Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pierce Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1101 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 3, 2011

Parent that is looking to relocate to Waterford. Checking out the schools in this area.


Posted July 14, 2011

Our son attended Pierce his 8th grade year because the school district had to close down Crary Middle School (where he had been attending previously). As a parent who attended Pierce when I was in middle school, I was pleased to see that the staff at Pierce is maintaining the high quality standards that were there when I was a student. The teachers we worked with were all great, and very good at communicating information. We valued the use of EdLine and Parent Portal so we could track our son's assignments and grades. Teachers were great at answering questions and getting back to us. The principal is dedicated to educating the students there in the best ways possible. I only wish that our State government would quite cutting funding to our schools so that all our district schools could provide more resources and programs. Pierce staff do a good job, and the PTSA at Pierce is invaluable and provides additional funding for programs for the staff/teachers. I encourage all parents to get involved at Pierce and volunteer to help the PTSA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

Pierce Middle School could pay more attention to the condition of the school and school grounds. I find the staff of teachers I have worked with so far to be very good. I am still trying to figure out if the school principal is enforcing the rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

Pierce is an average school with average finances however the staff is excellent. In addition one would be hard pressed to find a school with more spirit. Pierce is also fortunate to have a superb PTSA and outstanding parent volunteer. Overall a really great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2007

Pierce Middle School is tremendous. I am a seventh grade student here and I am willing to debate that my school as well as teachers are the best. The teachers here make sure that my classmates and I understand what we have been taught before they move on. The teachers are very courteous and helpful and get a lot of respect from other parents and students. Pierce is safe and I enjoy it here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2007

In my experience, the staff of Pierce middle school (and many other Waterford Schools) is the best kept secret in Michigan. I can not believe that the staff can do the wonderful job they do under questionable conditions. If you are looking for a school where your child will get great opportunities and a professional caring staff look no further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

Pierce Middle School has to be the work school in the state of Michigan. The staff is extremely unprofessional. They are replacing the entire administartion next year and I am not sure which school they will go to but you may want to check to make sure its not your school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2004

nice clean school, wonderful teachers, office staff helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

296 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

294 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

313 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

343 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

333 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

342 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

320 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

324 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

338 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 69%
Hispanic 9% 6%
African-American 7% 18%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Multiracial 1% 2%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Yvonne Dixon
Fax number
  • (248) 674-4222

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5145 Hatchery Rd
Waterford, MI 48329
Website: Click here
Phone: (248) 674-0331

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Academy Of Waterford
Waterford, MI


St Stephen Lutheran School
Waterford Township, MI


Mason Middle School
Waterford, MI



Waterford Adventist School
Waterford Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT