Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

St. Damian School

Private | K-8 | 172 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Westland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $72,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2013

St. Damian School is an amazing place. This community's staff, parents, and parishioners continually strive to be a light to one another through their faith....yes, just like any place, there are ups and downs. However, St. Damian School stands out because it has persevered with the support of a thriving, tri-parish community, a strong, respected leadership, and a veteran school staff that continuously reflects, analyzes, and grows in knowledge together as a team. I am forever thankful for being able to share this community with my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

I've never been disappointed with our decision to send our daughter to this school. She is challenged and gets extra attention when needed. Her classmates are like a second family to her. I would recommend this school to anyone who is looking for an excellent education for their child. Great school and great community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

Our family is fairly new to St. Damian's, but we can't say enough about what a great Catholic community it is. The teachers foster an enthusiasm in their students for learning new and challenging topics. There is truly a renewed excitement amongst the students, parents and staff at St. Damian for the programs and ideas that are being implemented by the new principal. The extracurricular activity selection is wonderful, including both athletic and academic clubs. The use of technology is outstanding - smartboards in every classroom, computer instruction at every grade level and Ipads are on the way into the classrooms. This allows a whole new avenue of information to be taught and discussed in the classrooms. We are excited to have our kids at such a great school and look forward to many more amazing experiences with our St. Damian community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2013

St. Damian School is truly a "diamond in the ruff.' The dedication of the teachers and parents are inspirational. The academic standards are high and give students a good foundation for high school. The Catholic identity not only shown at Mass, but throughout the day is encouraging! Come and visit our school and experience God's love in action!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 2, 2013

St. Damian has been a blessing for our family. One child needed extra guidance. The teachers went above and beyond to help. My other children needed to be pushed and again the teachers found ways to motivate and excite them about education. We highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2013

The air is electric with the excitement for the future. The parents at St. Damian are so willing to help and share great ideas! This is how a community works together to show children the hands and feet of Christ in action!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 1, 2013

The buzz of learning from each classroom, exhilarating! The commitment of our parents, invigorating! A glowing future, boundless! Stop and see for yourself the faith-based academic, and physical education we provide each day. No one does it like the St. Damian Chargers!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 1, 2013

St. Damian (Preschool-8th Grade) has recently added Apple IPAD's for on-line instruction and interactive Smart Boards in every classroom. We have a dedicated faculty of highly qualified teachers who offer enrichment and co-operative learning opportunities. We have one of the lowest tuition prices in the area! Both AM and PM latchkey services are available. Tuition assistance and transportation opportunities can also be found. Call 734-427-1680 for more information or come take a tour!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 1, 2013

St. Damian is a school that has what it takes to succeed. The pastor has made changes that show he truly cares about the future of our school. As teachers, we constantly strive to provide a top quality education for the students. The principal is enthusiastic and has ideas that will advance our teachers and students. She motivates everyone to want to do their best! Our pep rally this week has shown that we have CHARGER SPIRIT and that our students love our school and that we are not just a school community, but a family of educators and learners.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 1, 2013

St. Damian has a faith filled family atmosphere. Our highly effective educators provide our students with the necessary skills to become life long learners in our ever changing world. Our teachers actively engage our students' keen thirst of knowledge by incorporating a variety of real world activities through technology, manipulatives and cooperative learning opportunites. St. Damian School is where faith meets education! Go Chargers!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 26, 2013

Glad to see that there is a new administrator! Saint Damian School has a bright future now!


Posted May 19, 2012

About the comment done by a parent on 07/18/2010, I am surprised how much different is the school described there than the real one. Was the parent referring to the same one in Westland? I owuld say that the education is extraordinary for a parish school with intense parent participation, sometimes to much... That is why, many new families come to the school and remain there thru 8 grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

Don't be fouled by these rumors. My children go to St. Damain and it's a great school. I support the princpal's decision on not renewing the contract. Both my children were in her class and lets just say it was the right move! (she played favorites). It's sad to see a few people try to bring down this great school. The pastor is a wonderful man and I love the direction that the principal is taking the school. If you are looking for a Great school to send your children too pick St. Damian. You will not regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2010

Fantastic school and principal!!!! Really disappointing to see how cruel people can be. The principal goes above and beyond for anyone. Her door is always open and she has a wonderful disposition. My kids love it here and are excited for the year to begin. It is sad to see how some parents are resorting to gossip and insist on bringing such negativity into this school. Principal has bent over backwards for this school- yet some will not appreciate nor recognize a good thing until it is gone. I volunteer all the time and never had a problem. We have yet to be disappointed here!!!:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2010

The changes the school has made in the last 3 years has NOT been an inprovement. The principal excelled as a teacher, yet as an administrator she lacks the patience, understanding and wisdom to be an effective leader. It's her way or the highway, no matter how BAD her ideas are. WIth the exception of the 3rd, 4th and 8th grade teachers, the rest can be replaced. Parents are helpful and want to be involved, yet the atmosphere doesn't allow or make you feel comfortable to get or stay involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

We are a new family to the school and we LOVE it! Small, yet not crowded. Just enough for a child to grow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

This school has a warm & loving environment. The principal has had a ton of added responsibilties to her plate, but is a fair, wise leader, who is always there to listen. My kids experience a great learning environment, surrounded by families with similar moral & religious values as our own. I will keep them here as long as possible & feel confident they are getting the best education around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

Great School, Good Teachers, large athletic field/playground area for kids to play sports and for recess. Many CYO sports and clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

You will be so glad you chose St. Damian for your children. I know I am. My children are challenged daily and the teachers have high expectations for each student. The teachers are the best around. The junior high will prepare you child for high school in every way. They also offer many activities after school. Compare prices and you will find we are also very affordable compared to other schools in our area. Our school is a great place for children to grow and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

I used to attend this school. It was a great experiance for me and a great change of pace from public schools. The teachers and staff are very helpful and gave every child including myself all the help we needed to excel in academics, our faith, and life.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 71%
Hispanic 2% 5%
African-American 1% 20%
Asian 1% N/A
Multiracial 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jacqueline Mojeske
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (734) 427-1272

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Detroit
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

29891 Joy Rd
Westland, MI 48185
Phone: (734) 427-1680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Cambridge High School
Garden City, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT