Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sterling Heights Senior H.S. 1

Posted October 25, 2014
- a community member
I graduated from SHHS with a 3.8 GPA and honors and am currently attending Michigan State. I continue to do well in my studies. However, I can whole-heartedly and without a doubt say that none of my collegiate accomplishments can be attributed to the pathetic excuse for an education that I received here. I did well in my AP classes in order to bring as much knowledge with me to college as possible. The teachers failed to help me achieve this. I came to college confident of my ability, and for the last three years, it has become clearer and clearer of the simple things I find myself struggling with that all students around me gained from high school. Most notably, a proper history education and the ability to conduct formal research. AND the arithmetic sector of this high school--my AP calc class was basically a sham, with a teacher who had no right (moreso ability) to teach it. There are teachers, few and far between, who are knowledgable and generous with their time/ability to teach; but the lot is lazy and presumes "eh, most of the students are entering the workforce or Macomb Community anyhow, who cares." It is sad, and I should have transferred after freshman year.

Sterling Heights Senior H.S. 5

Posted September 15, 2012
- a parent
We all know some people will complain about everything. But all I've seen is so far so good.


Sterling Heights Senior H.S. 3

Posted July 12, 2010
- a parent
My son is a 4.0 student. I find some (english, history) teachers just don't care. Good principal, good band director, good counseling staff, lots of class choices. He's getting a good education & is happy.

Sterling Heights Senior H.S. 5

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
As one of the top schools in the region my years in Sterling Height High was filled with alot of good friends and has helped me out after high school. I feel that every asset we give to schools like Sterling Heights High Benefit the community at large.

Sterling Heights Senior H.S. 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
my son loves school again! He hated middle school, but is really enjoying high school and is doing well.


Sterling Heights Senior H.S. 4

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
SHHS has an amazing band program. The marching band sounds great, and so do the other bands.

Sterling Heights Senior H.S. 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
So many different ethnicities and people mixed into one school!

Sterling Heights Senior H.S. 4

Posted January 14, 2009
- a parent
My son attends SHHS. School is what you make of it. He has decided to get involved in the extra-cirricular activities, and has decided that education is important. There are kids at the school that have no interest in education. For those children, they will get out of it as much as they put into it. If they put effort into it, the staff will bend over backwards to help them succeed.


Sterling Heights Senior H.S. 1

Posted December 21, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sterling Heights Senior H.S. 5

Posted October 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sterling Heights Senior H.S.
12901 15 Mile Road, Sterling Heights, MI  48312
(586) 698-4249
Last modified Sterling Heights Senior H.S. is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sterling Heights Senior H.S. Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top