Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 767 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

Overall, East is a pretty pathetic situation. I've been attending since sixth grade (this is my eighth grade year), and since then, the conditions have gotten progressively worse. A once thriving student council program is now nonexistent. Students are never sure who their counselor will be, since there are different ones every year and almost always different substitutes that know nearly nothing. The eighth grade class goes on a trip to Cedar Point for a day, while other schools in the district go to places like New York City or Washington D.C. for nearly a week. There are few leadership opportunities for students, especially TAG students. As the TAG school, it's rather sad how careless some (not all) of the teachers are. Some take months to grade an essay, and others seem to forget that school starts at 7:58 and walk in ten minutes late pretty regularly. The administration is rather reactive instead of proactive, especially when dealing with disciplinary issues. Students are often punished for small things like having a phone ring in class, but bullying is pretty much scoffed at and is rarely a reason for punishment. I'll be happy to leave East.


Posted July 21, 2010

DON'T GO HERE! This is probably the worst middle school in the whole state of michigan! I was a student there, and I was bullied, and the teachers didn't care one bit, even when i complained to the office. Most of the teachers were good but there were some horrible teachers that didn't teach anything, like Mrs. Spino (tag 8 english).Another not so great teacher was Mr.Karboske (band teacher), he was probably the worst band teacher because he discouraged me from playing a musical instrument and he never taught anything. I was in the TAG program and most of it was good but the teachers could definitely use some improvement. If you are in TAG, its ok, but for 8 grade english and social studies, I reccomend not being in the tag program and instead take normal classes (Mr.Olsezwiski for SS is amazing, b/c he's an amazing teacher).


Posted November 20, 2009

i'm a student at erast middle school.and i love it. my mother dont have any problems as in. student behaveir,teacher or princible problems, or any thing alse. also this school has graet oppertoniteis for your child.you won't have to deal with any problems their at east middle school.if you send your child to east middle school you and your child would love it.so take it from me send your child. thank you!!!!!.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

I am a student at East Middle School and this is my last year here. The first year at East was amazing. My mom says she can remember me coming home and bragging about how much better it was then elementary school. Since then though, we have gotten a new principle and things have gone downhill since then. Now, when one kid, or a group of kids do something wrong, the entire grade and/or school gets punished. My sisters and I are very respectful towards our principals and teachers, so we don't understand why we get punished too. Also, since our new principal came, most of the teachers seem more miserable, and they too are punishing every one, instead of just punishing those doing wrong. And it's not like they don't know who the troublemakers are either. They do know, but still choose to let everyone suffer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2007

I used to be a stydent at this school. This school is great but I have been to better schools. The school could be better if it had more apertunaties for the students
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2007

Amazing school! Wonderful teachers, and amazing programs! Many of the teachers do send home homework, but that's part of middle school! My T.A.G. child has around 5 hours of homework in 8th grade, and if another younger student in a younger grade needs help, she tutors them! Great school, and some of the best teachers!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 20, 2006

I went to this school and thought that it was wonderful! Who every wrote the previous comment doesn't realize that many music programs along with many other electives are available besides just art and gym. I was in choir for all three years and learned a lot. Throughout my years besides just choir, I also had Life Management, Art, Health, Science Exploritory, Reading Workshop, Spanish, and Undercover with reading. I had a wonderful experience and was also put in an advance math class. The teachers are great and the school was like my second family.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 22, 2006

We are very disappointed with the leadership and teaching at East Middle School. My 6th grader has struggled greatly this year. He has been belittled by one of his instructors. He has another that apparently yells at the kids much of the time and has difficulty controlling her temper. The pricipal and district administration try to paint over the issues with false promises of doing better. Some other things to consider. 1) Not much work gets done in class. My child spends a lot of time aseembling 'binders', which are substitutes for textbooks. They don't even preassemble them. 2) There are many teachers that prefer to send work that should be done in class home as homework. Sometimes 2-3 hours. I feel as though I am home schooling my kid. 3) No band / music. Only one semester a year of Phy Ed. split with one of art.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

East Middle School is Truly an institute of Higher Learning! Mrs. Svoboda gives my child, who can be a handful at times, the guidance and support that is making this year a successful year!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

273 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

283 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

239 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

237 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

239 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

255 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

254 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

257 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 69%
Asian 19% 3%
African-American 14% 18%
Multiracial 4% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Scott Burek
Fax number
  • (734) 416-4949

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1042 South Mill St
Plymouth, MI 48170
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 416-4950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





West Middle School
Plymouth, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT