Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
Woodland is a wonderful school with dedicated teachers and staff. They offer many activities for families during the year, so you really get the close community feel. My daughter is very happy with this school and so are we.

Woodland Elementary School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Woodland Elementary is a great school with a great staff. Would love to see more advanced programs to keep ALL students challenged. Foreign Language and Band/Orchestra should be brought back as this benefits all. Avondale gets a bad rep from people who don't know it or attend. Parents with kids who do attend should speak up with the many positives! Get our district back on track!


Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
This school has quality teachers with quality programs, the support for kids in autism spectrum is really good. I'd recommend this school! They teach more than academic, they teach morals as well.

Woodland Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
The principal and the teachers seem very engaged and enthusiastic. I think the curiculum is strong, but could be further layered to provide varying levels of difficulty to keep the stronger students challenged, while being responsive to the needs of the other children. I would love to see them add an advanced or gifted program. The school seems well funded with appropriate access to computers, but there is always room to continue enhancing in this area.

Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
I moved my kids from private school to woodland elementary. I was thinking its going to be a disaster. Instead I got more than what the private school had to offer. Principal and the class teachers are very dedicated. Even PE , music and art teachers are great. During semester conference, PE, Music and art teachers were available to answer our questions. They customize and individualize each kids needs. Parents involvement is absolutely fantastic. Working parents and stay at home parents equally participate. School leadership especially the Principal is the best of all! Principal is standing in the gate when school bus drops and picks them up. She is dedicated to the improvement of the kids.


Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2007
- a parent
Our family loves our school! Great teachers. Knowledgeable, caring principal. High standards for all. Many special programs and afterschool activities.

Woodland Elementary School 2

Posted July 11, 2007
- a parent
It is luck to get a good teacher...on average one per grade so everyone is requesting the same teacher if they know better. Total lack of leadership and accountability are the main problems in my opinion. Children who are more intellectual will suffer and their is no computer training, maybe once or twice a year the computers will be used depending on the teacher.

Woodland Elementary School 2

Posted June 15, 2007
- a parent
Lack of experienced leadership. Quality of teachers is questionable. Parent involvement seems to have diminished. Curriculum is even questionable. Woodland used to be a premier elementary school within Avondale. Unfortunately, this isn't true as of today.


Woodland Elementary School 3

Posted September 22, 2006
- a parent
My twins have spent the past 2 years at Woodland Elementary and although we were very blessed to have the greatest kindergarten teacher Avondale has to offer, I'm very unimpressed with how the school handles the coordination of events and the transportation is an absolute joke. In the case of student events, we typically are informed at the last minute and arrive to a complete disarray, disorganized event, where the volunteer parents are busy chatting with teachers and kids (young kids) are completely lost as to any sort of order or instruction. Incidents at the school are rarely reported and are found out by the parents through the children. Bus drivers drop children off at the wrong stop and generally are not paying attention.

Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2005
- a parent
This school has quality teachers with quality programs,my child is autistic he's been with Woodland K-3 and I've always seen nothing but progress progress progress. Everyone really cares and now his future look bright thanks to they're great help. I'd recommend this school to anyone! The best part is the parent turn out to every event. Make you feel like your part of a family! They teach more than academic, they teach morals as well, no one is allowed to bully, they have 0 tollarance of it and it works.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodland Elementary School
6465 Livernois Road, Troy, MI  48098
(248) 537-6900
Last modified Woodland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodland Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top