Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pembroke Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 318 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

Pemproke Elementary school is a very good school because the teachers and the staff do really care about their students and their continuous improvement both socially and on their education the only thing I would really like the school to work more on is the second language teaching it should be more enhanced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2013

My child attends Pembroke and I am very pleased with his education and the quality of the teachers. He does bring home homework and as much as I don't care for young students having so much homework, I do accept it as a part of going to a great school district like Birmingham. I work hard with him to keep up with his homework and to study his spelling words each work. It does take dedication and effort, but I accept that. What I really love about the school is the small class size and the community feeling I get when I'm there. Instead of feeling like a big warehouse of a school like some of the other Birmingham elementary schools, this feels like the cozy neighborhood school that I attended as a child. I do feel like the teachers care deeply for their students and work hard to ensure their students' success. I like that this school is more down-to-earth than some of the other Birmingham schools which quite honestly felt way too materialistic to me. I feel like Pembroke is the best kept secret in the Birmingham School District. I hope it stays that way too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

This was my first year at Pembroke Elementary after being at another school for 11 years and the students, parents, and staff made me feel like I had always been a part of the school. I love it here and hope to stay as long as they will have me.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2011

I feel very fortunate that my kids are able to receive a great foundation for learning through Pembroke. The staff seem to work and communicate so well together. I have always felt that my kids' education has been cutting edge and that they have a well balanced day as far as curriculum goes. The teachers are always working to meet a child where their needs are. What a great way to teach. I couldn't be happier with Pembroke, its staff and principal. What a great place to start!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

I'm confused by the 3/3/11 post. Are you certain you clicked on the correct school? My child goes to Pembroke and we could not be happier with the education he's getting. Since he's started at Pembroke, we have noticed his confidence increase tremendously. Walking into the building, you feel a sense of belonging. Teachers, principal and even the custodians greet you with a warm smile.As for homework, I've never had concerns about the amount given from any of the teachers there. In comparison to other schools that my friends' children attend, Pembroke seems to give a fair, well-balanced amount of homework appropriate to each grade level. Is the homework your child bringing home truly homework or classwork that's not being completed in class due to some other underlying issue? Could you explain what you mean when you say that the teachers do not have much exposure to children? Is 7 hrs a day, 5 days a week not enough exposure? The only reason I ask, is I'd hate for new parents interested in bringing their child to Pembroke to get an inaccurate impression of its teachers. We have been extremely happy with the education our family has received so far at Pembroke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

The staff is very nice handles the issues very good .academically challenge the kids for learning more and very friendly always helpful. there is very good interaction between parents and teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

This just isn't a good school. We've had so many problems with the teachers and the principal here that we've had to approach the superintendant twice this year regarding the conduct and supervision of school staff. The focus of this school's administration doesn't seem to be on building a quality education system with wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

The staff is nice, like the other review stated, but they really don't understand children like they should. It's not their fault, though - if you aren't exposed to something, then you can't understand it. They seem to send an innapropriate amount of work home with the very young students. Much of it is not reviewed in class, forcing the parents to create lesson plans and learning strategies that are usually completed by the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Great teachers who embrace the latest technology to inspire kids in an intimate, nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

Wonderful school with wonderful teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

My son and daughter have spent k-2 in this school and it is great. The parents and teachers are really involved and we moved from Troy schools to Birmingham and had to catch up, so they are on the ball with academics and we very helpful with tutoring and extra help. It is a very involved community with many options available for children and families to grow and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 69%
Multiracial 4% 2%
African-American 3% 18%
Asian 3% 3%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Native Hawaiian 1% 0%
American Indian N/A 1%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Susan Crocker
Fax number
  • (248) 203-3920

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

955 Eton Drive
Troy, MI 48084
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 203-3888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Roeper School
Birmingham, MI



Harlan Elementary School
Bloomfield Hills, MI




Holy Name School
Birmingham, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT