Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Memorial Lutheran School and Preschool Learning Center

Private | PK-5 | 18 students

We are best known for Christian family atmosphere and small classes.

 
 

Living in Williamston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

All four of our children attended this school from K-8th grade. What a blessing for them to hear the Word of God every day. They had great teachers and the family aspect of the school was wonderful. They made friends for a life time and so did the parents. Two of our sons have a masters degree and the other two soon will. That all started with a great elementary education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2011

I am currently a student at Memorial Lutheran school and love it. Everyone knows each other and are so friendly to new students. We have two teachers for our K-8 grade whom are Mrs.Domke (K-4) and Mr.Pederson (5-8 and principal).


Posted January 10, 2008

My daughter attended the preschool and we enjoyed the experience. Mrs. Melso is wonderful teacher and cares deeply for all of the children . Just knowing that everyone there knows your child and truly loves them is a blessing. I am truly grateful to all the staff and would recommend this preschool to all, even if you should choose public education for your children in later years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

I graduated from this school about a year ago, and it's a very nice school. Some of the classes I was required to take in high school were the same as the ones I had in 8th grade, so it was very easy. Other classes I wasn't prepared for, but that's okay. I was just as prepared as most of the kids from the public school. It was quite a shock when I went to the public high school, though, because everything was so differant. My peers were okay at the best of times, but the teachers were usually very good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2006

My nephew has severe allergies. We were afraid to put him in a large public school because he would get lost in the crowd and would possibly be given something that could give him an allergic reaction. This school is small, everyone knows him, knows his allergies, knows where his emergency bag is. I feel so much better about his safety there than I would about him going anywhere else. And with the classes going up to 8th grade, he has years ahead of him with people who truly care about him. Also, the teachers are great, the classes are small, and there always seem to be parents around helping out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

I walk the halls every day and help with the computer needs and instruct computer classes at the school. My greatest trill comes from hearing God's word every day. I pray to the Lord for his leadership and see it from each of the 6 teachers. Our preschool is one of the best around and our kindergarden rocks. The campus is 10 arces and has a soccerfield, softball diamond and a college size basketball gym court. We have small hills for sledding in the winter and a large play ground area. My children have attended there since 1998 and I am proud to be a Memorial Lutheran Church and School member. Our enrollment has declined to 60 and 17 more in preschool. I see new students enrolling in the upper classes each year and enjoy watching them learn more about our Lord. Come join us and grow in God's word.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

this school is a good way to have your children learn about god and at the same thing math and reading and writing and all the other school stuff the school is from 8:30 to 3:30 and always has something that your children can do after, my children have been going here since kindergarten and i think its a great school if u want your children to learn about god while having fun at school come here kindergarten the teacher is Mrs. Bater 1-2 is Miss Hardman and 3-4 is Mrs. domke 5-6 is Mr.Roth who makes class the funniest 7-8 is Mr. melso who always has a joke up is sleve. Pleas come to our school the children there are very very nice and friendly to new kids our school year starts in August and they get out for the summer on May 30 please come to our school please.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 69%
African-American 4% 19%
Hispanic 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Multiracial 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Pastor David Voss
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod
Fax number
  • (517) 655-1402

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Williamston
Michigan Lutheran Seminary
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2070 East Sherwood Rd
Williamston, MI 48895
Website: Click here
Phone: (517) 655-1402

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Martha School
Meridian Charter Township, MI


Cornell Elementary School
Meridian Charter Township, MI


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT