Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westwoods Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
Thankful for my son's preschool teacher, Mrs. Summers. Since he is the only child in the class that doesn't nap, she takes him on "adventures" while an aide stays with the sleeping class. Yesterday they did a tour of the school and tested all of the drinking fountains. Then they spent time in the cafeteria and he learned how to drive the floor polishing machine. He was so excited to tell me about the coldest and fastest working fountains when I picked him up! They both enjoy their one on one time together and as a parent, I really appreciate her!

Westwoods Elementary School 1

Posted September 01, 2015
- a community member
When sharing information regarding the testing of children and parents rights, the monitor of the PTO page removed post and censored content. This is not only unethical, but also a violation of the social media practices of TCAPS of whom this PTO represents. Poor form and narrow leadership. It's not about all the children if the PTO doesn't wish it to be.


Westwoods Elementary School 5

Posted December 16, 2010
- a parent
We feel very fortunate to have our children at Westwoods. We started with their preschool program. I believe strongly in their preschool program, it was an awesome introduction to school for my kids and a great way to transition to Kindergarten. Westwoods offers a true learning community filled with wonderful staff and an awesome group of families.

Westwoods Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2010
- a parent
Westwoods is a great school! I went to Westwoods and now my children go there! The teachers are amazing...we love being a part of the Westwoods family! :)

Westwoods Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
Westwoods has many great attributes, but our children have always found the library their favorite. Their Librarian is very knowledgeable and friendly. She constantly makes the library inviting. It's a place that just draws you in. My girls can't stay away from it. Westwoods principal and teachers make reading a first priority for all students. They constantly encourage new and fun ways to incorporate books and reading into children and their families lives.


Westwoods Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 19, 2010
- a parent
Westwoods isn't just a school, it's a community. The entire staff is extremely dedicated and caring and it shows. My daughter loved the time she spent at Westwoods and I couldn't have been happier with her experience.

Westwoods Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 18, 2010
- a parent
I have had great respect and response from all levels of staff at Westwoods School. Our son needs extra help in reading comprehension and fluency. The resources and staff are exemplary.

Westwoods Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2010
- a parent
I have 2 students at Westwoods - preschooler and 3rd grader. We started last year at Westwoods school and were very welcomed. The kids have made new friends and I have made friends too as a parent. The best part of this school is the atmosphere - which is calm, supportive, friendly and welcoming! Teachers always SMILE! And kids have great manners and are respectful.


Westwoods Elementary School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
My daughters continue to grow in their love of learning... and their love of the staff at Westwoods. Mrs. Kaberle is one of my daughter's favorite people in the world.

Westwoods Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2009
- a parent
Outstanding in every way. Great preschool, Kindergarten enrichment, and K-5! Great speech program for those that need it. Great sense of community and PTO.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westwoods Elementary School
1500 Fisher Rd, Traverse City, MI  49685
(231) 933-7970
Last modified Westwoods Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westwoods Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top