Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Saline High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1822 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 20, 2014

Saline High School is one of the top ranked schools in the state of Michigan. The staff is willing to help at a moments notice, the principals are wonderful, welcoming and always set a high standard. The student's are supportive, bright and willing to learn. Our girls are more than properly prepared for college thanks to this amazing high school experience. We have moved several times and have found Saline Area Schools to be by far the best district our children have had the great opportunity to attend. Thank you SAS, Jennifer Leathers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

As a recent graduate, I cannot say enough about how much I loved my time here! Reading other reviews, I was so surprised - I think there will always be those who don't mesh with the teachers or administration, but overall Saline always seemed to me like one of the happiest places, and new students always seem to fit right in. The academics are exceptional, and each teacher seems to genuinely care about his or her students (the AP teachers are especially brilliant and innovative). I felt engaged and challenged academically, but the rigor always had purposeful, real-world applications. Going into college, I feel much more prepared than students from other schools. I was most involved in the music department, the sports programs (plug: do cross country!!), and various service clubs, and all of these were top-notch. Walking through the hallways each day, I really did just feel so blessed, amazed by the state-of-the-art culinary kitchen, auto garage, pool, football field, cafe, school store, library, TV studio... Saline is truly an amazing place, and I was lucky to have attended.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2013

Being a part of Saline High School not only gave me one of the best opportunities to learn and to expand my education, but it also helped me grow as an individual and use resources to make connections that I probably couldn't have been able to make if I were to live or attend school elsewhere. Not all, but some take advantage of the fact that we are blessed to have such a school which allows us to learn about further opportunities outside of high school. For example, I've been in several classes which have allowed past students, guests, educators, and even military recruiters to come in and speak with us about education and career opportunities. For my case, my special experience was meeting and discussing with a Navy recruiter what options I had towards joining one of the best military branches. As it turns out, I, an enlisted female, will be coming back with a Navy recruiter after graduation to discuss with and educate one of my past classes. I feel honored. So, thank you, Saline High School, for being the best high school in our nation. Your opportunities and education benefits are appreciated for giving me such a privilege!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2013

The high school's academics are tough- but only if you take courses designated to test yourself. If you are looking for the reputation Saline has for its academics, then you should have your child take our honors and AP classes, otherwise you will find the curriculum as a whole extremely lacking. Furthermore, if you are a new student, you will find the culture of Saline very cold and aloof. It is very hard for new students to make friends and unless you are in an after school activity then you will struggle with acclimation. However, once you have found a group of people, you can find the atmosphere very welcoming. It just take awhile to acclimate yourself to the culture. The people are somewhat rude, very unfriendly, and homogenous, but if you can get past this and stick your neck out then you will find your experience pleasant. All in all the school is what you make of it. If you dont want to challenge yourself and stick your neck out, you will find yourself lost and upset with the school. Also if you are moving in I STRONGLY recommend you to join a group and/or sport. It is really the only way to get into the somewhat privative social scene. The school isn't great, but ok.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2012

This is the perfect school for you if you are the perfect, white, sport loving, academic minded family. Teachers and admins rule the roost and parent/student voices do not hold much weight. Classrooms are very traditional with lots of sitting and listening to lectures. They do nothing in the way of team building and teaching respect for others. Saline High School makes learning a chore with lots of busy work and meaningless lesson plans and in no way do they make learning challenging and fun. I graduated from SHS as did my son and we both felt it was like a prison. My son is an excellent student and is in college now, but came to Saline after being at the wonderful Honey Creek Charter School where kids voices matter and the learning environment is challenging and fun. He left there with such high self esteem only to have it crushed by the cold atmosphere of Saline High School. Think twice about going if you want your child to be respected and have a wonderful learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2011

Saline schools are full of the "good old boys club mentality" right down to the core. Academics=busy work. Few care if your kid doesn't fit in-SHS was like a prison for our kids and lacks diversity in almost every way possible. There are good qualities in Saline but the worst quality of the school system is arrogance and an ego that eclipses the blaring need for diversity in every area a human being can be diverse. In our experience-the staff is never wrong when you make a complaint. Period. If you like a homogenous 1 size fits all conform or get out of town mentality then you will love Saline. the High School was one of the worst experiences for our kids ever. NO DIVERSITY. Too much emphasis on sports and not on being a good human being and respecting differences in others. The academics are over touted and the sports are all that matters with the pervasive "we are number 1" mentality we grew to despise. Many people forget there is a great big world out there full of DIVERSITY. A warm community welcomes you-not shouting: stay out if you don't conform. Saline has a long way to go-about 2 decades IMO. If people say, "if you don't like it leave" there's your answer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2011

Music and cross country programs outstanding. School culture is that it is cool to be smart, and kind. Many strong academic performers and AP programs. Many students gain admission to highly selective colleges, including (the most recent class), dozens to U of M, plus MIT, Stanford, U of Chicago, Princeton. May seem cliquey to outsiders, but mainly because most kids have grown up together. Many highly scheduled kids - new kids should join a sport or band to make friends. English department has a few excellent teachers but a few downright incompetent ones. Athletics are sometimes over-emphasized. Excellent tech programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Saline excels in academics and athletics. Three state titles have been won this year, and it seems as though every year more than one person gets a 36 on the ACT. The teachers definitely care about the students, but the administration... the administration cares a about money much more than the students. The counselors aren't truly that helpful, as there are about 450 students per counselor. The math, science and social studies programs are exceptional, as well as the marketing and tech programs, but it seems as if half the English teachers are functionally illiterate. There isn't a lot of bullying, as most people mind to themselves. There isn't a huge party scene at Saline, but pot is easy easily acquirable. AP classes prepare one especially well for the exams, and test scores are pretty high. Also, the music department is phenomenal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2010

Saline excels in academics and athletics. Three state titles have been won this year, and it seems as though every year more than one person gets a 36 on the ACT. The teachers definitely care about the students, but the administration... the administration cares a about money much more than the students. The counselors aren't truly that helpful, as there are about 450 students per counselor. The math, science and social studies programs are exceptional, as well as the marketing and tech programs, but it seems as if half the English teachers are functionally illiterate. There isn't a lot of bullying, as most people mind to themselves. There isn't a huge party scene at Saline, but pot is easy easily acquirable. AP classes prepare one especially well for the exams, and test scores are pretty high. Also, the music department is phenomenal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

This school is geared toward those who invest their time in academics and are academically above average. Those who fall below average need to be a squeaky wheel to get what they need. The help is there, it just won't be thrown in your direction. The school places a lot of emphasis on sports and excels in several of them. Their music program is phenomenal. The facilities are top notch (and should be for the price we paid for the school and the taxes we pay to support it). No school can lump their teachers into one category as they are all human and everyone is different. We have had excellent teachers, as well as a few who should look into other career fields. However the good far outnumber the bad. Open house student conferences are worthless. If there is a problem call your teacher for a private appointment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

Saline High School it is far from what it seems in the outside. Academics are exceptional-- if you're an excellent student. Most classes are full with 35 students. Individualized help is hard to come across. Teachers will not reach out to students unless the student approaches the teacher. Teaching styles vary greatly from teacher to teacher, as does the curriculum. Athletics are heavily emphasized. Coaches can be controlling of student's lives, banning athletes from school football games, dances, and activities. Most students participate in a sport. Social life can be stressful. Saline is very clique-y. Racial jokes are common in conversation. There is a rule banning cell phone use, but most teachers and students ignore it. Overall, the school has an air of aloofness around it-- the students and faculty seem to consider themselves better than other schools in the area. Bright spots include the music, art, and English programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2009

Graduated 2007 and hated every minute here the school looks clean and perfect on the outside but being a student at this school is a real treat. If you don't have a love of acidemics and want to be on the honor roll then you get left to fend for yourself and not get much help. The school loves to project a perfect image of itself no matter what the cost to students.


Posted April 18, 2008

Heavy on sports. Good counsellors. Responsive teachers (when contact is initiated by parents). Awesome art department and AP art program. Strong music. Cliques. Beautiful facility. Lots of community support. Safe. My student reports lots of drug and alcohol use among kids at school. Overall - a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

We moved here over 5 yrs ago in hopes for a wonderful school. It was ok till my son started High school. He has been bullied ridiculed, treated very unfairly. We built a new home here wanted the best education for our children. To only be very disappointed in how they are being treated. Special education students are not being treated right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

The band and sports programs are awesome. The staff is helpful and they welcome newcomers - students help with freshman orientation. Like many things, Saline Schools will be what you put into it. It is too big for the teachers to be initiating contact with you every time Johnny has a bad day. For example, student teacher conferences at the high school are open house style so you aren't guaranteed a time and may have to wait in line to see a teacher. The good thing is that your and their time is not wasted if you have nothing you need to talk about. In the middle school the students facilitate the parent teacher conference to ease some of the burden on the teachers. However, if you contact the teachers they are responsive. Go to orientation and find out the method they prefer (email or voicemail) and use it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2006

We haven't been impressed with the curriculum, which seems to vary drastically from teacher to teacher. This was not the case at the other public high school our children attended. I find it interesting that most of the ardent defenders of Saline have grammatical errors in their postings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

As for our family, we have found some great teachers at Saline, but the overall atmosphere seems sports-obsessed and *not* academically intense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

Very good academics in a solid enviroment...good college prepreatory program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

I am an alumnus of the Saline system and I agree strongly with the allegations made that there is an overwhelming arrogance that encapsulates the area. Townies who have never left the safe confines of this once small rural town, and wreak of the aforementioned arrogance, are the pillars of the community and make up a large portion of the school administration and teachers. I lived there almost my entire life until graduation and would never dream of moving back and subjecting my children to that kind of 'good-ol'-boy' bureaucracy. Once teachers are tenured, they stop teaching. Teachers who actually make a difference and stand up against the 'norm' are ousted. As a former athlete I would like to say that the athletics did not adhere to this same mold. Unfortunately there was as much, or more, political pull for the Saline 'lifers' here as well. A TERRIBLE school system.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 22, 2005

Saline schools as per quality of education is decent. They intensively promote sports, which can be hard to deal with. In my experience, the faculty is poor at contacting parents when students have a problem, and due to the large size of the district, treat all families as a number. Many people in Saline are related, which may cause difficulty in dealing with teachers and administration as some often protect each other. The teachers are often married, at different schools within the district and some remind parents how long they have lived in Saline and how everyone is connected. There are a few really good teachers who are new, and as such have no connection to the good old boys club that is so pervasive in this district. The pressure to participate in sports is all consuming and the mood is one of absolute conformity in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

445 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 29% in 2014.

422 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2014.

422 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 28% in 2014.

422 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 44% in 2014.

422 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

422 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female63%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities13%
Students without disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female90%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Asian78%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Science

All Students57%
Female51%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asian72%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Social Studies

All Students77%
Female76%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities28%
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a

Writing

All Students82%
Female91%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Homelessn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Merit Examination (MME) to assess students in grade 11 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. The MME is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MME test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

97%

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

>95%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Michigan high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
Asian 5% 3%
Hispanic 3% 6%
African-American 2% 18%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Julie Helber
Fax number
  • (734) 429-8036

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Campus Pkwy
Saline, MI 48176
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 429-8030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Central Academy
Ann Arbor, MI


W-A-Y Home Washtenaw
Ann Arbor, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT