Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John Marshall Upper Elementary School

Public | 4-6 & ungraded | 838 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2014

Marshall's communication is top notch and the building is very well maintained. My child loves his teacher. The best thing is I can tell my child's teacher loves her class too. I have shared many of our positive experiences with other parents as well. I've been really pleased with our choice to stay in WW. Regarding bullying concerns, unfortunately that happens everywhere. If there is a concern, follow up with the school. You cannot assume what has or has not been done until facts are clear. I've interacted with the Social Worker and both Principals and they've been great. Love the teacher though! What a treasure she is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2014

Bullying issues start at home? So my child being bullied and coming home crying started in my house???? No it did not!!!!!!! Everyone has a different opinion but that one is just wrong and rude
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

My son is on his second year at Marshall Elementary. Although I adore his 6th grade teacher, I am highly disappointed with the administration. Some of my son's friends have been bullied by other students, even physically accosted, unfortunately most times these actions go ignored. At the end of one school day my son's best friend was slapped so hard his glasses fell off on the way to the bus. My son took his friend to the office and he was told to rush onto the bus and although reported, the boy who slapped him never received a punishment. This same boy has threatened other students in class and he is constantly sent to the office but he has never once been suspended. It is too bad that this is the situation because my son has a phenomenal teacher and elective teachers; but more attention is paid to the MEAP exams rather than the safety of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Great school with a wonderful staff although the school has some room for improvement . As with all schools in Michigan the Meap scores bring down their overall ratings as a school. I personally am not a fan of the Meap as some students are not natural test takers which muddies the waters for a rating system in Michigan. I grade the school on my children and their knowledge level. They are bright and can discuss all subjects with a level of understanding that the Meap test can not measure. Great job Marshall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

Due to my last review of Ms. Murphy i felt it was only fair to update. I spoke with the principal, Mrs. Murphy today and after a twenty minute conversation, she deleted my sons suspension. She explained her views on the situation but also listened to mine. Not only did she remove his suspension, she also called my son to her office(he brought his backpack because he thought he was suspended again-lol) and apologized to him and gave him a hug. Although I still think it shouldn't have taken a phone call from me, I do appreciate her being open minded enough to listen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

My child is entering his second year at Marshall and we are looking forward to another great year. He had an awesome 5th grade teacher...and we look forward to seeing who he'll have for 6th grade. There are a few issues with behavior for a lot of students, but I blame their parents...not the school. Mrs. Murphy really seems to care for the kids and I'm thrilled she is back for another year :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2010

We are in the first year of the new Marshall Upper Elementary, and while I'm thrilled with my child's teacher, I'm concerned with the number of overloaded classrooms, the amount of time teachers are out of the classroom due to Professional Development, as well as the cockroach issues. I would like to see more after school activities that welcome the whole family. Dances are inappropriate for elementary students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

I am a student at Marshall Middle School, and I think it is outstanding! The teachers are wonderful, they will stay after school to help out the students. And a special shout out to Ms. Hunt, Ms. Cox, Ms. Iwaniec, and Mr. D... So parents people may say the school is bad but it is an asweome school for your kids. Sincerely, the Pizza Lover (inside joke)
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2009

The teachers and sports are great!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2009

this school is one of the best schools out there. it gives a great education for my kid. he loves it , so i love.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2008

I currently go to John Marshall Middle School (2007-2009). I love how the teachers really take time and get to know each and everyone. I give it five stars because i think it is an outstanding school. Parents don't hesitate in enrolling your child in Marshall Middle. Also their food is pretty good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2007

I Currently go to John Marshall middle school (2006_2008). I really like the peolple. I owe a special thanks to Mrs.Pace, Mrs.Hunt and Mrs.Cox in that order. I was the only one there that was different (racial wise). They made me feel normal and made me feel accepted into that school. John Marshall is a really great school. If you are thinking to Enroll your child there do not hesitate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2006

I think that Jonh Marshall Middle School is a great school I go there now and I love the the teachers are nice and the teachers care about you and your problems if you are looking for a school come here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2004

Parents please do not send your children here my daughter was a student there last year and the school was horrible: cockroachs, moldy drinking foutains, and the coulser would not listen to you or your son/daughter please save your children and pick a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2004

The teachers there are really cool. Almost all the teachers will spend THIER time after school to go one-one with a student.When I went to Marshall last year (2003-2004) for my 8th grade and final year,there was this huge storm, some of you may remember it. It had green skies and a Whole lot of rain. All my History teacher (Dr. Kliza) cared about was getting the other students and myself to saftey. That's gotta tell you that whoever hired the teachers did a good job.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

395 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

397 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

400 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
9%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

409 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

410 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

411 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 69%
African-American 34% 18%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Asian 1% 3%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian 0% 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Bobby Kelly
Fax number
  • (734) 595-2588

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

35100 Bayview St
Westland, MI 48186
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 419-2277

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT