Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Universal Learning Academy

Charter | K-9 | 638 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Westland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $72,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2014

ULA is a great school--- my son absolutely loves it! We just moved from another state not too long ago and I can see the difference right away. The teachers are experienced and very helpful. The principal and staff are all amazing! Keep up the great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2013

This year they got lots of new teachers that do not know what to do and they are not organized.Am talking here about the sixth grade teachers except for the Math teacher Ms "Strecker" she is the only one that cares about teaching the subject.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

This is by far one of the worst schools I've ever been to. My child completely, and utterly hates the school. I don't blame them. The teachers are horrible. They can't teach very well, and I know that because my child is up all night doing homework, always struggling. The science teacher is not a very good teacher with a dull personality, as well as the other staff. The teachers want nothing but the money. That's why they are there. The school's MEAP scores were not all that high either. I am definitely transferring my child to another school. They deserve better than this "school".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

Universal Learing Academy. I am a parent of a first grader at ULA. This is my second year at ULA. I have seen excellent progress within the past year. Administration and staff are wonderful. My son is in 1D and he has Ms. Scher. She is an amazing teacher who has taught my son lots of things. I've noticed great change in my sons behavior because of her. She teachs from the heart and cares for her students, he pushes them to succeed and doesn't want them to give up. I am really pleased with the elementary team at ULA They are all awesome. My son always has great things to say about his teacher. The best thing about Ms. Scher is that she always has a smile on her face for her students. I would like to say thank you Ms. Scher for making my son become more dependent and more looking forward into learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2013

I am a parent at this school. I loved this year so much where I felt very welcomed from all staff, principal, paraprofessional,etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2013

Universal learning academy. I am a parent of 3 students at ULA. The new administration team this year is amazing. They really will do anything for the students. Since they are new here, there are still a few things that need to be worked on, and organization is one of them. But I must say this has been the best year by far! Keep up the good work, and everything will work itself out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

I have volunteered in one of the Arabic classes (4th grade ). I was surprised with the way that Mrs. Elromh teaches her class. She was dressed up as a scientist and asking the students to talk using the Arabic language. I was stunned with the way that all students were quiet and trying to particpate.She also brought different old items to show the students about different inventions and how we improved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

Universal Learning Academy is a school which allows students to be exactly who they are on the inside. The leadership team at the school push very hard for us to be our best.


Posted June 7, 2013

Universal Learning Academy is a great school to send your children to. The staff and administration push the kids to be their best and to work hard. The staff is incredibly friendly and always available to help parents. Many of them offer their services after school to help students that need extra help. The environment is friendly and welcoming. The principal of the school is incredibly accomodating and always available if needed. They serve free breakfast and lunch to all the students and offer a wide variety of afterschool programs.


Posted March 12, 2013

I am the parent of a kindergarten student in Ms. Hedke's class. I have been very happy with my childs education and the level he is progressing. The teacher takes her time to speak with the parents everyday and is never to busy for us. I have observed her in the class room with the students, and was blown away. The amount of care and love she provides to our children was incredible. I am very happy I selected this school for my child. Everyone in the school that I have encountered is very kind and helpful. They also offer free breakfast and lunch for all students and encourage health eating habbits. There is no disgusting mystery meals here, just real food.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

The teachers really care about their students. Teachers go above and beyond for their students, so that they will be successful not only during elementary school but in life as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Universal Learning Academy is a great place to learn! We look forward to our MEAPsters and SCANTRONians leading our school to victory with another year of meeting AYP requirements and meeting our goals of continuous school improvement. Our Superintendent/Founder Mrs. Nawal Hamadeh is leading the way this year and has empowered all to 'Transform & Discover the Wonders of your Wisdom, Strength & Powers'. With that we are able to get out of our 'Comfort Zone' and 'Keep on Going'. We will not Quit on our 2009-10 Theme of 'Dream*Imagine*Re-Imagine*Change'!


Posted October 30, 2009

It is the best place you can work at, all the staff over here are like one big family, our staff give their best and push beyond the limit to help students achieve their goals in education and life. we also provide the best and most healthy food, mostly home made to make sure our beloved students get all the nutrition they need to stay focused.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Universal Learning Academy is an establishment where everyone from the principal to the Parent Teacher Committee is dedicated to the success of the students both in and out of the classroom. Students are learning to be independent thinkers, questioners, and risk takers in their academics. They are also encouraged to be caring toward others and their communities.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 30, 2009

It's a great school to work for! We have a great staff, that is very friendly and supportive!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 30, 2009

We met AYP, we have the most conducive environmeny. We fully utalize technology.We all have computers and an electronic means of tracking our daily activities, monitoring school improvement implementation, tracking student progress, communicating with all key stakeholders (staff, parents, students, community members). Every department utilizes technology and it is integrated throughout our curriculum. The changes for strategic planning this year have made our jobs easier in using outlook to track our activities, meetings and tasks and sharing and exporting as a means for reporting; using PowerSchool for tracking/monitoring/reporting; having support staff (parapro s/support providers) setup to have their own electronic gradebooks. Our parnets are deeply involved in the education of their kids. The entire community supports us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

We are one big family. Students, staff, parents, and all interested parties intertwine to form a community focused at educating the whole child!


Posted October 30, 2009

We always have the students' best interests at heart and we are more determined than ever to make sure that we are meeting all of our students' diverse needs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 6, 2009

My 9 year old has really excellently progressed since enrolling 3 years ago
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

I love the after scholl A.C.E. It is helping my daughter a great deal and to my surprise and after much complaining about starting, she actually enjoys the the extra time in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 17% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
2%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 26% in 2014.

33 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 69%
African-American 9% 18%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian N/A 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Nawal Hamadeh
Fax number
  • (734) 402-5901

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

28015 Joy Rd
Westland, MI 48185
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 402-5900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Star International Academy
Dearborn Heights, MI



Highview Elementary School
Dearborn Heights, MI


St. Linus School
Dearborn Heights, MI



St. Anselm School
Dearborn Heights, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT