Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sixth Grade Academy

Public | 6 & ungraded | 534 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2012

The staff is more concerned with the staff than they are the children. I have been talked rudely to by a teacher, the secretary is to busy to help and has told me this on several occasions. Even the principal is short tempered. Mr. Hall was the only helpful staff member. A lot of bulling goes on here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

this school is okay its average i am propose to be in chorus but in band.


Posted August 1, 2011

I am going to this school and very excited!!:) I know i will love Sixth Grade!


Posted July 31, 2011

I think this school was fantastic and I wish I could go back there!I was on team Extraordinaire And loved it!


Posted June 23, 2011

I was very impressed with this school. I had GREAT communication with all my son's teachers through out the whole year. He was on the honor roll all year long and played basketball. I am looking forward to sending my other children here as well. The principal was wonderful to communicate with also. For you parents talking down about this school.....just remember it takes the parents to be involved with their childs education to get communication with staff!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2010

The children in this school are out of control, and it s very apparent the staff cannot handle these kids, my child has been bullied since the beginning of the year, the secretaries are rude they hang up on you when you call, they are bullies too! This school should be shut down, it s an unsafe place for kids and I'm removing my child from the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2010

I am very unhappy with this school. Kids are allowed to fall behind w/o any communication from the teachers . Progress report grades and actual grade vary vastly. I have emailed a science teacher 5 times regarding my son and got stock answers never the truth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

I LOVE the school i was on the Basketball team,if you parents are wondering about the school i'd be happy to tell you bout it, ok there's i think 4 different teams one is Extaordnaie,Wizard's,Awesome Acheivers,Transformers. i'm on Extaordnaie we go over and above the Ordanary. i love the school i go to right now we have lockers,7 classes that seem not long at all and we have good princable's Take these from a student that is going there right now trust me I LOVE IT.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2010

My son attends the Sixth Grade Academy, and he loves this school. We wish he could stay there for 7th grade! He has does wonderful in all of his classes so far, even the ones like (math) that he usually sturggles with. I use Parent Zangle to keep updated on his grades, which always shows if there is missing assignments, so this helps him keep on track! He regularly checks the computer on his own also, this has made him more responsible. Most of the teachers are great about using email as a from of communication, but you do have those teachers that don't comply to this form. The school has lots of elective classes for children to sign up for. I seen him mature right before my eyes during the first few weeks of school. I am so proud of of how he has adjusted to his new surroundings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

I loved going to this school. If it was possible to stay there and not go on to another school,witout failing,and I would have a choice on what school to go to,I would choose the sixth garde academy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2008

This school is a good one.They have sports (even girls basketball, I'm In It.) You Dont even have to try out! The School Has teams, lockers, CLEAN bathrooms, and nice teachers. If your looking For a school woth grade(s) 6th, You should pick this! I currently go here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2006

I took my child out of this school. The principal and vice principal do not acknowledge bullies, they brush it off as 'Middle School etiquette'. They have very poor communication with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2006

Unfortunately,I have to agree with the review posted from 2005. My experience with the principal and assistant principal have been all but enjoyable. Children are stereotyped and or labeled from the beginning and unfortunately teachers don't want to 'deal with' the children who fall into the 'bad kid' catagory. Contact between the school and the parents is also poor. School is over in 4 days and I just found out my child is not passing. Why was I not informed earlier when something could have been done?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Charles E. Brake is (so far)a good school. My daughter has been there for 7th grade and we came from Detroit. Her grades have been consistant because she's a perfectionist. I wish there were more field trips for the kids who aren't in sports to get a chance to see and do different things as well.They have more that enough after school sports, but not enough activities for all. The office staff can be quite rude on occasion. I called to ask a simple question, the person who answered the phone was quite rude-on more than one occassion! But over all, it is a challenging school. I am also surprised at the diversity of the school. All different cultures. Overall, I'm keeping my child for another year-unless she changes her mind. Ms. W.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

Brake Middle School is an average school. The teachers have a tendency to separate the 'smart' kids from the 'dumb' kids, and label them for life. I happened to be in the 'smart' category, so many more oppurtunities were available to me. The school, like most Taylor schools, is highly overcrowded, and most of the teachers there tend to coddle the good kids and disregard the bad kids completely. Extracurricular activities are weak. There is a track team, basketball- the normal things, but most of the teams are weak. Band, art, and language classes aren't properly supported by money. The english classes in Taylor for middle schoolers, especially Brake, is inadequate. The curriculum stresses reading and short stories, which can be learned later, while they should be pushing for grammar skills, which is a notorious fault in Taylor students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2004

I have been involved with Brake Middle School for 4 yrs now and I think its a very good school. I do think they do need a few new things for the kids to get involved with meaning more sports. I would like to see a swim team or LaCross team. These are my veiws thanks for reading. L Staton
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

473 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

459 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

492 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 69%
African-American 27% 18%
Hispanic 8% 6%
Multiracial 3% 2%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Michelle Hernandez
Fax number
  • (734) 374-1577

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13500 Pine St
Taylor, MI 48180
Phone: (734) 374-1227

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Trillium Academy
Taylor, MI



Oakwood Academy
Taylor, MI


Oakwood Academy
Taylor, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT