Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pontiac High School

Public | 9-12 | 1409 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2005

I am a student That attends PNHS in i love it. it is a nice school the teacher are great and i learn alot. it is very differt from junior high school.it is alot going on you are indroduce to alot of people and differnt cultures. it is a very diverse school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2005

i am a student at Pontiac Northern High school, and i feel as though this school is just not the place for a child who is trying to stay focused and worry about what they will do after high school. There are major problems in classes such as kids blazin each other(playig the dozens), people stealing, fighting. There are ways around the problems after all nobody forces a child to pay attention but however it is a very big distraction. The only good experience i have at Northern is the Police Acadamy Program, in which i stayed in for a year. Im happy to say i will be leaving Northern after 2 years there for a better school for football.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2005

I'm a current student at Pontiac Northern.I feel that the things they place emphasis on are not the things that are of importance.There are very few teachers that take their jobs seriously and try to teach the students. I feel that if I could go back and rechoose to stay within the district or go out the district to go to school, I would choose to go out of the district in a heartbeat.The only reason that I am now at the point I am at is because of the strong influences my father has instilled in me since I was young.The only reason I probably am not changing schools is because of the lack of knowing someone that stays out of district so I can use there address and because I'm a junior and I don't want to mess up my credits.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2005

As a student at pontiac northern high school i feel that im not safe, not being challenged enough and not being appreciated. The teachers show no respect towards us as young adults or future doctors, lawyers or teacher let along principals. A person will never learn to do right if they're being taught wrong. I feel like the teachers are acting like children they're selfs. Not all teachers are shameless. I blame my mother and the school principal and school board. But luckily i have a dream. My mom always wanted the best for me a i plan to show her that its not her fault. I will acheive greatness without the help of certain school officals.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2005

Sad to say, Pontiac School system has went downhill. The kids aren't trying to learn, & the teachers are only there for a paycheck. We need teachers to go back to the ole' skool way of teaching, where they actually cared about the well being of children. Teachers, I know you're not there to babysit our children, but you are there to teach them, stop letting the children run your classrooms, and you as the adult, take charge. It's sad. I have a freshman daughter that attends Northern, and she can barely multiply or spell. Because of the teachers lacking of their responsibilities, I have to come home from work, and try and teach her what she lacking to receive in school. it's really sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2004

I am a class of 2004 student. I feel as if the school just wnats to see the students get out. ready or not. When teachers are giving you the questions to the exams, and not teaching, but they would rather talk on the phone the whole class hour, somethings wrong. I feel as if I am very behind and have to work alot harder then the rest of my fellow students, because of the education that i have recieved at pontiac northern high school. Math and English are the biggest problems that majority of the students have when coming out of northern. Sadly to say I am one of them.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 2, 2004

I was a student at Pontiac Northern and graduated in the year of 2000, I really disliked comming to highschool everyday. I feel like now at college (western michigan university) i must work so much harder then other students due to my poor education i got at pontiac northern.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

I went to this school and so did my children. They got a fine education as I was an involved parent. If you are involved, your kids will get a good education in Pontiac.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
6%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
3%

2011

 
 
2%

2010

 
 
1%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
12%
Science

The state average for Science was 26% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
1%

2012

 
 
2%

2011

 
 
2%

2010

 
 
1%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 38% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
6%

2010

 
 
3%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 50% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
8%

2010

 
 
8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

82%

Average ACT score

14

Graduation rate

63%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
African-American 72% 18%
Hispanic 17% 6%
White 7% 69%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Burdena Johnson
Fax number
  • (248) 451-7321

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1051 Arlene Ave
Pontiac, MI 48340
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 451-7315

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Heritage Christian School
Auburn Hills, MI


Havenwyck School
Auburn Hills, MI


Kennedy Center
Pontiac, MI


Gull Lake Virtual School
Auburn Hills, MI


Oakland Christian School
Auburn Hills, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT