Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Macomb Christian Schools

Private | PK-12 | 160 students

Equipping students for leadership through Christ-centered education.
 
 

 

Living in Warren

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $70,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 19 ratings
2013:
Based on 16 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2010

The school is such a wonderful place for my child to learn. I love the EEC, they have such wonderful staff their! They care so deeply about the children, it's like family there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Because of the Christian Teaching and the dedcation of the Teachers and staff. The love for the and caring of each individual student.


Posted September 21, 2009

Amazing Teachers, awesome students, out of this world parents! MCS is the school for Christ-centered education in Macomb County!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Macomb Christian has wonderful teachers that truly want their students to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Academic excellance in a Christian environment. And the people are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love the teachers,kids and parents. The MSC has been a strength in our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I went to Macomb Christian for 12 years. The teachers and staff there gave me a good, solid, Christian education that has helped me, and will continue to help me throughout my life.


Posted July 8, 2009

If your looking for a Christian Education this is the place. It feels great to know that the teachers and staff teach the same morals and values that we teach in our homes. The chidlren excel in theses classrooms and I would not trade my family's experience here for anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

Great Christ-centered education. Students score 2 years above their grade level--and receive instruction in all subjects (not just reading and math). Specials are included in the curriculum. A well-balanced education prepares students to succeed in life, not just a focus on test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

Macomb Christian is an excellant school both academically and spiritually. My child loves it. I would highly recommend it. The class size is conducive for learning and the teachers and staff are very dedicated to the children. A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2004

I started my daughter here for preschool last year - she is now in her second year of preschool. I was very impressed last year. However this year they seem very unorganized and no one is able to answer questions. I am not at all happy and I feel bad, because I was so impressed last year. I am unfortuantely contemplating a different school for kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2004

Macomb Christian is the best school! It teaches kids good principles and you never have to change schools! I recommend this school to anyone who needs a good school. The attitude at this school is amazing. Check out Macomb Christian Schools because it's the best thing for you and your kids!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2004

Macomb Christian prepared my son, not only academically, but spiritually for the battles he has encountered in college. I so appreciate the time the faculty spent with him. They were loving, nurturing, and all around well equipt. As a former teacher, I was pleased with the preparation of the teachers and the support of the staff as a whole. I continue to support Macomb Christian even though my son graduated 4 years ago. I believe that they are an important part of our community and wish them many years of success.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 69%
African-American 19% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 1%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. M. Baldwin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Unaffiliated - Religious
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (586) 751-7946

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
19
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
19

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

28501 Lorraine
Warren, MI 48093
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 751-8980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Wolfe Middle School
Center Line, MI


Academy 21
Center Line, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT