West Bloomfield, MI




Orchard Lake Middle School
West Bloomfield, MI


Learning Circle Academy
West Bloomfield, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT