Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Minnewashta Elementary School 2

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
This school has some very caring teachers that seem to be over-worked. I have 3 children attending here; however, there are some problems. The administration isn't organized. There isn't enough communication between the staff as to the special needs of children. The school seems bursting at the seams in terms of space and the number of children. There is a large margin of kids that are missed because of large class sizes and some lack of self-advocating skills. No real innovation in teaching environment or techniques. There is very little help or resources offered to parents of children who are doing poorly academically. In fact you won't be aware of it, unless you really look at the scores and ask why being in the bottom 15% is considered "passing". You must be the squeaky wheel at this school. If your child has average/above average intelligence, with poor social skills/self-advocating skills, ADHD, learning challenges, or dyslexia, this school would not be a good choice. This school lacks leadership and needs to make some changes.

Minnewashta Elementary School 2

Posted March 14, 2014
- a parent
This school used to be great. The Spanish immersion program has splits the school community. English teachers wonder who will be next on the chopping block. The Spanish classes have no classroom management. You will be lucky to get a Spanish teacher with a teaching certificate. There is a lot of room for improvement.. It would be nice to have a smaller school. Too big, and impersonal.


Minnewashta Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
I am a new kindergarten parent and I love this school! Our teacher even called us the weekend after the first week of school to see how we thought the first week went. Very caring staff - even hosted a "Bring Your Own Picnic" get together the Sunday after school started for all families. I would suggest this school to anyone.

Minnewashta Elementary School 1

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
Your kid is just a number at this school. We had to pull our child out of the 2nd grade Spanish immersion program half way through the year. Problems and issues that arise will not be addressed. The Principal wont take your calls or return voice mail or email. This is not a place where you can drop off and pick up your kid at the end of the day expecting that their educational needs will be met.

Minnewashta Elementary School 2

Posted July 22, 2011
- a parent
Unfortunately I have to agree with the October 2010 reviewer. This used to be a great school! If you are in Spanish Immersion it still might be, although the teachers are unstable and change from year to year and many are not trained to be teachers but only to teach Spanish. If you want to be part of the English program, I would look for a different school. It is way too big for a neighborhood school, the teacher moral is low, English teachers do not know who will lose their job next year, the English students are now a minority in the school, and the special ed program is using some of their time to tutor kids in Spanish immersion students so they will pass the standardized tests at the expense of the kids who really need the special ed. It's sad that this will also be moving to our great middle schools so the same thing will be happening there within the next two years.


Minnewashta Elementary School 5

Posted November 21, 2010
- a parent
We moved before our daughter started kindergarten so she could attend Minnewashta. 2.5 years later, we agree it was a wonderful decision. The language immersion program has amazed us and the teachers/administration/staff don't miss a thing. It is a big school yet still feels like a small, close-knit community. Class sizes are small, parents are involved, teachers are dedicated...couldn't ask for a better place to go to school!

Minnewashta Elementary School 1

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
The reviews I found for this school are quite old. I would never recommend this school to anyone. It is overcrowded, staff morale is very low, and neither the principle nor the school board seems to care about the issues that come up year after year. This school, with seemingly unending room for open enrollement, is clearly being used by the district as a cash cow with money from open enrollment as the primary goal. Parents try to be involved, but the principle and superintendent have made is clear that parents have absolutely no say in what happens in this school.

Minnewashta Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2007
- a parent
A wonderful community with very involved parents, fabulous teachers and staff - we are very fortunate to be a part of this school! Excellent District leadership as well - a solid vision for success.


Minnewashta Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2006
- a parent
Loving, nurturing, fun.... A great school with terrific teachers and excellent principal. Parents are super-involved. Academics, extracurriculars are super.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Minnewashta Elementary School
26350 Smithtown Rd, Excelsior, MN  55331
(952) 401-5500
Last modified Minnewashta Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Minnewashta Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top