Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2016
- a parent
Our children have attended Woodland for the last 6 years and we have had a wonderful experience. The teachers and staff are highly approachable and genuinely concerned about your child's education. The extra reading support is fantastic as well as the art and music curriculum. There are many extra-curricular activities for students and there is strong parental involvement. Many events are also held outside of the school day so that you may interact with other families and teachers (school picnic, art show, fair, dances, etc.) Overall, our family has had a fantastic experience at Woodland!

Woodland Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 17, 2016
- a parent
Good behavior is highly encouraged and students also have the opportunity to be involved in many community service activities throughout the year (food drive, community garden, etc.)


Woodland Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
Mr Higgins and Ms Wheeler are awesome!! Both are doing so great, student progress is clear and visible

Woodland Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
Every single bad actitude during the day is promptly communicated to us. No bullying is accepted

Woodland Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
The staff is doing their best with the kids. Communication with teachers is great, my kids love them.


Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
Woodland is a great school. It deserves a higher score on this list. Teachers are doing an amazing job, Mr Higgins and Ms Wheeler are awesome. I fully recommend this school.

Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
Woodland is a wonderful school with dedicated teachers and staff. They offer many activities for families during the year, so you really get the close community feel. My daughter is very happy with this school and so are we.

Woodland Elementary School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Woodland Elementary is a great school with a great staff. Would love to see more advanced programs to keep ALL students challenged. Foreign Language and Band/Orchestra should be brought back as this benefits all. Avondale gets a bad rep from people who don't know it or attend. Parents with kids who do attend should speak up with the many positives! Get our district back on track!


Woodland Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
This school has quality teachers with quality programs, the support for kids in autism spectrum is really good. I'd recommend this school! They teach more than academic, they teach morals as well.

Woodland Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
The principal and the teachers seem very engaged and enthusiastic. I think the curiculum is strong, but could be further layered to provide varying levels of difficulty to keep the stronger students challenged, while being responsive to the needs of the other children. I would love to see them add an advanced or gifted program. The school seems well funded with appropriate access to computers, but there is always room to continue enhancing in this area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodland Elementary School
6465 Livernois Road, Troy, MI  48098
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (248) 537-6900
Last modified Woodland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top