Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

DeLaSalle Collegiate High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Warren

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $79,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

One of the most overrated schools out there. Mediocre teachers at best who swear like truck drivers. If your son is not on football team or raising money for them you are not wanted. Don't be fooled by the "program" for students that need extra help. It's a complete joke. I do not recommend this school for anyone.


Posted September 17, 2013

I have a overwhelming desire to assist with the longevity of this school. My son has been there now for I year and starting his second. He is doing well. The community Is supportive and I love school without the distraction of girls..the motto...Builders of Boys and Makers of Men....I love it...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

We sent three boys thru DeLaSalle and highly recommend it to anyone. Their academics are outstanding and very challenging. They offer many AP classes that can give the student a head start in college. The teachers are strict and they really do care about their students. The teachers go out of their way to help. The students learn good Christian values and are well prepared for college. Also have a daughter? We also highly recommend Regina High School, for basically the same reasons. (And now it's only one mile from DeLaSalle.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

My son is a current student at DeLaSalle and we couldn't be happier. Everyone strives for the same thing, academic excellence. The students don't even think about it, they just do it because it is the norm. It is a sacrifice, but well worth it. Everyone including parents contribute to the success of this school. We are honored to be a part of the De La Salle community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

My husband attended DLS and my son recently graduated. The academics are above and beyond what you would receive at a public school. The respect for parents, teachers, etc is imbedded in the students. I disagree with the previous poster. But let me just say, there is something for everyone. Athletics, Debate, Robotics, Christian Service, etc. As anything, you get out of it what you put into it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

DLS is vVery tough, but mostly fair. My son has been taught by some outstanding teachers. Not sure what the srirt with the logo is about but things like this are minor. Some of the 'major' sports seem more like marketing tools, and something to please the alumni. Where they should be more about and for the existing students passing through the halls at present.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I attended this school all four years, one of the best decisions I have ever made. My classes were tough and almost fifteen years later, my best friends now are still most of my best friends from DLS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

I attended DLS, and this school is excellent. Discipline was strict when I attended, and is even stricter now. If you don't study for tests, expect a low grade point average. Teachers went above and beyond for students, and cared how you were doing in class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2008

DLS is absolutely one of the best high schools in the metro Detroit area. The staff is outstanding and always ready to provide additonal help when asked for. Thes psorts program is outstanding. The staff all have email access and they are very quick to repond to a parents email or if they have a concern do not hesitiate to email you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

DLS is one of the top learning instutition that I have been associated with in all of my son's 16 years of education. This school has not only great teacher but a huge tradition for lifes values. The Lasallian Brother have blended with their lay teacher to continue a special atmosphere for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2006

Excellent School & learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

I could not be happier with DLS. The staff at the school care. Also, the new wing is outstanding!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2004

De La Salle Collegiate is an excellent high school with a college prep curriculum. School motto of:'Builders of boys,makers of men', captures exactly what the campus is all about. I am thankful every day that our son was able to develop into such a well-rounded man prepared both academically, ethically,and morally by the Brothers to enter the university program of his choice with confidence,values, and a sense of purpose. De la Salle is known primarily for academic excellence and fostering of Catholic Christian values. Parents share an active interest and play a vital role in the success of the school. Extra-curricular activities also abound, with the school among the finest in many sports and music activities although never at the expense of academics. My husband,our son and I highly recommend De La Salle Collegiate to prospective families at every opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 71%
Asian 4% N/A
African-American 3% 20%
Multiracial 2% N/A
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Patrick Adams
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (586) 778-6016

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14600 Common Rd
Warren, MI 48088
Phone: (586) 778-2207

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Roseville High School
Roseville, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT