Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Powell Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 710 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2014

there are 2 math teachers you have to totally avoid if you want your child to learn math. Ms. Hart is the only math teacher that earns her keep and cares about the kids being able to grasp the concept but ms. braniff and ms. paloney have a lot to learn for sure! they need to go into ms. hart's class and learn a few skills on how to be a good teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

'OUTSTANDING' I would recommend it to everyone. Super Staff and Wonderful Teachers. Our son struggles in a class they are always there to help. They also have support and C O taught classes for the students This is a WONDERFUL SCHOOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

This school is very ghetto.I know because i go there.the teachers curse you the kids curse too,and my one of my teachers come in the bathroom with us when we are taking too long ,his name is coach gray and we are girls and i think he shouldn't be doing that because what if one of us were undressed or something.so i think he should knock he just brusts in.the other thing is some teachers don't treat us with respect but they want it .It's a lot more things but these are the most problems im having i hope this gets around and things change. :) ( wish i could rate zero)


Posted August 22, 2013

Very happy with Powell middle school,nice teachers and staff,we never had any problem.There is nothing to complain about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

I agree with the parent that posted on May 31, 2012. We had a horrible time at Powell. There were some good, caring teachers but the administration didn't seem to care one bit. We ended up moving our child to the Utica School District. In fact, my child has two other kids in his class that were also at Powell last year are with him at Utica this year. The staff at Utica have been wonderful and easy to contact. I enjoy walking into the school where staff smile and ask if you need any help, which is a complete contrast to Powell. I say if you can, do School of Choice and stay away from Powell!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2012

i am a student at Powell Middle School and i really like how the school isn't that big so its easy to get to one class to another. :) :) :)


Posted May 31, 2012

My son is a 7th grader here at Powell and he is a straight A student with absolutely no discipline issues. He has perfect attendance and is a great kid overall. initially I thought it was a pretty good school until I discovered when I had an issue with one of his elective teachers the vice principal and the counselor brushed me off and tried to turn it around saying i was acting as a "parent bully". When i tried to explain my issues my son is having with this particular teacher, the counselor totally defended him and did not resolve the issue at hand. My wife and I are so unhappy we are seriously considering transferring to the Utica School district which has a much better reputation. I tried to talk to the counselor about our issues and she told my son I was acting like a bully parent. Unprofessional and uncaring! Some of the teachers are awesome such as Ms. Bartlett but the principals and counselor were so unhelpful and made me so discouraged with the way the school is run. Totally would recommend to stay clear from this school if possible. My daughter is currently in 4th grade at Washington Elementary and I don't want her to attend Powell in 2 years for sure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

I am a 7th grade student at Powell Middle School. I think our school has good activities like ski club, which is my favorite! But our school could use some renavating but it is a good school. Some of the teachers are good and some are not, and i think alot of other students agree with that. But it is a pretty good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2008

My son begged to leave a christian school to come to Powell. We were aprehensive at first. However, the entire staff have been wonderful. My son had very weak writting skills but with the help of his teacher, he has progressed to average. This is a great school with a fantasitc staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

i loved this school and the teachers that go to this school i dont think there is one thing that they have to change about this school. my son loves it and i love it that is all that matters to me about a school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

Powell is overall, a good school. The extracurricular activities are great, and a lot of the teachers are, too. Although, some of the teachers are not great at all. They don't try to help the students, and some don't understand their students. The Principal is definately too strict.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2005

I'm a former student from Powell. I thought it was a very nice school. The teachers were very good too. My counsoler was very understandable and changed my schedule to fit my needs. The extra curricular activities were good. The Music program was excellent (all thanks to Mr. Kudzia and Mr. Felts) when I was there, but it has changed since. I took Art classes at Powell but they are nothing compared to the classes at the high school. I don't suggest taking art at Powell. The school does need some renovating, but other than that I was very at home at Powell Middle School. Everyone is down to earth there. Thank You Powell!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

225 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

227 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

229 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

245 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

231 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

230 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

234 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
13%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 69%
Hispanic 7% 6%
African-American 2% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jeff Laperriere
Fax number
  • (586) 752-0276

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

62100 Jewell Rd
Washington, MI 48094
Phone: (586) 752-0270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Malow Junior High School
Shelby Township, MI



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT