Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Maple Grove, MN
Students enrolled: 991
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rush Creek Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2015
- a parent
I've had all 3 of my kids go through Rush Creek and they've all loved it. Excellent teachers, very helpful office staff, great parent involvement. One of my children needed extra medical help and the nurse and staff were amazing. The school is getting a new principle in 2015/16 year and we hope the quality of education and the friendly atmosphere stays the same.

Rush Creek Elementary School 3

Posted July 22, 2014
- a community member
eh some people at this school r bullied and teachers don't really pay much attention to that.


Rush Creek Elementary School 5

Posted January 21, 2014
- a parent
Teachers do an amazing job of caring and individualizing to meet each and every students' needs! Love it!!

Rush Creek Elementary School 5

Posted December 14, 2013
- a parent
Rush Creek Elementary does a terrific job with the students. Very engaging with the parents and community. great school, great people, and it was a great choice to send our son to this school for kindergarten.

Rush Creek Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a teacher
I teach at Rush Creek Elementary. It is a high performing school where all of the staff is 100% dedicated to doing what is best for kids. The staff is easy to approach about any topic and all really seem happy to be there working with their students.


Rush Creek Elementary School 1

Posted May 04, 2013
- a parent
My child flourished at this school and has lasting friendships with his classmates who still attend this school, but I removed him from this school because it teaches messages of racial inferiority without a second thought. When his second grade teachers showed video footage of dark skinned people being attacked by dogs, guns, bats, and water hoses, I knew it was time to remove him from this school. Because of this video, and a video showing light skinned children stating "I hate black people", my child spent Martin Luther King weekend of 2012 crying and in fear that the things shown in those videos could happen to him. Then later in that calendar year, my child learned in a lesson on the Olympics that "Marion Jones went to prison for putting drugs in her body", yet he couldn't tell us who Jesse Owens, Flo Jo, Michael Johnson, Carl Lewis, etc. are. Isn't it interesting that the one Olympic athlete of color about whom he learned is associated by this school with negativity? This is subtly teaching that dark skinned people are bad and inferior. Though we had a great first grade teacher here, Rush Creek overall is a huge disappointment regardless of how high its test scores may be.

Rush Creek Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2012
- a parent
Wonderful school! We have had 3 children spend all seven years at Rush Creek and have loved every part of the school. It is he best school in the Northwest! Well done.

Rush Creek Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2011
- a parent
This school is amazing...high degree of parental involvement and the teachers are great. It is basically a private school.


Rush Creek Elementary School 1

Posted September 04, 2009
- a parent
As a parent of children who attend this school, I am not pleased. The standards for children are continuously lowered. If students are not meeting the schools expectations, complete subjects are removed from their curriculum. Rush Creek only teaches to the test to receive the funding, they have little concern for who my child is as a person or what is in their best interest.

Rush Creek Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2007
- a parent
Rush Creek Elementary is a tough school. Their academic level is one of the highest. The teachers are great with their students,if they can't work with some of them on a one to one basis, they find a volunteer that will work with them. The teachers and staff show a great deal of concern for each one of their kids. This school puts a lot of effort in not only the kids but also the parents. This school does a great job on the safety and well being of each person that walks in to that school and is great about checking up on those who miss school. I am a proud parent who has been given all the resources the school has to offer my child to catch up on his learning and he has come along way since last year, because of the wonderful teachers that Rush Creek staffs. Thanks, Sincerely Lisa H.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rush Creek Elementary School
8801 County Rd 101, Maple Grove, MN  55311
(763) 494-4549
Last modified Rush Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rush Creek Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top