Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodrow Wilson School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 912 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2014

I was nervous about sending my son to middle school, who has autism, but I have been wonderfully surprised. The teachers have been awesome to my child and they love him!! I absolutely love this school and the administration! They are hard working and actually care about the students. For those that have posted negative comments, I recommend that you GET INVOLVED!! There are plenty of ways to do so. Great job this year Mr. K & Mr. J.!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

We are new the area and I have one child that attends this school. I have no complaints, my daughter says everyone has been very kind to her, both students and staff. I wonder if all the negative comments are from students and parents with diciplanry problems because I dont see the complaints as valid!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

I do not approve of the way this school is run. Lets start with the mentor program. All that they are doing in that waste of time plan is letting children who don't do good in school out of their classes early, and making some kids who actually do well also leave class, and I don't see the benefit of that. Now for the music teacher. My god, Kane is lucky I like music, because I hate her. We did absolutely nothing in her class other than warm up our voices, and occasionally dance, and do random activities that arent helping us towards the concerts. They dont even try to start teaching us the songs we need to learn until a week before the performance. And even then, we're also learning choreography, and she expected us to know all of it when we went over it twice. Plus, she has never made an effort to actually know any of her students. I know that's not exactly a teacher's job, but it hurts when she's pointing out and complimenting every other student in the class, except you. Her daughter is nice though, Johnson or however it's spelled. Shes funny, and get this, SHE KNOWS MY NAME.


Posted March 26, 2014

Lousy school. Poor administration and a lot of police activity on a regular basis. This school is over ran with out of district misbehaved children who have taken over. The staff and administrators are so busy disciplining there is no time for teaching and definitely no time for learning anything positive!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

HORRIBLE SCHOOL... They worry about every other little thing like dress codes instead of grades. Some teachers are great but then there's teachers like Mrs. Barton who would rather stalk kids on social media websites to get them in trouble for the littlest things instead of doing her job. Also the principal are really bad they over exaggerate everything and get you the worst punishment you could possibly get. This school sucks I recommend you don't go here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 11, 2013

I am rating this school low due to the organization of pick up and drop off. the times were changed for the 2013 year by 10 minutes which is still not enough time. There is an elementary school across the street and the parents start lining up to pick up their kids about a half hour. so in order to pick up middle school kids you will want to be there 2 hours in advance. Wyandotte does not have a bussing system so all the parents pick up. There is utter chaos during pick up and drop off. I have seen a bus side swipe a car and drive right away, granted the car was parked illegally. There is usually no parking for at least a 3 block radius around the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Very caring staff. GREAT Special Ed program


Posted April 17, 2010

Excellent teachers who go WAY above and beyond to teach each child in the best way that child learns. Support staff who support and advocate tirelessly. We don't have alot of money here in Wyandotte - but we have alot of excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

It is a safe learning environment whose teachers genuinely care about the well being and education of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

Way to strict, and some of the teachers are nice but others are really meen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2010

The my student at woodrow wilson middle school used to attend another school, And i have noticed that the work that the teachers give the students is work that he has learned in late grade school so I am a concerned parent and am ready to pull my student out of wilson and put him in another district with better schooling and test scores and ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

I am a sudent at Wilson and so far in my years of going there me aswell as my parents agree that the teachers and staff are inpolite and do not teach what is needed to know to do well in there education carrer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2007

We have one daughter at Wilson Middle school so far. Both my husband and I have been very impressed and happy with the way the school is managed, and how good the teachers are. I believe the principal has set down many good rules for the kids to follow regarding dress code and conduct. I think more schools should look at Wilsons structure. My daughter has continue to excel at Wilson, she was on the Principals list this year. I would like to give a shout out the the principal, teachers and staff at Wilson....Thank you for the Great Job you are doing! The Patrick Family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2006

Woodrow Wilson Middle School is a wonderful school the food they serve is delicious they really care about their students and teachers. The teachers teach the lesson in a fun way that kids ddo a lot better with then just regular academics. It is well put together and is run by a great staff. Physical Education is everyday all year. Except if you join orchestra or chorus. The 7th grade and 8th grade are on seperate floors the students are dived into houses or a group of 4 academic teachers. the 8th grade is split up into the green house and into the red and purple house. The 7th grad is dived into gold house and blue house. There is Computers Media tech Fun with shapes and angles The history of American films and tech or woodshop These are electives.This is a great school please think about enrolling your child.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

327 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
20%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2014.

326 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 27% in 2014.

338 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2014.

291 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

292 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

292 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 35% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
11%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2014.

307 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 20% in 2014.

328 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
6%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Michigan used the Michigan Educational Assessment Program (MEAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in math, reading and writing; in grades 5 and 8 in science; and in grades 6 and 9 in social studies. Currently, GreatSchools' ratings reflect 2013 MEAP results; ratings will be updated after 2014 Michigan Merit Examination (MME) results are released. The MEAP is a standards-based test, which measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Michigan. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, the Michigan State Board of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the MEAP test. In addition, they have recalculated past years' results using these new standards for proficiency, making the above year-over-year results comparable.

Source: Michigan Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

19%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Michigan. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MEAP results from the state of Michigan.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 net growth (significant improvement/improvement - significant decrease/decrease) according to Performance Level Changes from the state of Michigan.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 69%
Hispanic 7% 6%
African-American 3% 18%
Asian 1% 3%
Multiracial 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 1%
Native Hawaiian N/A 0%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A48%
Source: MI Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jason Krajewski
Fax number
  • (734) 759-5309

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1275 15Th St
Wyandotte, MI 48192
Website: Click here
Phone: (734) 759-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT