Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hillcrest Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 432 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 12, 2014

As I write this today, I have a fifth grader graduating from Hillcrest and a Kinder entering next fall. My husband and I are so incredibly pleased with Hillcrest, it's teachers, the principal, the specialists, the students, the custodial & maintenance staff, and other parents - a whole community that cares for one another regardless of ability, race, or any other differences we may have. The essence of this school is "family" and everyone takes part in the education of our children. We believe in the Artful Learning program and are very honored that we can enjoy all the benefits of this very special, welcoming school! I would encourage families to explore their options carefully and you will see that HIllcrest is FAR above other elementary schools in so many ways. We especially appreciate their Boule program that criss-crosses various ages and knocks down walls that could limit our children, and a wide variety of "welcome festivals" for grandparents and family to join in on the celebration of life at Hillcrest. The environment at Hillcrest promotes healthy, well-mannered, and empowered children - isn't that what we all want for our kids? We do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

I have so many good things to say about Hillcrest, it is hard to pick just a few so to summarize how I feel about our school all I can say is that every time I go to the school I walk out saying to myself how lucky my family is to have such a wonderful school. I leave feeling happy that my kids are safe and cared for. I don't have any statistics but I can assure you this school creates kids who love to read and are motivated to read but most importantly they help the students become respectful and well mannered community members. There are days I go to volunteer and wish I could just stay the entire day, the students are wonderful and everyone is having fun and learning all day long. If someone asks me about our school I can truly respond "I Love Love Love our school".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

Hillcrest is an amazing school. I cannot say enough great things about the staff and families at Hillcrest. The leadership is excellent and the Artful Learning program is both challenging and fun for students. We feel so lucky to be a part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

Hillcrest teachers are attentive to each and every child's academic and social needs. We have two children that attended Hillcrest after leaving a private school. Both were behind in their reading skills. Yet, after one year at Hillcrest they both achieved scores at or above grade level expectations. Now, both children are thriving in Honors and AP classes in high school and college. Our third child attends Hillcrest now, years after our first two attended and the quality of education remains the same. The principal seems to know every child by name and makes them feel welcome at the school. Hillcrest Community School had a huge impact on the success of our children while in elementary school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2013

I had a hard time knowing which selection to choose from the drop down menu, since I am both a teacher at Hillcrest and parent of two students of my own who attend the school. What I don't have a hard time with is stating what an absolutely wonderful experience my family has had with Hillcrest! All the teachers my children have had have been incredibly caring and supportive. Both of my children have been challenged academically and have grown tremendously. My two students know that Hillcrest is a community that cares - they truly love going to school every day! As a teacher at Hillcrest for the past 10+ years, I have been proud of the way we have served a wide array of families. Our school is a dynamic place to be - especially as we have recently given our focus to Artful Learning. We enjoy using this way of teaching to engage a diverse group of learners.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 6, 2013

I have three children who attend this school and I have found it to be a complete family. The principal knows all about my kids, but he also knows every child in the building. My kids are challenged in their education, and the focus on art integration has broadened their horizons. When at Chicago Art museum, both of my older kids immediately identified many pieces from the collection. The have many chances to use art in their learning. Teachers work with parents to help their kids be successful! The waiting list is long, but worth the wait!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

We have two children at this school and couldn't be happier. There are so many opportunities for them to be challenged and engaged in learning. There is a vibe at this school that is hard to describe. The teachers are caring they go out of their way to connect with our kids. The principal greets me by name whenever I see him. I like the sense of community here and I'm excited about the new arts focus for my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

LOVE Hillcrest : ) Great teachers. Great families. So glad we found this place for our kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

My son was accepted in this school, he attended for three months. What a horrible school, he had a very bad teacher, arrogant, no patient , zero respect. I would advice people of color not to consider this school. I am glad I took my son out that school. We are very happy at the school we are in right now. Parents don't get fooled by this school rating, Hillcrest is only good for some, not for everybody. Parent should be careful about this school because their rating is just based on the group who are attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

My child was offered an opportunity to attend Hillcrest. We were excited about the schools ratings and thought it would be a great place for our child to attend. If I have any concerns about this school, its diversity. I m sure a lot of parents find it to be a great place and have good experiences. I m just saying personally we didn t feel comfortable. We are a Multi Cultural Family I think the school district may want to look more closely into the Hillcrest Environment. We support our school district and like to see the best in all our schools...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

We were not happy with this school, its sad because when we got selected we were so happy, but then it was awful! Hillcrest is NOT for everyone. Good Luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

There's lots of parental involvement which is great! However I think the leadership of the school is very weak. I've contacted the principal on two different occasions via email and he does not respond in anyway. If you have a concern or an issue he seems to want to just walk away while you are trying to speak to him. I plan to change my children's school next year because I feel they're not getting as good of an education in math and reading as they should.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

Great School !! Awesome teachers. Small class sizes, and a principle who cares. As a LATINO FAMILY we are extremely satisfice. HILLCREST is another Home for my kids !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Small class sizes, excellent teachers, and a principle who cares... in fact he knows every student's name! What a way to make a child feel special!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

Great school -provides a solid educational program while intigrating community spirit and self esteem for each student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Hillcrest is truly a community school, there is an energy & synergy that is hard to describe but incredible to witness. The staff and teachers work together to provide a solid education to each student while building and reinforcing community and citizenship skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

The community spirit thrives in all that teachers, students. and parents do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

Because of the community feel/involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

Parents have chosen to come to our school and are very supportive. The kids are great and the teachers and staff are committed and caring.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 9, 2009

Kids help out, teachers work together to create exciting learning opportunities, parents are very involved. There is a fervor to the climate and it is a very welcoming place.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2010.

77 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2010.

65 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2010.

70 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 46% in 2011.

62 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students89%
Female90%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students91%
Female89%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Reading

All Students93%
Female90%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-II (MCA-II) to test students in math in grade 11. The MCA-II is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female79%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant78%

Reading

All Students81%
Female83%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female93%
Male82%
Black82%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant87%

Reading

All Students70%
Female78%
Male61%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Not migrant70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female75%
Male72%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant74%

Reading

All Students81%
Female88%
Male75%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant81%

Science

All Students79%
Female81%
Male78%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Minnesota used the Minnesota Comprehensive Assessment-III (MCA-III) to test in math in grades 3 through 8 in reading in grades 3 through 8 and 10 and in science for grades 5 and 8, and once in high school. The MCA-III is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Minnesota. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Minnesota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data is not reported for that group.

Source: Minnesota Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 73%
Black 9% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A37%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9301 Thomas Rd
Bloomington, MN 55431
Phone: (952) 681-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


271 Mindquest Oll
Bloomington, MN


Bethany Academy
Bloomington, MN



Nativity Of Mary School
Bloomington, MN


Olson Elementary School
Bloomington, MN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT