Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wass Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 412 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2013

I was a Wass student from 2000 to 2006. I absolutely loved all of my teachers and there were very few not so great teachers. My fifth grade teacher is now the principal. He was one of my favorites, as well as all of the other students, and I have absolutely no doubt that he runs the school extremely well and for the best interest of the students. I remember being engaged, challenged, and interested throughout all six years there. The teachers definitely set me up for success and always wanted the best for me. Everyone at Wass is so friendly and caring and there is a great family feel. I have such fond memories from Wass. Words can't really describe how great of an experience elementary school was for me; I would highly, highly, highly recommend Wass to every single student and parent!


Posted December 26, 2012

I have had kids at Wass for 12 years. Every year it gets even better. Our principal cares about our kids as if they were his own (BTW his kids go here- as do many TSD teachers' kids). He is involved and proactive. His postive energy ripples through the school and rubs off on everyone. Academically, I have seen many curriculum improvements in an effort to give our kids the best. I've watched great teachers hone their skills and use their experiences to become even better teachers. They team with parents to ensure our kids get the best education possible. Also, Wass is a homey and safe environment. Lastly, the plus/minus of being a "walking school"- plus is overall our community is strong because we see each other often. The minus is the parking lots is awful. The principal and teachers work hard to direct traffic but a few parents don't follow rules and mess it up. This problem could be solved if the district would provide us with a bigger lot (we have space) and if everyone just followed the rules. I would say parking problems are a small price to pay for such an exceptional eductaional experience. Thank you Wass teachers and Mr J. I am very grateful for all you do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

All three of my girls are here at Wass the Principal is EXCELLENT, Mrs. Belleville is a WONDERFUL teacher, we have been at Wass Elementary for 7 years and I have 3 more years to go, LOVE Wass.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

This year was the first year for my son and wow it has been the worst year of my life. The teacher Mrs Belleville is the worse ever in life the new principle Mr Janson is the weirdest man alive. This teacher make me want to just never come to another parent teacher conference..she basically talks down to you..I have so many bad things to say about this teacher until i will have written a book. Long story short, I dont recomend this school and the parking lot way to small for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

the school looks very nice, neat & clean, some mentioned a parking problem , but this wont be an issue for me as my kid will be picked up by the school bus. the principle is awesome, but the k teacher( Mrs. G) is clueless, she may be just fine with the 3rd. or 4th. Graders but not with the K. I'm having hrd time with my son everymorning, he doesn't like her, I voulonteered for few hours , and knew that he was totally right,, she doesn't know how to get kids attention , how to deal with bullying, and how to interact academically with kids, some parents have totally agreed with that She has zero experience dealing with such age. I would tell the principle, but he will do nothing, the program is OK, Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Kind and caring staff and falculty. Great kids and involved parents = great community and great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

A great staff and a very involved group of parents, plus some of the nicest kids you'll ever meet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Wass Elementary school has the most compassionate, caring and hardworking teachers imaginable. My daughter loves going to school not only because she is inspired to learned, but respected for her ideas and contributions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2008

I have two children at Wass and have found it an outstanding school. It has incredibly high standards for its students, which I find as an advantage. Daily homework is expected from grade 1 on. As a parent, you are expected to be your child's partner in his/her education by checking homework, listening to each child read alound each day and making sure they complete reading assignments, assisting with class parties, etc. Parent and community involvment is high in the school. My children have a wonderful foundation for the education. The only negative I can think of is that it is a tough school for a slower to low average learner(not special ed). The pace does not slow down and they may have a harder time keepign up with the work load.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2008

Wass is overall a good school. My daughter does suffer from selective mutism and has come along way in her 3 years.. There are some not so understanding teachers that are loud and outspoken themselves... which is hard for her to relate to.. The worst comment I have ever received from a teach was... That she just needs to speak up, that is very hard for her and very hard for me to hear as a parent. I say the education at wass is a little difficult with 2 hours of homework a night for thrid grade. Be involved and speak your mine they are working for us.. and the contract they are asking for is unheard of they should just be happy to have a job in these hard times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

I love this school! Teacher/parent interaction and communication are wonderful. Many parents are heavily involved in the school. Teachers are well educated. Wonderful district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2007

Very good school! Very happy with most teachers. The school grounds are poorly maintained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

I can't say enough how great this school has been for our children and our family. Education is it's number one goal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

We moved to Troy for the excellent school system, and we're extremely pleased by the education our child is receiving at Wass. The teachers provide individual instruction to each child, the principal is well-liked and well-respected by teachers and parents alike, and the school is a vital part of the local community. The neighborhood here is home to many transient families connected to the auto industry, who often live here for only a couple years. The teachers and staff at Wass do an excellent job of helping new students blend into the student body, as well as learn our language, assimilate into our culture, and become solid citizens in the community. We highly recommend Wass Elementary to anyone moving into Troy, Michigan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2005

I have had 3 children attend Wass. I was very unhappy with the principal and the way he runs the school. He is very impersonal and intimidating to the children. He is very condescending with the teachers. Most of the schools in Troy received the Blue Ribbon award-- Wass was one of the last to receive it (and it took them YEARS of applying to finally get it). I would not recommend Wass to anybody with elementary age children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 69%
Asian 20% 3%
African-American 6% 18%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Multiracial 3% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Matt Jansen
Fax number
  • (248) 823-3913

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2340 Willard Drive
Troy, MI 48085
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 823-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Schuchard Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI


Burr Elementary School
Sterling Heights, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT