Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fordline Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 292 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2011

I find Fordline Elementary to have a highly dedicated staff who are friendly, hardworking, and knowledgeable in providing my child an individualized education to fit his changing needs. The administration and teachers are strongly united to develop programs that fit the needs of all students. Great work Fordline!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

Office staff are quite unfriendly, not something you would expect in an elementary school. The teachers are great, but the actual curriculum isn't working. If your child is sick they do not let you pick up their work for the day, I believe this is a district rule. So when they return to school they get their missed work, plus any new homework. They have unenrolled my daughter, without us knowing. We went to see the class list on the door in the summer, and she wasn't on it. We went to the actual district office, and they said they weren't able to help me, and I had to wait until 2 weeks before school when the office staff returned. I went into Fordline at that point. They told me I was "lucky", because they had one spot open? If your child goes home because of illness, you will get a call later in the day saying your child is absent, and you must call to tell them why.... even though you just picked your child up from the office? As far as security, I have worked at a few schools, and I know that in order for another person to pick a child up, they must show proper id and be on the emergency card. Not once has another person been id'd to pick up my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

My son went to allen park schools last year and he was havin a hard time with some studys.. I did every thing a parent would do to help him.. I asked all the questions is there anyway that he can get some extra help and at allen park thay said no!! we have no one move him to 1st garde and let him fale and repeat now does that sound like a good school :( so i pick school of choice and southgate u are the best school ever we love u fordline a++++ mrs. Mazur is so caring and understanding the best teacher around. And the rest of the staff is out of this world!! the best school ever!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The Principal and teachers have a 'whatever it takes' attitude when it comes to educating students. Innovative and individually based education at this school. No cookie cutter education here! Fordline is the best choice for quality education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The teachers are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

I am so proud to teach at Fordline Elementary! The children are the smartest and friendliest Downriver! The staff and students at Fordline are a welcoming family. We teach children academic subjects to inspire students to compete and succeed in our society. We also treat children with the highest levels of respect and care. These strategies combine to further the growth started by our Fordline families. Fordline is a great place to grow.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2008

This is my son's first year at Fordline Elementary School. The kids here seem to be friendly. The school area is clean both inside and outside. Which is very good. The school is set up very good. So far a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

I have been a parent at Fordline School for the past 10 years and I have seen the school grow each year. Students are encouraged in writing, math, computers and more. Art & music programs expose kids to the classics plus fun & funky. The principal and many of the teachers are new blood and are available for meetings & email when needed. New ideas are welcomed. Full day kindergarten is getting positive feedback. Parents are encouraged to volunteer - hopefully this aspect of Fordline will grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2004

This school has a great educational system and wonderful teachers, yet they are lacking a logical principal, a new principal joined fordline this year and is setting new ridiculous rules and guidelines. If the children are sick and would like to go home, they are told to sit around in the office and tell mom when they get home, thats terrible. If my child is sick I wanna know. All in all, Im very disatisfied with the principal,I have not checked out any of the other Southgate schools but I will be. I simply do not believe that any of these Parents are agreeing with any of the new rules set for the students and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
2%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 69%
Hispanic 19% 6%
African-American 5% 18%
Multiracial 2% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Glenn Perry
Fax number
  • (734) 246-7259

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14775 Fordline St
Southgate, MI 48195
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 246-4640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Pius School
Southgate, MI







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT