Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blair Moody Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 333 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

My son had been at this school for two years but this last year has been terrible he came home with an injury from different students a week straight and this week he injured someone by horseplaying around and no one told me until the next day I would like to speak with the other family to apologize my son feels bad and they want let us!! His teacher has no control of her students if there keep being injuries in the class!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

My son transferred the Blair Moody in Kindergarten because we felt he needed more of a challenge. He is a gifted child, and like most gifted children he gets bored easily (read: He tends to wander and interrupt when he is done with his work). We found that Blair Moody would offer him the challenges he needs to stay focused, and temper that with patient kind teachers and administration. Anyone who rates the "parental involvement" low is simply not taking advantage of all the ways Blair Moody staff practically begs parents to be involved, and probably just want a babysitter. We receive updates and contacts constantly asking for our response and ideas. Those reviewers need to start going through their child's backpack on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

I think Blair Moody is a very good school. I have had 6 grandchildren go to the school. I used to help when every I could. Their mom had to work so I took over helping when I could. All the teachers and the helpers were great and helpful. The office help was always ready to help anyway she could. the princip


Posted October 22, 2010

My son attended Blair Moody's POHI and is currently in a mainstream class. The teachers and aides are absolutely wonderful. I could not ask for any better. My son doesnt even want to leave when i come pick him up because he loves it so much, I practically have to drag him away lol . I would also like to take this opportunity to thank all my sons teachers and aides,and everyone else that makes the school work, for the wonderful things they do for all their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

This school has entire classrooms of children with physical and mental disabilities. The teachers show so much love and patience to give these kids, they deserve something special! They put on plays, take field trips - treat them like "regular" kids! They teach self-discipline and pride. Amazing place!!!


Posted September 16, 2009

We have great kids, parents and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

An unknown shining star! Principal, staff, parents, and students working hard together to make Blair Moody a fantastic learning place! This place is definitely on the right track!! Go Moody!


Posted August 31, 2008

My daughter also had Ms Hughes last year for kindergarten. She is a wonderful teacher, who truly loved her job and students. The only concern is the afternoon pickup. In and around the school is a nightmare for parents, students, and neighbors in the area. I am disappointed of the lack of interest and participation by parents. For that reason, this year there will be no PTO. The teachers and staff can only do so much, they need parent participation to help provide our kids with a wonderful learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

My daughter attended Blair Moody for Kindergarden and I loved this school. Ms. Hughes was a wonderful teacher and was very involved with her students. I mean she loved her students and her job. I enjoyed the school as well but the pick up was terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

My children have attended Blair Moody for the 07/08 school year. I have never been so unhappy with the level of concern for the childrens education. I am also unhappy with the negativity among the students. I have talked with the schools principal, who doesn't really seem to care about the students, only results. If you really value your childs education, please check into this school before attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2007

My son has been attending blair moody for almost two years now and I'll have to say I am very pleased with the school. Last year my son had a very difficult time with reading and writing and they were gonna hold him back. The teacher was soo concerned she would take her time to stay after school twice a week and help my son and another child with their reading and writing. It was such a great help my son ended up passing the grade, I was so gratful for the time that she spent on him. My son also has some speech problems, they enrolled him in the speech program and its done wonders for him. They are so caring and very determined to help him succeed. The teachers that my son has had are very pleasant towards me and my son. The principal is also very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

Our son has been at Moody for almost 2 years and we can't be more pleased with the school. Mrs. Zockheem is wonderful with the students and parents. We've dealt with various schools(due to moving)with our 15yr old, and could only have wished they were all like Moody. The staff is very helpful and considerate. Keep up the good work Moody!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2007

Daughter left about 2 years ago to start middle school. I liked the school, and the principal was very fair in the dealings I had with her. My daughters teachers were also caring and she actually had homework in classes from 3rd grade and up. School needs some repairs, but not schools fault. They use what they have efficiently. Glad she went to this Taylor School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2006

I do like this school, I think the teachers are great, well some of them. I really like the people in the office, they are always there when you have concerns and have no problem talking to you about them, but there are a couple things they improve on. Other than that I am happy with this school. And yes I am a regular parent who helps as much as I can, I am there alot doing things for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

Blair Moody is the least organized school I have seen! From getting monthly calendars and lunch menus out late, to putting the wrong homework in my daughters bookbag, to telling my 5 year old today that tomorrow is pajama day! Am I suppossed to believe her? There is no note telling us about pajama day, maybe we'll get that on Friday, and another, 'oops, I'm sorry, I forgot' excuse! In two days there are parent/teacher conferences, and I have heard nothing from the teacher about an appointment. There is no parent/teacher interaction due to the fact that you can't leave your car at drop off or pick up, and it's one of the few schools w/out a website so you could communicate easier w/ the staff. The staff is nice enough, but there needs to be more organization and communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

I have four daughters,12,9,7,&5 years of age.My oldest just graduated from 6th grade, my youngest just started kindergarden.Last year we bought a house which put us in the taylor parks school district.My kids hated it,they begged me to put them back in blair moody.As for the staff,they have always made me feel welcomed,and a part of a family.The secratary there is just an amazing woman,the principal is the fairest woman i've ever met.You will always find her in the halls 'high fiving' a student,or hugging one.The teachers there will always find time for you the parent.They realy are there for the students.Two years ago my daughter's teacher came to me and informed me that she needed help in reading.Gave me information on ways to assist her.I couldn't afford tuitoring,so the teacher offered to come to school 1 hour early a few days a week to help her.It worked. Hooray Blair Moody.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

32 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
4%

2011

 
 
10%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 69%
African-American 35% 18%
Hispanic 9% 6%
Multiracial 3% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Laura Tetreault
Fax number
  • (313) 295-8358

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8280 Hipp Street
Taylor, MI 48180
Phone: (313) 295-5807

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT