Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sharon J. Hardy Elementary School

Public | K-9 | 646 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2013

Hardy is the best school. I have a Autistic son in first grade here . The teachers and staff are ssoo calm and understanding. I realy couldn't ask for a better school. I also I have daughter how is in fourth grade and here teachers are wonderful. I would invite any and all people to come join the fun at hardy:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

We have two children at Hardy Elementary and could not be happier. The focus and direction that is displayed by every level of staff is outstanding. When you walk in the school, you can feel the positive energy. The principal is very visible and involved and the communication from him is top notch. The curriculum is excellent. We have found that not only are our children learning their abc's and 123's, but also what it means to be a quality citizen in their community. Over the past years, we have only watched Hardy grow to be a stronger and stronger school and an integral part of our children's growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

I, like the Feb. 2012 reviewer, have had children at Hardy since it opened. I am an educator with very high expectations of other educators. I must say that my children have had nothing but positive, outstanding experiences at Hardy. The teachers are highly knowledgeable, dedicated, and passionate about their responsibility of growing all children as learners, thinkers, and human beings. My children also benefitted greatly from their interactions with the PE teacher who taught them to persist through any situation with a positive attitude and to strive to reach their full potentials. Her passion and high expectations for all children is admirable. The former principal built a wonderful staff which in turns makes Hardy a wonderful school for all students and their parents. I am certain that our new principal will continue to grow the Hardy tradition which will benefit every single child who is fortunate enough to walk through those front doors and become a Hardy Husky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

My family has been at Hardy since it opened. I have seen teachers coming in right before the tardy bell in the morning. I have seen them beating the children to the parking lot after school. Children check their own papers. Meetings are held during the school day (not just here, but throughout South Lyon schools). Substitute teachers are frequently in the classes. The gym teacher has been seen sitting in the front office with her feet up on a desk, and she has been seen engaging in social networking during gym classes. The work ethic is sadly lacking. I would not recommend Hardy to other parents. Hopefully the new principal will make changes so that this changes in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2011

I am an educator. In my life I have never seen a finer staff! They go to the ends of the earth to meet the needs of every student- disable and gifted. Both my children have gone there and I couldn't have been more blessed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

Hardy has excellent teachers who are able to extend for higher performing students, and differentiate for all. The principal is easy to talk to and follows up on any concern a parent may have. The building is outfitted with great technology, it is clean and has a great playground. The office staff are very inviting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

I am so happy with this school, I send my son there and the teachers have been excellent. I highly reccomend sending your kids there if you want your kids teachers to really care and communicate well with you about their progress. Plus, dads, get your kid into Ms. Mitchell's fourth grade class, you will not regret having to go in for a meeting with her WHENEVER ;-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2011

the staff and teachers did not impress me and the building conditions were not very welll done.


Posted June 9, 2009

This school has the full package. The principal is very approachable and seems to know each child by name. The teachers are amazing, and extremely dedicated to providing a high quality education. The facility is new and in excellent condition. Finally, it has a great group of kids that are encouraged to play fair and treat each other with respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

Hardy by far is the greatest! Mine and my granddaughters experience at Hardy has been a wonderful. At the begining of the school year I had a concern about my granddaughter fitting in,( she's the only African American in her class) but she fit right in. Academically, she has excelled by leaps and bounds; If i had to rate Mrs. Isaac, she would definitely recieve a five star, she has a genuine concern and lots of patience for each and every child in her class. I highly recommend Hardy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2006

My oldest is in first grade at Hardy. She started out reading at a high kindergarten/low first grade level. By January she was reading at the low second grade level - where she should be by the end of the year. The staff is great with working with the kids to figure things out themselves. My kindergartner went from not remembering more that five letter sounds to knowing them all by January. She is even paying better attention in class now! Hardy is starting a Gross Moter room for Kindergarten kids next year that will help with learning. It is a great program for our kids to learn with. The teachers are wonderful and more than willing to work with you and your child as they learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 69%
Hispanic 8% 6%
Multiracial 6% 2%
African-American 3% 18%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Cory Heitsch
Fax number
  • (248) 573-8660

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24650 Collingwood Dr
South Lyon, MI 48178
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 573-8650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Chapman Academy
New Hudson, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT