Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Columbia Academy 4

Posted April 22, 2016
- a parent
We have had a good experience with Columbia Academy with 2 of our kids so far. We love the uniforms and the ability to check grades and help hold our kids accountable to their school work. The new principal and school-board members are making great efforts to improve the middle school's - as well as the rest of the district's- image. They are focusing on career and college ready students and it's exciting to see it start to pay off!

Columbia Academy 1

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
This school is a joke! My son was a A student and now is an F student. The teachers don't call to inform you of what is going on with your child and when you try to call the teachers or any of the staff, they with don't call you back or wait 2-3 days to return your call. I dot recommend this school or the district for that matter. I have younger children at north park, that school is even worse!!!


Columbia Academy 2

Posted June 17, 2015
- a community member
the principal there dont care all they do is suspend students. my daughter has was having issues with getting to class on time and all the did was susupend her. she was out of school for the last 2 weeks because she was told to not come back.

Columbia Academy 1

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
the principal there dont care all they do is suspend students and there is violence all over the school and they do nothing about it

Columbia Academy
no rating

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
My child came to this school with an IEP they have completely stopped giving him special education services and in fact lied about him being in special education classes. They are provided funding, grants, and subsidies for certain special education courses yet what they're getting funded for they don't offer. They have called my children stupid the teachers curse at students and the students run around swearing and fighting my A & B child is getting F's now. If you're child has an IEP do not send them to this school. If you care about your child's education stay far away from this school as possible


Columbia Academy 1

Posted December 29, 2013
- a community member
My last review got deleted. But I feel that this school is seriously horrible. The principles don't care, the teachers are just mean and there's fights and gang violence all over the school. The best thing in the school is lunch, and that's even horrible. I don't recommend this school to any kid.

Columbia Academy 4

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
I applaud and thank the staff and administration at Columbia Academy and Columbia Heights School District for responding to a huge influx of mixed culture students over the past 5-6 years (2006-2012). Their decision to promote and win compliance from parents to move to a uniform system, ala parochial/private schools, along with reinvigorating STEM, Arts and Music has catapulted student involvement and grades to new highs. They have brought a new cadre of educators with fresh ideas and vigor, as the Jr.high/middle school classroom environment of hormone charged youngsters has not changed. And yet many parents, who have given up their parental control to the schools, continue to chastise CH administration apparently in retaliation for the unwanted calls for parental involvement and responsibility. So, you might consider this a response to the prior review of 12/2/2011.

Columbia Academy 1

Posted December 02, 2011
- a community member
The principal at this school is a JOKE. Changing the name of a school doesn't make it better. Changing things just to change them serves no one (except someone's job resume). They should let the teachers run this school. The teacher's dedication to the kids is evident. The principal's dedication is obviously to herself.


Columbia Academy 4

Posted November 28, 2010
- a community member
i like this school . i had some issues w/ it last year . . but i separated myself from all of the drama , cause it was mainly one person starting all of the stuff . it was me who wrote the one by a student saying that i hated it last year , i did hate it last year . but this year i love it . i wouldn't want to go anywhere else . you just have to watch who you hang out w/ . my parents want me to switch schools . . but i don't want to at all . i think that would be ridiculous . this school has some great teachers . most of them really care about you & actually want you to learn . & the gang stuff i said was about to happen last year . . actually didn't happen . there were just a bunch of mexicans walking down the street & the cops thought something was going to happen , but nothing did . i'm doing pretty well in school now i guess you could say . . i need to try harder though & this quarter i'm going to make it happen . all of the kids at this school are good kids except for about 5 . there is no gang stuff going on at all . this is a good school in my opinion & i really wouldn't want to go anywhere else . i plan on going to the high school .

Columbia Academy 2

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
The school has been improving, but I am concerned that too much effort is being put into trying to make the school sound great ( changing the name ) then just rolling up the sleeves and working at making it great.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Columbia Academy
900 49th Ave NE, Columbia Heights, MN  55421
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (763) 528-4701
Last modified Columbia Academy is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top