Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Romeo Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 512 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2014

Awesome school! Teachers (9/10) offer support above and beyond what I would call teacher responsibility. My child is offered extra help when needed. Curriculum is offered and tailored to your child's abilities with excelled programs. School is on top of bullying and they utilize a lock-door system for extra safety. Wonderful school and superb staff !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

I feel like earlier reviewers (2004) were talking about a different school entirely from the one my child is attending now, in 2012. This middle school's strength is, in a single word, CONSISTENCY. Every class has the same grading policy, the same late work policy and procedure, and the same policy and procedure for handling absentee work. These policies are tough, but it has been great for my very scatterbrained child not to have to figure out 7 different systems for 7 different classes. He has learned that he alone needs to make sure that his work is in (and on time), as no one is there reminding him, asking him for it, or otherwise giving him the impression that a deadline is negotiable. He will go to high school well prepared. Some of the teachers are excellent (so grateful my son had Mr. Wenz in 6th and Mr. Tebeau in 8th for math!) and some aren't so great (like the phys ed teacher who makes snide, joking comments about fat kids), but I would guess that is true in any building. I would say that most of the teachers are caring and try their best to understand their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2011

Many of the teachers are good, some are not. The older teachers seem to be the best, I think the younger ones are like robots... "if you do A, then you'll get B" without looking at each person independently. My son struggled since 1st grade. I think the poor quality of schooling in grades K-5 affected my son in middle school. My son was recommended to be held back in 6th grade. If I disagreed with this recommendation, then there was a form that I had to sign. I did, however, agree to hold my son back & my son thought it was best too. Then, on the first day of school, the Asst. Principle saw that I did't sign the form. The Asst. Principle signed the form instead and my son went on to 7th grade, against my wishes. He is now 19. He struggled to graduate. He went to community college for a year, then enrolled in the military. I have a younger son who is now in Kindergarten. We drive him to a Warren Consolidated School, which seems much better much than the Romeo school district lower grades. I do like the Romeo high school. I don't care how the teachers dress, or talk, as long as their hearts are in the right place. Sometimes tough language can get a kids attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

I don't get why so many people are saying that teachers dress inappropriately because they have never worn anything bad because they dress like a normal person, and if your complaining that your child isn't getting good grades don't whine because your child isn't smart enough for this school Because most kids are getting high grades.. Teachers have NEVER used any fowl language that I have heard. Great school overall and is very fun to attend. Also i think that the school is great on discipline and the extra curricular activities are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2009

This school is amazingly fun and the teachers rock.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2009

I am attending this school and I find it to be great. I'm not sure why people are saying teachers dress inapproitally because they dress just like any body else. The best thing about this school is the teachers. They are so nice and they will actually talk to you like a person. I think I could find them as a friend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2008

We moved from Howell a year ago. Romeo Schools are very disapointing.The school says it normal for an a/b student to now get d/f's in 6th grade.What wrong with this picture? We have had meetings with the teachers.They have no clue on how to handle school bullies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

I used to go to this school. The teachers do NOT dress innapropriately, they dress CASUALLY, but not innapropriately. Teachers speak to students like people, not like just students. The teachers also have PERSONALITIES. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2006

My son goes to Romeo and i think it is a wonderful school and hometown community! This schools sports programs are amazing! especially their basketball and football which have mainly been undefeated for the last few years. Their grades are also wonderful too. The teachers and members inside the building are very curtious and kind. The kids pass a great atmosphere around the school (maybe revolves a little to much around sports) but still great to see everyone treating each other with respect!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2005

We've had a wonderful experience so far at RMS. We have 2 children currently attending, both doing very well. The teachers are willing to keep parents informed, as long as the parents take the time to 'be there' for their kids. The principal does what he feels is best for the kids and we feel that our children are safe. As for the dress, my children have learned more from the newer teachers in the trendy fashions than they have from some of the others. We teach our kids to see beyond a person's looks, don't forget that. Our advice, stop complaining and get involved in your child's education - it makes a big difference!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2004

I think its very easy for people who can remain nameless to rip the school district and schools. Its easy to sit here and throw stones but if you are so concerned about dress, professionalism of teachers, and doing extra, then get invovled and change things. Get off your butts and do something, rather than sit at your computer and complain!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

The state of this school is nothing more than sad. If I could move or afford a private school I would do so in a heartbeat! We discuss school uniforms but find the teachers in mini skirts or sweat pants. My kids know more about their teachers personal lives than my own. Either the teachers are so old they even tell the kids they have tenure so they're just waiting for retirement or they seem to still be in high school with the same viewpoints! The principal will tell you to your face that he is there to enforce rules. I'm so glad to hear he's there for the kids. Is your child gifted? Not here-that=problem kid for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

So far my son has had a positive review of the school after all the gossip loaded into his head by other parents and students. He was initially terrified of starting in the middle school but welcomes the day to go there now. He is adjusting great to the teachers as well as other students. I have heard nothing good about the middle school myself but can only attest to my sons experience which has been pleasing so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2004

Romeo Middle School has disappointed me greatly. Some of the teachers are helpful and seem concerned about the kids learning, but most aren't. Many are rude to parents and kids alike. The Asst Principal is unfriendly and unpersonable. Teachers don't seem to like their jobs. Teachers use fowl language in their classrooms. They regularly wear blue-jeans.Most don't teach anymore than required. They pass out worksheets, but do not correct errors. My son hasn't learned anything in 2 years. The teachers and the Asst. Principal are more concerned with informing parents about talking in class than they are with informing parents about missing homework, or poor performance. I'm extremely worried the kids will not be ready for the ACT or SAT. For the sake of my child's and society's future, we must leave the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2004

Parents are encourage to 'let their child fail' when they are struggling. The teachers do not dress professionally and I've heard words used by the teachers and coaches that should not be allowed. When a child is absent, it may take days to get their missing homework assignments, and then the child is bombarded with so much work, it is difficult to get in done in the allotted time they get zero credit for it. When a child is doing poorly, it should reflect on the teacher...not the 'attitude' of the student. I'm sick of teachers not taking responsibility. Also, the principal and his assistant principal are often rude. I moved here expecting a great school district. What a dissappointment! I certainly hope the high school is better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2004

The teachers at this school have seem to adopt an attitude of not caring about their students. Good teachers are few and far between in this district. I am sorry that I moved to this area and that my child has such uncaring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

186 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

187 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

189 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 69%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Multiracial 2% 2%
African-American 1% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Brad Martz
Fax number
  • (586) 752-0256

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

297 Prospect St
Romeo, MI 48065
Phone: (586) 752-0240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Powell Middle School
Washington, MI





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT