Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Warren Woods Christian School

Private | K-8 | 192 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Warren

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $79,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2014

This is the best school in the area. I have two kids in this school currently. We've been in the school for the last three years and will continue to send my kids there until they finish 8th grade. Teachers are great, the principal is awesome and the school administration is efficient. For the cost of tuition and other expenses, it is worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

My Kindergartener had a fantastic experience her first year of school. I felt comforable about her being there all day knowing she was learning and being nurtured. They are also very supportive of homeschooling families. Their staff is some of the most gifted I have met! Thank you for all your hard work WWCS teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2012

My daughter has been a student at WWCS for 4 years now. I can't think of a better investment I've made than her education. She is more advanced academically than friends of mine's children who are the same age, the staff is loving and truly cares for their students, the parental participation is second to none, and the administrator will drop everything to speak to a student or parent. She's learning Christ centered academics and not only does she return to me as I sent her but better. It's a close knit community and I love knowing all the families, and especially the children my daughter is socializing with. My decision to send her to WWCS was solidified upon my tour when I saw the kindergarten class reciting (by heart) all 66 books of the bible, all the presidents from Washington to Obama, and all of Ephesians 10:18! I was amazed. The heart and spirit of the students are just as important as the mind and it's evident when watching the teachers with the students. I would recommend this school 100 x's over to anyone who asked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

My grandaughter completed preschool at WWCS. She is now in grade K. She could read before starting grade K. She can count past 600. She can count to 10 in Spanish and knows some words. She loves the music program integrated throughout the educationsl program. She loves her teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

We love Warren Woods Christian. My oldest daughter (now in High School) attended there from Kdg. till 8th grade. We also have a daughter, now in 4th grade, attending there. We wouldn't think of going anywhere else! Great all-around school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

We fell into WWCS by chance through the preschool and we love it! We wouldn't send our daughter anywhere else. The teachers are wonderful and since there are small sized classrooms, everyone knows my daughter. She is a person not just one of 80 fourth graders. We have a new principal that started in 2007 and she is one of the kindest, most loving people I have ever met. She was our child's first and second grade teacher at the school so we have had an opportunity to get to know her well. You will find our school programs heartwarming and uplifting. We have awesome coaches and music teachers. Very close knit school. I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

We have a 5yr old and a 12yr old that is attending WWCS. Although this is our 1st year, the children have acclimated very well to the schools environment. The atmosphere is very nuturing and loving but tough when necessary. The teachers are very involved and concerned regarding the childrens academic, spiritual and emotional development. The sports and other extracurrucular activities are great and the academic curriculm SUPERB. There is also strong parent support evident throughout the school. I strongly encourage parents to stop by and take a tour of the school and speak with the teachers and the Principal. My only regret regarding WWCS is that we didn't find it sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

I agree with the reader below... IF you can afford to send your children there then the school will serve your children well. I find it is very much a 'click' among the teachers, parents and school staff. School size is small but not very personal. Too much homework assigned to the kindergarten class is how my husband and I felt. The school has many events, parties and school 'show' programs that are planned without the working parents in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2006

This school is not for every student. If you have a child that struggles to maintain Average grades, this school will be VERY challenging. If, however, your child is an A, or AB student, this is the school for them. This school is for the students who want to excel in class, and not just get by. My son has attended this school since Kindergarten, and has maintained an A average throughout. He has been recognized as needing more challenging work, and for the most part the teachers recognize, and adjust his learning curriculum for him. The actual 'average' curriculum exceeds the Michigan standards. A critique of the principal was previously posted. Well, that particular principal vastly IMPROVED the school. from adding new classes, to improving the technology the school utilizes, while ensuring quality teachers. The current principal is strict, but knows how to run and improve a school. Money Well Spent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2006

The teachers for the most part do a good job, some tend to use too msny work sheets though and don't come up with enough creative ideas to teach. Strictly by the book. The school is a dictatorship, run by the principal, so it's her way or no way, which seems to work for some people. The children are all well behaved a this school and should carry this on later in life.If we could afford to keep going we would, but they need to pay their teachers so it's hard for them to work with you on finances. The 5 yrs. we were there overall were good for my children. They have made many freinds and truly were treated well by the teachers, it'll be hard to put them into public school after their experience at WWCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

I'm also a student here at Warren Woods Christian School and I love it here. I have loved it ever since the 2nd grade and now I am in 8th. We have the best and nicest teachers that other schools would not have. I am going to miss this school so much when I leave because they have a great curriculum, great teachers, and especially great students :). Everything here is Bible based as it should be in every school, but we can't do that. All we can do is reach the students and parents of the school. If you come here it is so easy to fit in, everyone accepts you. Even though this is a small school, there are big dreams and amazing lives. love, the best student to ever come to the most awesome school ever!, Tina Maceri <3
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2005

I am a student at Warren Woods Christian and I love it there. This is my last year at Warren Woods, and for our last year we are going on our 8th grade trip to Cleveland,Ohio and Cedar Pointe. WWCS is a very educating school. They are above most schools in curriculum. I do work at high school level, and my high school friends are learning the exact same stuff. The goal of Warren Woods CHRISTIAN is to strengthen the students relationships with God, and they do a great job at it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2005

My daughter has attended WWCS since Kindergarten, she is now in 4th grade. I have been thoroughly pleased with the quality of the education she has received so far. Her test scores are above and beyond compared to public school. I have seen my daughter grow spiritualy through the guidence of superb teachers and enthusiastic staff. I would recommend WWCS to anyone who wants the best for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

My daughter attended this school for 1st grade, 3rd, and 4th grade. She is now back at the school for 7th grade. The only reason why she was taken out of the school was because of a change in my job location. This is one of the best schools in the Warren area academically. They have an excellent curriculum (ABEKA) and they make learning fun! Compared to other schools, Warren Woods students on average are two to three years ahead of other students in the same grades at other schools. They nuture your children mentally and spirutually! I would recommend this school without any reservations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2004

I go to Warren Woods Christian School and I've been there since 2nd grade and am now in 6th. I think it's one of the best schools you could go to and they have really good athletic team. The best part about my school is we do everything for Christ Jesus. If you come to our school you will love it. There are so many cool moments that you will cherish at this school. Try it and you will see what I mean!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

11 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

11 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

11 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 71%
African-American 6% 20%
Hispanic 4% 5%
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Multiracial 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Beth Denhart
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of the nazarene
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (586) 772-9078

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14000 East 13 Mile Rd
Warren, MI 48088
Website: Click here
Phone: (586) 772-8787

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT