Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-8
Public
Columbia Heights, MN

2 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Columbia Academy 1

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
the principal there dont care all they do is suspend students and there is violence all over the school and they do nothing about it

Columbia Academy 0
no rating

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
My child came to this school with an IEP they have completely stopped giving him special education services and in fact lied about him being in special education classes. They are provided funding, grants, and subsidies for certain special education courses yet what they're getting funded for they don't offer. They have called my children stupid the teachers curse at students and the students run around swearing and fighting my A & B child is getting F's now. If you're child has an IEP do not send them to this school. If you care about your child's education stay far away from this school as possible


Columbia Academy 1

Posted December 29, 2013
- a community member
My last review got deleted. But I feel that this school is seriously horrible. The principles don't care, the teachers are just mean and there's fights and gang violence all over the school. The best thing in the school is lunch, and that's even horrible. I don't recommend this school to any kid.

Columbia Academy 4

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
I applaud and thank the staff and administration at Columbia Academy and Columbia Heights School District for responding to a huge influx of mixed culture students over the past 5-6 years (2006-2012). Their decision to promote and win compliance from parents to move to a uniform system, ala parochial/private schools, along with reinvigorating STEM, Arts and Music has catapulted student involvement and grades to new highs. They have brought a new cadre of educators with fresh ideas and vigor, as the Jr.high/middle school classroom environment of hormone charged youngsters has not changed. And yet many parents, who have given up their parental control to the schools, continue to chastise CH administration apparently in retaliation for the unwanted calls for parental involvement and responsibility. So, you might consider this a response to the prior review of 12/2/2011.

Columbia Academy 1

Posted December 02, 2011
- a community member
The principal at this school is a JOKE. Changing the name of a school doesn't make it better. Changing things just to change them serves no one (except someone's job resume). They should let the teachers run this school. The teacher's dedication to the kids is evident. The principal's dedication is obviously to herself.


Columbia Academy 4

Posted November 28, 2010
- a community member
i like this school . i had some issues w/ it last year . . but i separated myself from all of the drama , cause it was mainly one person starting all of the stuff . it was me who wrote the one by a student saying that i hated it last year , i did hate it last year . but this year i love it . i wouldn't want to go anywhere else . you just have to watch who you hang out w/ . my parents want me to switch schools . . but i don't want to at all . i think that would be ridiculous . this school has some great teachers . most of them really care about you & actually want you to learn . & the gang stuff i said was about to happen last year . . actually didn't happen . there were just a bunch of mexicans walking down the street & the cops thought something was going to happen , but nothing did . i'm doing pretty well in school now i guess you could say . . i need to try harder though & this quarter i'm going to make it happen . all of the kids at this school are good kids except for about 5 . there is no gang stuff going on at all . this is a good school in my opinion & i really wouldn't want to go anywhere else . i plan on going to the high school .

Columbia Academy 2

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
The school has been improving, but I am concerned that too much effort is being put into trying to make the school sound great ( changing the name ) then just rolling up the sleeves and working at making it great.

Columbia Academy 1

Posted April 09, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is in 7th grade and should be a straight A student. She is too involved with her friends and drama at this school her school work done. I am very disappointed that the teachers allow friends to pair up together on projects and sit next to each other when their behavior is unsatisfactory. The teachers' should know what the students are cabable of and if they are getting a D- or not turning in their homework, they should be saying something to the students regarding their grade and also be in contact with the parents. Also, there is a lot of texing and internet bullying going on. Cell phones should not be allowed in school at all! We are definitely switching school next year.


Columbia Academy 2

Posted March 29, 2010
- a student
good school , nothing but stuff starters ' & instagators though . there is drama every corner you turn at this school . almost everyone there is fake ' & talks about eachother behind their backs . fights happen everyday . just last week a gang fight was gonna happen after school but someone snitched to the police . there are police everywhere at this school . they have some good teachers , i dont like most of 'em though . except for ms. brown . i dont like this school at all . the school is good . but the kids that go there , horrible ,

Columbia Academy 2

Posted January 09, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Columbia Academy
900 49th Ave NE, Columbia Heights, MN  55421
(763) 528-4701
Last modified Columbia Academy is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Columbia Academy Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top