Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Smith Middle School 5

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
Smith Middle School!!!!! gets a 5 star rating from our family. The help we received this year for our 8th grader was GREATLY APPRECIATED!! and made a difference in her academic skills. The teachers worked very hard with her and now her study skills have improved which will help her in the next school year. Cant say enough for the staff and teachers they truly go the extra mile!!!

Smith Middle School 1

Posted August 30, 2014
- a community member
I don't have words to describe the bullying I faced here. Smith Middle School is horrible.


Smith Middle School 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
My son transferred to Smith this year. I cannot stress enough how happy we are with this school. From the very first day, the teachers, staff, and parents were welcoming and helpful. The Principal and Vice Principal are very accessible and my son even likes to chat with them. The teachers have a good grasp of what middle school students go through and what their role is in shaping that, and they communicate well and are forthcoming when needed about what is happening in class without being ever being negative. They are very good at giving feedback. My son has also found the student body to be really decent, and on the whole pretty nice to each other. The parents are friendly, and very involved with what's happening at school. Oh, and we love the coach for football too! As a family, we are very happy with this school. It was the right fit for us.

Smith Middle School 4

Posted August 03, 2013
- a parent
Located in the award winning Troy School District, our school is where your child meets the world...sitting with children who represent families from all the world, as well as all around the United States. Outstanding music program (district rated in the Top 100 in the country). Advanced and honors programs that prepare your child to compete in one of the state's top high schools. Athletic and competitive academic teams will allow your child to find ways to explore their interests.

Smith Middle School
no rating

Posted February 20, 2009
- a parent
What a great school! This is my son's first year and boy did he adapt quickly . . . he loves it. He receives some special services and the Special Eduation teacher along with her para-professionals are absolutely phenominal. We are moving this year and hope to stay in the Troy school district. This school receives an A++ in my book.


Smith Middle School 5

Posted January 24, 2006
- a parent
Smith Middle School is an outstanding school with outstanding staff and one of the best principals. Our kids have learned a lot and the enjoyed going to this school.They also have outstanding ESL teachers and classes! Grade: A+

Smith Middle School 5

Posted December 31, 2005
- a parent
JUST AMAZING SCHOOL! The school academicly is amazing as well. The teachers are great adn they make sure each child erally understands everything. I would send every parent here if I could. I would deffenitly reconmend this school.

Smith Middle School 5

Posted August 29, 2005
- a parent
The Smith middle school is excellent. My child enjoy the life here. Counsoler is excellent. Math club is #1 in the state.


Smith Middle School 5

Posted November 02, 2004
- a parent
My son (currently in 8th grade) had a lot of difficulty adjusting to middle school. This year has been the best so far. His grades are good and he has a much better attitude about school. The counselor we worked with was great and really helped us to find solutions. Most of the teachers were wonderful and really wanted our child to suceed. I really felt like we were a team. I have another son who will be attending Smith next year and I am sure he will blossom here also.

Smith Middle School
no rating

Posted April 17, 2003
- a community member
The communication with the parents is terrific. Newsletter, PTO meetings, extra mailings, our principal wants us to know what's going on!

Nearby schools

Smith Middle School
5835 Donaldson Drive, Troy, MI  48085
(248) 823-4700
Last modified Smith Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top